We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for bed and food not much more”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good for bed and food not much more”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We attended a conference at Devon Valley Hotel. Not much to do or see at the hotel itself and a few kms outside town. The conference arrangements and refreshments were nice and the food good (but a bit expensive I think – R160 for lunch). Good if you only need a bed and food. The hotel does arrange transport and tours but we did not use it. On the down side – parking is a problem, narrow access roads, no shade parking and no parking near the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear erna o

Thank you for the time taken to give us feedback on your stay.

The parking being away from the rooms was a deliberate and strategy we decided on. We want and have created tranquil rooms in our gardens free of cars.

We do offer several activities at our hotel. From wine and whiskey tastings to food pairings, hikes and of course our travel desk does offer a range of activities. We also like the fact out hotel is quieter and allowing for a peaceful rest.

The conference lunches we feel are great value for money, but appreciate your views.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    196
    49
    24
    7
See reviews for
89
335
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The Devon Valley Hotel was not our first choice leading up to our South African trip.
However, now that we have been there we are unconditional fans.
The room we had was spacious, clean and had a very nice view but for us these were not the attributes that made this establishment stand out. The staff at this hotel simply make you feel at home. They are always ready to help with your queries and are genuinely interested in how you enjoyed their many recommendations.
You can add their restaurant to the plus list with a well appointed breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner menus.
All in all a memorable stay in a wonderful part of South Africa.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 42….great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Raphael N

Thank you for your review. I am delighted my team delivered our handmade hospitality!

We do hope you will return "home" soon

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

For most people visiting South Africa and neighbouring countries, this is an ideal spot to unwind in the middle of a hectic tour. It is small, (50 rooms), situated in it's own vineyard with spectacular views across the plains to the mountains. The room are quite small, but beautifully furnished and fantastic bathrooms with free standing baths and walk-in showers.
The whole place has a classy feel with attentive staff and good food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Hsratton

Thank you for your review. We agree we love it when our guests just "Chill" ...

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a great hotel. The setting is spectacular and the whole package is very appealing. We stayed in a Junior Suite which had excellent many thousand thread sheets and a lovely period charm to it. All immaculately clean, as indeed was all the hotel. If I was being super picky then maybe the management could cover up the jacuzzi during these warm months as it's attracting insects and lets the rest of the immaculate grounds down.

The staff were lovely and friendly (with the slighy exception of one surly barman) but we were well looked after with thanks. We can't comment on value as I blew some freebie points with a loyalty scheme but highly recommended anyway.

Room Tip: Junior Suite excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear aerodj

We are delighted you blew your points with us!

Thank you for your kind words

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Wonderful hotel, staff are lovely, super helpful and attentive.
We stayed in a vineyard room which was gorgeous, the views were breath-taking.
The terrace is a wonderful sun trap and one day we sat there for over 10 hours just looking out across the valley.
The food was excellent, good selection of drinks and wines and very reasonably priced.
The pool is great, tucked away with plenty of shady and sunny space available.
Highly recommend this hotel, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Ylou_12

Thank you for your wonderful review


Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed here over News Years 2013. We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It is in a fantastic settlings in the middle of vinyards, with stunning views of the mountains. Our favourite thing was just sitting on the patio with dinner and a bottle of wine (both of which were very nice and reasonably priced at the hotel). The staff were friendly, although service could be a bit on the erratic side at times, but to be honest this sort of suited the relaxed vibe of the hotel.

We used the smaller of the two pools a couple of times, as every time we went to the main pool there were no sun loungers available, so if you do want to go to the main pool, best to get there early.

Wifi throughout the hotel was free when we stayed there. I did see from some earlier reviews that they used to charge for this, so don't know if they have changed their policy.

The buffet-style breakfast was very nice with plenty to chose from and could be taken inside or out on the patio.

We signed up for the New Years Eve dinner, which again was the same excellent standard of food that we enjoyed throughout our stay at the hotel. The entertainment was fairly low-key - a duo on guitar and keyboards who packed up at 2 minutes past midnight, so don't expect to be dancing on the tables !

As for the room we stayed in, this was of a decent size, comfortable and the air con worked well (which was most welcome as temperatures were into the 30s !). The TV was good and had a number of channels including UK Sky Sports - bonus ! The bathroom and walk in shower area were huge and included a really nice bath. My only real gripe about the room is that shortly after we checked in we realised that the catch on the bathroom window was broken so it didn't shut properly and could be pushed open from the outside. It wouldn't have been difficult for someone to get in (ok so the hotel is a way out of town etc but seeing all the security people have on their properties in South Africa does tend to make you think about personal safety !). We reported this to reception, but nothing was done about it during our 3 day stay. A bit dissappointing.

Just a word on the walks available from the hotel - we did one of these on New Years Day. You have to pay for a photocopy of a map, which I don't quite get. The walks are meant to be signposted, but I don't know if its my poor navigation skills or not, but we had trouble finding some of the signs. There were also quite a few big dogs at the houses we walked past and we didn't really want to find out the hard way whether they were friendly or not so ended up coming back a bit early !

But all in all (dodgy window notwithstanding) I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Headington_Boy

Thank you for your wonderful review.

You are correct we have changed our wifi policy. Currently we have free 'fair use' wifi for all hotel guests. We continue t strive to improve on this offering as we believe it is becoming a basic of a hotel stay.

The walks is a challenge as we are purely a pay point for this activity. The signs are replaced regularly but some of the farm kids are a little naughty and think it is funny to remove them secondly all are working farms and at times farming activity accidentally knock a sign off. The walks are safe and we are always striving to find even safer and more practical ways of marking the routes.

Again thank you for your detailed review!

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night, December 15, 2013 and were anticipating the pinnacle of service and spoiling for our last night in South Africa after an absolutely FLAWLESS three weeks. Check-in was smooth, our room was gorgeous, the grounds are breathtaking. But our expectations for wining and dining and being catered to fell so flat in the first hour on the property, not being able to find anyone who seemed remotely interested in serving us food (at 2:50pm) after a five-hour drive. We finally for frustrated at the run-around and went to the room and ordered room service.

High point: The Housekeeping manager (I assume) was the loveliest lady, though, waiting for my husband to leave the room to deliver a bottle of bubbly and a decadent dessert for his 50th birthday. A plus to offset some minuses.

Room service was a brilliant plan, best brie and bacon burgers EVER! We ate on our patio and relaxed and let the stress of the previous hour fade into memory. Then we went to the pool. Mistake number two. Given that the following day was a national holiday, the hotel was teeming with screaming children and tour groups. NOT the anticipated quiet, reserved, peaceful stay we envisioned (as every other hotel stay in ZA had been).

We ventured from the main pool to find the other pool and were blissfully surprised when we came across it and found it deserted. 6pm, sun blazing, water sparkling, jacaranda in full bloom, gardenesque...perfection! We missed the wine-tasting which was one of the things I so looked forward to but the thought of being amongst the throngs was unappealing.

Our dinner was delicious though service was not well-timed and seemed lazy. Tour groups seemed to get the bulk of attention and we two were kind of left dangling. Walking the gardens after the meal left us refreshed once again. Had it not been for the postcard-like beauty of the surroundings and our sought-after moments of nirvana, this whole stay would have been a loss.

Our early morning began at the main pool, happily just the two of us. Overlooking the valley and vineyards and mountains, with blue sky and sun beaming...perfect last morning in ZA. The breakfast buffet was outstanding.

All in all, the location and surroundings were beautiful enough to offset our disappointment. And it still rates fairly high overall...but so much improvement in customer service could be made.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear CravingTheSun

Many thanks for your review.

We certainly strive for guest satisfaction and delivering handmade hospitality. Your arrival on the Sunday was not acceptable that my team ignored you. Please accept my apologies. We have certainly addressed this issue. As you late point out the next day was a national holiday. We had run over capacity on our Sunday Lunch Buffet and the team was trying to get things back to our normal high standard.

I will pass your kind words regarding our housekeeping manager onto Daveen.

The main pool area was very busy! This is certainly not what we were used to. During the winter we removed a whole bunch of trees and planted some new grass. This lead to a higher than normal usage of the pool. We are a family hotel, but as you noted the children were at the main pool not the Manor house pool area. We do normally refer guests to this pool if our main pool very busy.

We are constantly trying to improve on our care for individual guests and certainly we do always plan to pay special attention to them.. You will note from other reviews we do get this right most often.

Our views and location, garden and feeling of our hotel are very special and our unique selling point. I do strongly believe that we do also proved special moments and handmade hospitality to both our individual and group guest.

Referring to the rates, as with the airlines we do work on "best available rates", meaning we always offer the best deal possible to our guests. These rates vary according to demand, and as you noted the hotel was absolutely full being the festive season and a long weekend.

I again apologise we did not create special memories during your stay and assure you that we will always strive to improve our offering.

Kind regards
Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,822 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
868 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
810 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Property: Devon Valley Hotel
Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing