We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devon Valley Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (737)
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveller rating
389
253
56
30
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
253
56
30
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflavours restaurantriviera travelpizza ovenjc le rouxwalk in showerwine tastingluxury roomwelcome drinkstunning viewscape townbuffet breakfasttwo nightshotel is situatedlarge bathroomwonderful hotela real treatrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 737 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Granted we were only staying for one night - but for what we were paying, I would honestly not recommend this hotel at all. The experience was totally forgettable. We were woken up three times by staff walking into our room (from 7am), no turn down service, no water in the room, Staff shouting at one another in the passages. It felt like we were staying at a bus shelter. The only redeeming feature of the room - was that the bed was comfy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nats68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Nats68

Many thanks for the honest review. I apologise we did not create a positive memorable experience during your stay.

As discussed in a private email, I will be addressing the issue that occurred during your stay. Certainly not our standards we strive to deliver.

For those reading the review:

Although turn down did not happen during Nast68 stay, this is a norm for us to do turn down every night.

The staff know not to enter rooms, we have policies in place to ensure the guests are not asleep or in their rooms before we enter the room.
Normally the housekeeping team would not get close to a room before 08:45, they start work at 08;00, have their breakfast and briefing.
They would go to departed rooms first.

We obviously got Nats68 stay horribly wrong. I am saddened by this and my team and I will work to ensure there are no repeats.

Kind regards
Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We booked in here at the shortest notice possible, escaping from a different pre-booked guest house which, when we arrived, we realised simply wasn't right for us. Good old booking.com found us this place, and within the hour we were checked in and feeling much happier. Not one of the wine estates to rave about for wine, the hotel itself is very pretty, lovely gardens with a good pool, and a great dining terrace with views of the mountains. Our room was good (room no 31 I think) in the main building. Reasonable size with an excellent bathroom - lovely old fashioned style bath and big walk in shower (although adjusting the temperature took a bit of patience). Outside we had a small seating area underneath a lovely mature vine.

We could have driven into Stellenbosch for dining, or to other nearby estates, but chose to eat here. It was OK, not the best food around, and certainly not that great for vegetarians, but decent enough. Breakfast was all buffet, and after being offered a hot breakfast by waiting staff at every other place we stayed, I had thought there was no hot breakfast here as none was offered, until I discovered that it too was buffet style, but on the far side of the dining room so absurdly not easy to spot. No one had pointed it out to us.

However, some of the service was top notch, particularly the woman working as advisor for trips out etc. We had tickets for a local music show called Amazink (brilliant by the way if you can get in) and she rang ahead and got us the best seats in the place.

Not the best value for money compared to other places we stayed, but its location is perfect for taking a tour of the winelands.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have an outside space, so try and ask for one that does. Much nicer.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckywomanSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear luckywomanSomerset

As a senior contributor we really appreciate your review!

We are glad you changed to our Hotel and thank you for using booking.com.

The breakfast team has been reminded to highlight the hotel breakfast. ..

I appreciate your comments on the value for money. February is the busiest month of the year in the Western Cape. With demand being high and during this period our "Best Available Rate", reflects this busy period.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We attended a conference at Devon Valley Hotel. Not much to do or see at the hotel itself and a few kms outside town. The conference arrangements and refreshments were nice and the food good (but a bit expensive I think – R160 for lunch). Good if you only need a bed and food. The hotel does arrange transport and tours but we did not use it. On the down side – parking is a problem, narrow access roads, no shade parking and no parking near the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear erna o

Thank you for the time taken to give us feedback on your stay.

The parking being away from the rooms was a deliberate and strategy we decided on. We want and have created tranquil rooms in our gardens free of cars.

We do offer several activities at our hotel. From wine and whiskey tastings to food pairings, hikes and of course our travel desk does offer a range of activities. We also like the fact out hotel is quieter and allowing for a peaceful rest.

The conference lunches we feel are great value for money, but appreciate your views.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The Devon Valley Hotel was not our first choice leading up to our South African trip.
However, now that we have been there we are unconditional fans.
The room we had was spacious, clean and had a very nice view but for us these were not the attributes that made this establishment stand out. The staff at this hotel simply make you feel at home. They are always ready to help with your queries and are genuinely interested in how you enjoyed their many recommendations.
You can add their restaurant to the plus list with a well appointed breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner menus.
All in all a memorable stay in a wonderful part of South Africa.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 42….great
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raphael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Raphael N

Thank you for your review. I am delighted my team delivered our handmade hospitality!

We do hope you will return "home" soon

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

For most people visiting South Africa and neighbouring countries, this is an ideal spot to unwind in the middle of a hectic tour. It is small, (50 rooms), situated in it's own vineyard with spectacular views across the plains to the mountains. The room are quite small, but beautifully furnished and fantastic bathrooms with free standing baths and walk-in showers.
The whole place has a classy feel with attentive staff and good food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HStratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Hsratton

Thank you for your review. We agree we love it when our guests just "Chill" ...

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews