We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and Homely”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfy and Homely”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at Devon Valley Hotel over a weekend trip away from Cape Town. The drive is surprisingly short before you start to see rolling hillsides and vineyards aplenty on the horizon!

The town of Stellenbosch is inward looking and quite independent of the more English oriented Cape Town, but is no less as blessed with a rich and celebrated history of its own.

The Devon Valley Hotel is situated close to the town, on the road towards the House of JC Le Roux, and just after Brennaisance Restaurant.

The Hotel is rated as 4 star and the rooms range in price. We stayed in one of the older rooms, but it was well kept.

The Restaurant is slightly pricey, but the meals on offer are top notch, especially for the evening meal. Breakfast comes in the obligatory buffet form for pennypinching weekend get awayers..

A nice private pool in front and below the outside dining area also offers nice views of the Devon Valley below and more farmsteads further afield. The night sky out in this farming part of the country, largely free from artificial light and dust pollution is good for stargazing on cloudless nights, if you know what to look for!

The hotel is small, but is great for a weekend getaway such as ours was, as a base from which to explore Stellenbosch and its surrounding Vineyards - we also went Bike riding through the Vineyards, and wine, chocolate and nougat tasting at the various states dotted around the maps of Stellenbosch.

Capetonians - come out and discover Stellenbosch!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shkpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear shkpeters

Many thanks for you wonderful review on our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Valley

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    196
    49
    24
    7
See reviews for
89
335
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven CT
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

I have been reviewing on trip advisor for quite some time and if you have seen my previous reviews I am mostly complimentary . Here's the problem....it's just not particularly clean. There are handprints on hallway walls, the carpet is crappy, there are cobwebs on my ceiling and the windows are just gross. Add to that ......my safe doesn't work, my sheets were not immaculate and the shower floods the entire bathroom.
To be fair, and I always try to be.....I addressed my concerns to the manager and he had my safe and bed changed immediately and gave me extra towels to "dam" the shower so the bathroom wouldn't flood.
On another note, I would agree with previous reviewers that this is really not the place for independent travelers ( leave it to the tour bus operators) When we arrived ( early) to check in we were told abruptly that we could not check in until after 2 pm. Not a problem for us as it was expected. However, we were not greeted, welcomed or advised of any services . No suggestion of lunch, or a wine tasting. No suggestion of holding our baggage for us.....NOTHING...just come back.
Sorry for the not so great review.....but you need to do better

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Snodgrass999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Snodgrass999

Many thanks for the time taken to review our hotel. I am saddened we did not deliver excellence in hospitality.

I have addressed the issues with house keeping as cobwebs are far off my standards set.

It is only thanks to feedback such as yours can I have the opportunity to improve our offering, such as your early arrival and our poor handling of this.

Again many thanks for the comprehensive feedback

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I visited this hotel at the end of a two week holiday in South Africa. We stayed for two nights. It was lovely - my favourite hotel of the trip mainly because the surroundings were stunning. Beautiful, green hills of vineyards surround the property. The hotel is set in beautiful, tranquil gardens that have paths meandering through them for little walks down to the play area or to the pool. Lots of little areas with seating hidden away that you could lose yourself in - with a glass/bottle of their fantastic wine if you have any sense! We sampled a good amount from reds to roses. My husband had a family reserve red one evening and it was amazing! The hotel restaurant is great with lovely food - it got very busy so I would suggest booking when you arrive but they do give priority to guests. Great selection of food and very attentive staff. The breakfast was a buffet style and excellent. The pool was lovely and very picturesque. I would suggest there might be a fight for loungers in the height of the season but I am sure that the hotel would sort something out. The rooms were nice, good size and nicely decorated. Ours had double french doors out to a little patio with tables and chairs and a fountain - just lovely! Great wet room and also a roll top bath in the room! Very highly recommended. Visit the near by brandy distillery if you can and visit the Saturday food market too - all great! Hotel should get a spa! It would be very busy I'm sure - I wanted a treatment and was given advice on the nearest spa but I would have loved to have a treatment at Devon Valley, I'm sure it would have been wonderful if the rest of the place is anything to go by.

Room Tip: Ask for one to the front of the hotel, as you walk up from the front car park, not the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Salfry


Thank you for your amazing review again highlighting the care my team take with individual guests!

The pool as you note has recently has some space cleared and we agree! Amazing views.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were part of a coach tour party, staying for two nights, en route for Cape Town. We were nearing the end of a very busy and enjoyable trip around South Africa. We arrived somewhat jaded, after a busy day. We were met with a welcoming drink on the patio, overlookng stunning views across the vineyards towards Cape Town. Room allocation for our party was efficiently dealt with, allowing us time for a relaxing shower or bath, before our evening meal. This proved a compliment to the staff and the ambiance of the hotel in general..
Our second day was taken up with visits to a number of vineyards, returning to the hotel mid afternoon, which gave us time to enjoy the swimming pool on the lower lever, whivch gave us super visitas acrosss the countrysside.. Our second evening meal, which was to be a Malay buffer, we initally found to be worrying as a second coach party were also present. However our concerns were rapidly dispersed, by the seemingly never ending supply of quality food, all dealt with very professionally by the calm and very efficient manner of all the staff.
BOB & MAGGIE C. Worcester UK

Room Tip: Our room was in the older brick building a little distance from the reception and restaurant, but ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Bob and Maggie

Many thanks for your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday in South Africa and look forward to welcoming you back to our special Hotel

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Frankly the hotel was a disappointment. We had booked a Vineyard Luxury room a treat as we came to the end of our tour and I’m afraid the hotel did not live up to expectations. The hotel appears to finds it difficult to accommodate independent travellers, concentrating instead on large coach parties touring the Cape Winelands. Following a scatty check-in we were left to wait for over a quarter of an hour before someone remembered to show us to our room. We were then left to deal with our luggage ourselves. The room was fine and very comfortable, although the folding partition between the bathroom and the bedroom may not be to everyone’s taste and the turndown service was erratic. Breakfast was an acceptable buffet, although it would have been much nicer if staff had consistently offered a pot of tea rather than pouring from a vacuum flask. However dinner was poor with a choice of either another buffet or a very limited a la carte menu. Situated some way out of Stellanbosch it was a long drive to eat in the centre of town.
The walks through the vineyards advertised on the website were another disappointment. Two of the three were closed, and we paid 10 rand each (pensioner rates) for the rights to walk the third, although we were warned that it was badly signposted. It was!
I am sure the hotel is fine if you are travelling in a large party and staying perhaps for a single night. If you are an independent traveller it’s probably not the best choice.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Russel H

My sincere appologies we did not deliver a memorable experience during your stay. We have been trying hard to ensure we do not make our individual guests feel less valued than our group business. It appears we failed during your stay. Certainly not acceptable.

We do whenever we have a group have a second manager on duty to deal with the individual guests to ensure we do deliver excellence in hospitality and create memorable experiences.

Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is nicely situated on a hill overlooking the Devon Valley, with very convenient access to nearby estates, and Stellenbosch a few minutes away.
The Devon has loads of charm, in an old school sort of way. It is one of the older hotels, and it has a solid, honest feel about it.
The standard rooms are well appointed, but a little small, and we upgraded to a suite, which was great.
Service is friendly, breakfast above average, and the restaurant offers pleasant fare.
Several walking and cycling trails begin at the hotel., and if you like that sort of thing, it is well worth including this in your plans for the day. All in all, one of the nice places....

Room Tip: Standard rooms seemed a little small...but are very nicely appointed. Suites are significantly large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Kevin A

Thank you for your review and we glad you enjoyed the bigger upgrade room.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights from the 23rd October 2013 and we had Room 29. The Reception through to the Room service and staffing were just excellent. Beautiful rooms with great facilities alongside an outstanding dining experience. They have a truly comprehensive wine list accompanying great food and fantastic service. The views out from the hotel can be an experience in themselves and around the Hotel there are some great walks to be experienced with the staff making sure that you have routes and plans. There is Wi Fi provision but reception can be an issue in some areas but overall it meets travellers needs adequately. When travelling in this area, you can be reassured with the service and quality at this Hotel. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms away from the Hotel with a more modern feel, but the ones in the Hotel itself have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRetiredTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear TheRetiredTraveller

Many thanks fro your wonderful review. From a "Top Contributor", it means a lot to my team to get such a great review.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,818 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
868 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
808 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Property: Devon Valley Hotel
Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing