We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Highlight to visit”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A True Highlight to visit”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights from the 23rd October 2013 and we had Room 29. The Reception through to the Room service and staffing were just excellent. Beautiful rooms with great facilities alongside an outstanding dining experience. They have a truly comprehensive wine list accompanying great food and fantastic service. The views out from the hotel can be an experience in themselves and around the Hotel there are some great walks to be experienced with the staff making sure that you have routes and plans. There is Wi Fi provision but reception can be an issue in some areas but overall it meets travellers needs adequately. When travelling in this area, you can be reassured with the service and quality at this Hotel. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms away from the Hotel with a more modern feel, but the ones in the Hotel itself have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRetiredTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear TheRetiredTraveller

Many thanks fro your wonderful review. From a "Top Contributor", it means a lot to my team to get such a great review.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    194
    48
    24
    7
See reviews for
88
331
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Second visit here and it surpassed everything I had remembered! Staff are absolutely amazing, nothing is too much trouble and everyone so happy and welcoming! This on top of the wonderful smell of lavendar and fabulous views means I will definitely be returning!!
Andrea

Room Tip: The vineyard rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear andrea m

I am delighted to read your review and know my fantastic team created a memorable experience for you!

We do hope to see you again soon

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is a 4-star hotel with several pros and cons.
Plus points: The staff are all pleasant, efficient and helpful - especially one of the Managers, Andrew. The location gives super views across the valley to the far hills. The rooms in the Annex are large and the whole establishment is quite quiet. There is a good restaurant with well cooked and presented food and an excellent wine list including some outstanding wines at remarkably low prices from the local Devon Valley Sylvanvale Winery.
Minus points: It's slightly soulless, possibly in part because it caters for tour parties. There are neither fridges nor tissues in the bedrooms. The free wifi is limited to 1 hr and even then it's patchy. [Why do ostensibly high class hotels charge for what is rapidly becoming a universally free provision?]
Overall, it's a very good hotel with plenty to see and do within easy striking distance eg the Stellenbosch vineyard tours or the three local walks of varied lengths for which hotel provides maps - and then charges for the privilege. Sigh! It's things like that that irritate and bring it down from its potentially excellent grading.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear JohnL

Thank you for your review. I really do appreciate your comments as a senior contributor who is so well travelled.

It is a pity we had a the “minor irritations”

The tissues is a stupid mistake on my part and has been resolved.

I am saddened by the fact you felt our hotel is “Soulless”; my team strives to create memorable experiences through service excellence and building relationships with our guests. Although we do accommodate group and tour business, we always want to take special care of our individuals. We always have at least one manager on duty who is responsible for the individuals to ensure they are well looked after. We obviously did not get this right during your stay and will focus more on our individuals going forward.

The Wifi is a real challenge in our Valley. We have 3 sources of Wifi. ADSL and 2 routers (point to point). Both our Routers are supposed to be 4mb. We have a server that keeps the linkage with the strongest source. With regards the charge for wifi of course we are doing our best to keep up with international trends of providing this service for free. In South Africa our service provider’s fees are still relatively high. AT Devon Valley we do provide the first hour free and if you join our Iprefer program for free, one of the many advantages is free wifi during your stay.


Again thank you for the time taken to give a comprehensive review and we hope that you will visit us again when you come back to South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Then you will love the bath in this hotel and getting out of it is another experience !!!
The rooms are very clean, large and with beautiful views, one of the best beds out we slept in. The staff and service was excellent with the managers also helping when busy and the best breakfast in SA, also the evening meals where 1st class. The hotel will arrange wine tasting visits for you and they supply their own wine which is very good. Can not comment on the pool as it was in the process of being cleaned and the garden surrounding it was under construction to a new lay out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillips52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Philips52

Thank you for your review.

We have recently revised the landscaping around the pool as we value the comments made by our guests and over the past few years we have noted that guests felt the pool was too shaded and not to their satisfaction so we have removed excessive foliage to open up the incredible vistas of the mountains and increased the grassed area to provide a sense of space and additional sunbathing area.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

loved my stay here had wine tasting and the hotel manager was very friendly and helped clear plates with his serving staff. My room was lush and had a veranda and a roll top bath very luxurious. The meals were amazing in the restaurant too and the staff were very friendly it was one of my friends birthdays and they sang to him and gave him a free desert.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenglenn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear helenglann7

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed you stay

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We only stayed here for one night en-route from Cape Town to Swellendam. We arrived early, but were given a complimentary coffee by the receptionist. We drank on the sun terrace looking at the beautiful vista of Devon Valley vineyards. Our room was soon made ready and we were very pleased with it. The only problem was the shower, a large walk-in area. After the two of us had showered separately, the bathroom floor was flooded. We went to Stellenbosch for a light lunch and found a delightful restaurant called 'The Big Easy', owned by Ernie Els. In the evening, we had an enjoyable dinner in the hotel dining room. Later that evening I had a call from hotel security informing me that I had left the inside light of the car on. Flat battery avoided - thank you. All in all an enjoyable short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 125Victor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear 125Victor

Thank you fro your review. We will certainly look at your rooms drain as it should never flood!

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We came here as part of our South African tour and can honestly say it was the best hotel on the trip by far.

Beautiful location, lovely restaurant, food and good service.

The rooms were well appointed and have very comfortable beds. Having it's own vineyard we also had a Wine Tasting and bought our Duty Free quota of very good wine that night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdsterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear EdsterD

Many thanks for your review and we are delighted we were your best stay! My team strive for creating memorable experiences.

Kind regards
Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,795 reviews
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
863 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
788 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Property: Devon Valley Hotel
Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing