We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good - but minor irritations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Very good - but minor irritations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is a 4-star hotel with several pros and cons.
Plus points: The staff are all pleasant, efficient and helpful - especially one of the Managers, Andrew. The location gives super views across the valley to the far hills. The rooms in the Annex are large and the whole establishment is quite quiet. There is a good restaurant with well cooked and presented food and an excellent wine list including some outstanding wines at remarkably low prices from the local Devon Valley Sylvanvale Winery.
Minus points: It's slightly soulless, possibly in part because it caters for tour parties. There are neither fridges nor tissues in the bedrooms. The free wifi is limited to 1 hr and even then it's patchy. [Why do ostensibly high class hotels charge for what is rapidly becoming a universally free provision?]
Overall, it's a very good hotel with plenty to see and do within easy striking distance eg the Stellenbosch vineyard tours or the three local walks of varied lengths for which hotel provides maps - and then charges for the privilege. Sigh! It's things like that that irritate and bring it down from its potentially excellent grading.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear JohnL

Thank you for your review. I really do appreciate your comments as a senior contributor who is so well travelled.

It is a pity we had a the “minor irritations”

The tissues is a stupid mistake on my part and has been resolved.

I am saddened by the fact you felt our hotel is “Soulless”; my team strives to create memorable experiences through service excellence and building relationships with our guests. Although we do accommodate group and tour business, we always want to take special care of our individuals. We always have at least one manager on duty who is responsible for the individuals to ensure they are well looked after. We obviously did not get this right during your stay and will focus more on our individuals going forward.

The Wifi is a real challenge in our Valley. We have 3 sources of Wifi. ADSL and 2 routers (point to point). Both our Routers are supposed to be 4mb. We have a server that keeps the linkage with the strongest source. With regards the charge for wifi of course we are doing our best to keep up with international trends of providing this service for free. In South Africa our service provider’s fees are still relatively high. AT Devon Valley we do provide the first hour free and if you join our Iprefer program for free, one of the many advantages is free wifi during your stay.


Again thank you for the time taken to give a comprehensive review and we hope that you will visit us again when you come back to South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    183
    47
    23
    7
See reviews for
80
312
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Then you will love the bath in this hotel and getting out of it is another experience !!!
The rooms are very clean, large and with beautiful views, one of the best beds out we slept in. The staff and service was excellent with the managers also helping when busy and the best breakfast in SA, also the evening meals where 1st class. The hotel will arrange wine tasting visits for you and they supply their own wine which is very good. Can not comment on the pool as it was in the process of being cleaned and the garden surrounding it was under construction to a new lay out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillips52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Philips52

Thank you for your review.

We have recently revised the landscaping around the pool as we value the comments made by our guests and over the past few years we have noted that guests felt the pool was too shaded and not to their satisfaction so we have removed excessive foliage to open up the incredible vistas of the mountains and increased the grassed area to provide a sense of space and additional sunbathing area.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

loved my stay here had wine tasting and the hotel manager was very friendly and helped clear plates with his serving staff. My room was lush and had a veranda and a roll top bath very luxurious. The meals were amazing in the restaurant too and the staff were very friendly it was one of my friends birthdays and they sang to him and gave him a free desert.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenglenn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear helenglann7

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed you stay

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We only stayed here for one night en-route from Cape Town to Swellendam. We arrived early, but were given a complimentary coffee by the receptionist. We drank on the sun terrace looking at the beautiful vista of Devon Valley vineyards. Our room was soon made ready and we were very pleased with it. The only problem was the shower, a large walk-in area. After the two of us had showered separately, the bathroom floor was flooded. We went to Stellenbosch for a light lunch and found a delightful restaurant called 'The Big Easy', owned by Ernie Els. In the evening, we had an enjoyable dinner in the hotel dining room. Later that evening I had a call from hotel security informing me that I had left the inside light of the car on. Flat battery avoided - thank you. All in all an enjoyable short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 125Victor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear 125Victor

Thank you fro your review. We will certainly look at your rooms drain as it should never flood!

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We came here as part of our South African tour and can honestly say it was the best hotel on the trip by far.

Beautiful location, lovely restaurant, food and good service.

The rooms were well appointed and have very comfortable beds. Having it's own vineyard we also had a Wine Tasting and bought our Duty Free quota of very good wine that night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdsterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear EdsterD

Many thanks for your review and we are delighted we were your best stay! My team strive for creating memorable experiences.

Kind regards
Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
189 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I agree with another review that says "it's all there but for attention to detail". The hotel is pretty old but mostly well kept with lovely views. Our room, which was a family room was nice but wooden floors are noisy and cold. Hairdryers are placed in the bathroom, which for some is great but for most women not so great as they are not powerful enough. It would be so nice to have a mirror in the room with a dressing table chair, the plugs are all there and so is the space. We were 2 adults and a child but we had only 2 bath towels for 2 of the 3 nights. I asked for tissues and an extra towel, the towel eventually appeared on the last day (after another request was made) and the tissues never. I was not told they do not provide tissues. A Four star hotel that does not provide a packet of tissues, the mind boggles, and no Face cloths either, I see this is the norm these days??? Our room was made up but certainly not tidied and I am a tidy person so not much to really tidy but the bare minumum was done. On 2 evenings we received a small packet of biscotti at turndown but it was just left on the counter underneath the TV, not placed anywhere special so that you thought, wow that's nice. On the last night we received a turndown but that's it. Our rate also included a bottle of wine, never received it!!The Housekeeping staff were very noisy in the mornings and the afternoons, pity if you wanted to have an afternoon snooze. The bar is lovely and service there is pretty good. Breakfast are the same old every day and we were there for 3. They have a lovely dining room area on the front of the hotel but you can't sit there as it is for lunch people???????? Is this easier for the staff or do the customers come first??????Slotted spoons are available to dish up with, good luck as everything falls through them especially the juice of the fruit salad. I must say they did offer a shuttle service to the Day Spa that is just down the road which was very much appreciated and thank you John for taking and fetching me. Clos Malvern Spa is very good and very relaxing. So my thoughts are that this Country hotel should be rated 3 star and not 4 star, it can be a wonderful 4 star if they put there hearts into it. Would we go back, not so sure!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel it if you want a carpeted room those on the first floor are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear travelbabe40

As a Top Contributor, I appreciate your honest review.

I have taken your review to heart and used it for training and corrected some of the “mind boggles” issues. The towels in the family room, of course should have been like that from arrival. Breakfast is supposed to have a few changes every day on the hot food specifically. This time of year I need to remind my team summer is here and using your review and the below review from millner1, my team are back on track and ready to embrace summer delivering “Excellence in Service”

My entire team does have the heart and passion to make this a superior 4 star hotel. I do hope you will consider returning and encourage you to contact me on andrew@devonvalleyhotel.com

Thank you again for the time taken to do a review on our Hotel.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spent two nights in a "luxury room" in the new out-building next to the main hotel. Very comfortably and well appointed, but for a few quirks: no tissues in the room (they don't provide), and a shower rose located inexplicably at ceiling height, thereby ensuring that the water was luke warm by the time it got to my body! The staff were friendly, but this sometimes felt forced. Training seems lacking though, as we had to ask for hand towels twice before they were provided, and the bed was not turned down on the 2nd night. Picky, I know, but this is not a cheap hotel at the normal rates (we did get this deal at half price though).

The breakfasts were very good (excellent pastries and bread). We did not have other meals there as there were no light options, and the pizza oven apparently only gets fired up from October onwards.

Room Tip: The luxury rooms all face over the garden and valley. Standard rooms not so much. There is a very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millnerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear millner1

Thank you for your review. Your review is certainly not “Picky”. I have addressed the short comings with the team and certainly dusted their cobwebs and reminded my entire team summer is here and we need to get the basics right is we want deliver Excellence in Hospitality.

You are correct with the pizzas, we are up and running every Friday and Saturday from 12:00 till 21:00 unless of course it is raining. The Pizza oven is on our Terrace.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind Regards
Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.2 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Property: Devon Valley Hotel
Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing