We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I recently (July 2013) stayed in the Devon Valley hotel for the second time for a conference. As for the first time, the accommodation was superb, the staff friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent! I will definitely recommend the hotel and will surely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildeWillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear WildeWillem

Thank you for your review. Cant wait to welcome you back to your new home soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

Everything at this hotel is commendable. From the reception to the emmaculate rooms and good food. I will definetively reccomend this hotel to my friends.

This is our second stay at Devon Valley and we were not dissapointed. The staff, without exception (Managers, barman, waiters) are friendly and helpfull. The hotel is situated within easy distance from most of the Cape wineland attractions and makes an excellent base for day excursions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Andre B

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming your back for your 3rd trip.

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

I have been at Devon valley several times for conferences. Part of the reason I stayed there was because I knew of their delicious food. And boy did they bring it! Gorgeous food, friendly staff, and nice rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Shirley M

Many thanks for your wonderful review.

We are delighted Devon Valley is your favourite place to conference!

See you soon.

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

On approaching Stellenboch from the south you will see a sign pointing to the Devon Hotel. The road takes you through vineyards to this non modern but beautiful hotel.

We went for Sunday lunch and had the most wonderful dining experience ever in a lovely environment.

The meal was a carvery and buffet type . You have a huge selection of starters, then for mains, the chef slices from joints of meat for you. Our choice was lamb and oxtail. Huge tureens hold vegetables and many other items to top up your plate. Go back for more if you can manage it.

The dessert table groaned under the selection of puddings, all delicious.

The wine selection was superb of course being in the wine growing area.

The attention from the staff was immaculate. The price was very reasonable.

Don't miss this gem if you are in or near Cape Town, it's only an hour by car

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_paxton627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear p_paxton 627

Thank you for your review. We agree! Our Sunday lunch is very special and as you saw popular.

We encourage our guests to book early as we are often fully booked.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Great place to stay! Slightly expensive but worth every cent. Just round the corner of JC LEROUX sparking wines. The valley is beautiful and is a Great place to go for walks in the vineyards and mountain sides.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Kevin M


Thank you for your review. We do try create value when you stay with us and delighted you felt so.

Not only can you walk in the vineyards, but we do also have exciting Mountain bike trails!

We hope you will be back soon


Kind Regards Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just about 40 minutes from CapeTown, yet you feel a million miles away, I can not have asked for a better 3 night stay anywhere else. Starting with the amazing staff and their warm welcome to entering our amazing Luxury room with open en-suite, gas fire place and french doors opening to a beautiful big tree in the centre of a perfectly manicured lawn. The food, WOW!
Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Stephanie B

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to have created a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back here soon!

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This hotel was pure luxury, from the beautiful rooms, bathrooms, views to the food and wine! We really enjoyed staying here, we were given a room upstairs in the furthest block from the restaurant. Which suited us fine. The views were stunning, we couldn't take enough photos! In the heart of the winelands I would not stay anywhere else! The staff were incredibly helpful, and room service is a must for a quiet night. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom well designed. If you are staying here and looking for a winery to visit try Boschendal winery.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room in the furthest block for amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigghogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Tigghogg

Many thanks for your review.

We are delighted we created Memorable experiences for you at Devon Valley.

We trust you will return to South Africa again, to visit you new home away from home

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,988 reviews
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
403 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
899 reviews
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £72 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing