We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devon Valley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveller rating
389
251
56
30
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
251
56
30
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflavours restaurantriviera travelpizza ovenjc le rouxwalk in showerwine tastingluxury roomstunning viewswelcome drinkcape townbuffet breakfasttwo nightshotel is situatedwonderful hotellarge bathrooma real treatrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 735 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Situated in a beautiful, quiet area this rambling hotel consistes of the main reception, bar and restaurant with two long corridors of rooms attached each side. The en-suite rooms are stylish and clean, the bed having exceptionally fine linen and extremely comfortable and the bathroom (mine had only a shower but others have both) are also good size. Unfortunately, the hot water system was unable to cope with a large group all wanting hot showers/baths at the same time and I was eventually taken to another room to use the shower there, which entailed going via the dining room in one's dressing gown! The room had all the necessary equipment and with some help I eventually managed to get the AC to warm it up as it was still cold at night. Room service provides a good toasted sandwich with salad and chips. The hotel concierge was exceptionally helpful as also all the other staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Michele_G186370

Thank you for your review. We have attended to the hot water issue! We run off both solar and electrical heating. With the cold winter, we needed more electrical heat.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Should have done this review a long time ago......This beautiful hotel was our home base while we did wine tasting in the Stellenbosch winelands and nearby Franschhoek area almost a year ago 09/08 - 09/10/2012. It is located in the quiet sylvanvale Farms overlooking beautiful vineyards and very picturesque rolling hills. just a few minutes from the town center and good proximity to lots of wineries.

Our room/suite is lovely, nicely decorated with an old world charm. It has a fireplace which makes the room cozy, peaceful and yes, romantic. The bed was very comfortable which gives you a very good night sleep after a hectic day. The bathroom has a claw tub and a shower with ample room to move around. The only thing I did not like about it was the sink does not have enough counter space for essentials and the mirror was installed too high so for somebody who is only 5ft 1" tall like me, I need to stand on a chair so I could see myself while putting on make-up.

The dining room and the bar/lounge has a wonderful atmosphere and the food is great. Breakfast buffet is very good and has a variety of selection . The staff are very helpful, accomodating and gives very good service.

Nanette & Stuart Duzan
Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racoonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear racoonian

Thank you for your review!

Kind regards
Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were in a family suite.The rooms were very clean and in old english style. The bathroom is spacious with bathtub and shower. Staff is very friendly and attentive.

Breakfast was perfect.

I was a little bit disapointed by the dinner. The food wa good but I would expect a better presentation of the main course as in the best restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milkosob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear milkosob

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed the food and the chef will certainly take your comments on the plating into mind.

kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The venue was perfect for our anniversary, the room was cold but as it is winter and one would expect this. I did tell the hotel it was our anniversary and one would expect some chocolates or flowers in the room, you know that personal touch, but nothing. The meals were very good except if you book for a 2 course meal expect to pay more than the tickets given to you, our 2 tickets showed R135 each and there is not much you can get on the menu to make this value. The bar area was excellent with a large open fire, the restaurant large also with very large open fire. The staff were very friendly after you greet them and show you are not just another tourist but a friendly guest. The rooms are very clean and the bed heaven, as for the view and area "it is stunning" would I go there again "A BIG YES"

Room Tip: The sun comes up on the left of the hotel and shines into the face. Most of the rooms our at the front looking at the sun and the wine valley, few are at the back. In the summer may be the back rooms would be cooler, all rooms do have aircon.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20michaelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Michael G

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel.

I am sorry we did not have that special touch for your anniversary.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Devon Valley Hotel over the long weekend in August, Friday- Sunday, and had an unforgettable stay! The hotel has had an extensive renovation, however still managed to keep its "old world" charm and ambience. The rooms are luxurious and extremely well appointed, with the view from the floor to ceiling windows, priceless. Whilst all the staff are friendly and hospitable, special mention needs to be made of Ondela, the lady at the front desk. She has an incredible personality and genuine warmth which immediately allows you, as the guest, to relax and chill. Nothing was too much for her to assist us with. In this day and age, this type of personalized and genuine service is very hard to come by. Of course a great team needs to have a great leader, and the Devon Valley Hotel certainly has this in Andrew. We will definitely visit again and will recommend this hotel to all friends and family!

Keep up the great work and WELL DONE!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Brent G

Thank you for your amazing review. I will certainly ensure Ondella gets the message!

We look forward to welcoming you back to your new home!

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews