We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointing!”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have waited a long time before posting this, as I wanted to be entirely fair and felt I needed to wait to give me time to ponder our experience. It was not good. The room we had, supposedly the best in the hotel, had no view and was dark and uninviting. The food was only passable although a buffet put on for a coach party (we would not have stayed in the hotel if we had known it took coach parties - no disrespect to those on the tour as we have been on tours in the past, but the hotels prepared to take coaches are generally not in the category we prefer) was perhaps the highlight of our few nights there. Would not return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willows6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Willows6

Thank you for your review. I am sad to read that even after all we managed to do to improve your stay you were still disappointed with the Devon Valley Hotel.

Out hotel does have a few “Coach party’s” staying with us but at all times and as can be seen from other reviews, we do manage to ensure both enjoy themselves at Devon Valley. We ensure that the groups have a manager looking after them and the other individual guests have another manager looking after them.

Your comments whilst on site about our Manor 1, were noted and the tree was pruned to try improve the views. I personally spent many hours with you ensuring we got things right during your stay. As with all our hotel guests we our values are to provide handmade hospitality offering authentic service and creating memorable experiences.

Kind regards
Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Devon Valley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is simply amazing with breathtaking views of the estate wine farms. We spent one night at the place and will surely recommend for anyone visiting Stellenbisch to stay here. Our first expereince at check-in was with a lady who said she was an intern (on training). However, she seemed like a pro in what she was doing. She told us everything we needed to know and also suggested wine tasting sessions across 4 estates in the region. We ofcourse went with her suggestion and enjoyed tasting sessions at each place. The highlight of course was the tasting session at the hotel itself which was 5 different wines coupled with canapes. And all that at a very nominal proce. The dining manager was also brilliant and suggested options for dinner. We ended up going to the city and dining eventually. This was also a place recommended by the intern lady. The rooms and facilities at the Devon Vally Hotel are very modern and comfortable. The place is so relaxing that one night is just not enough. You need to take out a bit more time to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrashantKhullar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear PrashantKhullar

Many thanks for your amazing review. We certainly do look forward to welcoming your friends to South Africa.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Spent two relaxing nights at the hotel while on business. Room was spacious, loads of cupboard space and comfortable bed. The bathroom and huge shower was clean, well maintained and well supplied with the traditional small containers of goodies. I had two meals in the restaurant while there, a delicious risotto for dinner and the buffet breakfast which had an amazing array of foods. They proudly display the various wine awards and have an amazing wine collection. The service overall was very professional but relaxed and not pressured. It's a country hotel, out of Stellenbosch so it's a lot quieter than a city hotel. My only negative comment is that the pathways at night can be a bit confusing and dark, but this does little to detract from the overall experience. This can be a really romantic getaway as well.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Alan S

Thank you for your review and I am delighted you felt so at home at Devon Valley Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you home

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel ambience has a combination of old world charm and modern sophistication. The location is perfect within the Devon Valley which produces some of the finest Cape wines. I was booked in a comfortable room with two 3/4 beds and crisp white linen! Each room has a balcony and was lucky my room was facing the Helderberg Mountains! Awesome views snd sunsets. The buffet breakfast, ala carte dinners/buffet did not disappoint either. Lots of activities such as Vineyard hiking trails, wine tasting, Petanque and a nearby golf course.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Koki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Koki80

As such a seasoned traveler I appreciate your amazing review on Devon Valley.

I am delighted my team delivered excellence in Hospitality

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Staff were so welcoming and accommodating when we arrived after a wet walk. We sat in the bar and had some drinks and toasted sandwiches which were great. Setting is amazing. We didn't stay overnight so can't comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerokee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Jerokee

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your brief time with us. Perhaps on your next visit to South Africa you can stay over night and enjoy our handmade hospitality further.

Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The staff here rock. Accommodating friendly and generally good hosts, met us with towels after returning in the rain. Generally a good experience. Food not bad either. Looks like a cool place for a conference or weekend get away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Places2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Places2014

Thank you for your amazing review. One of our values is "hand made hospitality". I am delighted you felt this during your stay.

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A big big BIG thumbs up for Devon Valley Hotel on behalf of the Mountain Slayers Hiking Club. You guys didn't have to welcome the twelve of us with towels after torrential rain showers prematurely canceled our hike (we were after all not hotel guests), but you did.

You didn't have to add a couple of more blocks of wood to the fire, to warm up a bunch of drained hikers. But you did. You didn't have to give us an 'a la carte option' (your Sundays are reserved for a set lunch buffet), but you did. And you allowed us to sprawl out over your bar area. Thank you SO much for the warmest hospitality we could wish for (and some great food too) after being rained out.

We will be back, that is for sure!!

Warm regards, The Mountain Slayers (http://www.meetup.com/Mountain-Slayers-Hiking-CT)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MountainSlayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear MountainSlayers

Thank you for your amazing review on both TripAdvisor and Facebook. One of our core values is handmade hospitality and I am delighted my team delivered this tho you and your hikers.


Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,875 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
400 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
858 reviews
1.5 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £85 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing