We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavours restaurant very good, but hotel room not meeting expectations”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Flavours restaurant very good, but hotel room not meeting expectations”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a Friday night as part of their "Winter weekend special" which includes a one night stay, dinner voucher, bottle of wine and breakfast. The overall impression of the hotel seems good and the reception staff was friendly and helpful. We very much enjoyed our dinner at the Flavours restaurant. I had the Baked fig and cheese starter and my husband had the Mussels. For mains we both had the Karan rump steak which was cooked well and very soft and succulent. For desert we shared the Tiramisu which was not great and tasted nothing like the name implies. We had a bottle of the SylvanVale Pinotage Reserve 2006 that was fantastic. The breakfast served in the restaurant was also enjoyable.

The room itself was somewhat disappointing and in need of maintenance. We stayed in one of the Vineyard Classic rooms. The bed was comfortable and the room seemed clean and tidy. However, there were a few obvious points that needed to be addressed. In the bathroom there were ugly stains running down from the ceiling above the bath, the toilet seat was damaged and there were visibly unfinished areas where fittings were removed. In the bedroom, the top drawer under the cupboard could not close properly and was sticking out, two of the three down lights above the window was broken and the sliding doors could not close and lock. Small things like these are what really puts me off and creates the impression that upkeep and maintainence is not being done as it should be.

Before dinner we also had drinks at the bar. The room was also in need of maintenance and the decor felt a little dated and cold. The glass front of the fireplace was broken and there was no fire, although it was winter and a fire would have created a nice ambience.

I would not return to stay in the hotel, but I would recommend the restaurant for a nice meal out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoMdP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear JoMdP

As a senior contributor we do appreciate the time taken to give us feedback. Certainly the maintenance of your room was not acceptable and I have addressed with my team as the room should never have been made available for our guests. During the winter months we spend a lot of time doing maintenance to ensure our rooms are in great condition for the busy summer months.

The fire place glass had broken shortly before you stay. A burning log fell. Initially I did not allow fires to be made till I had a professional opinion on the safety. The replacement glass is on order and should be installed within the week.

I am delighted you enjoyed the meals.

I have sent you a private email and certainly I do hope we manage to convince you to return to our special place.

To any of our current and future guests. Should you have any issues with our hotel, please let us know during your stay so that we can remedy the problem allowing you to enjoy the stay, you are welcome to contact me at reception by dialing 9 or on my mobile 082 301 5844

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    196
    49
    24
    7
See reviews for
89
336
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent position in the wine vineyards of Stellenbosch. Comfortable and clean rooms with good service. Stunning views with very good breakfast. Dinner at the restaurant was also very nice with relaxing atmosphere. Will definitely return in the future.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RvA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear RvA65

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our special place.

Kind regards
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Luxury villa room was awesome loved the fire place and bath tub. Comfy beds and nice and quiet. Dinner was excellent and good wine selection for dinner. Wine tasting selection however was poor. Nice breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear MichaelBrodie

Thank you for your review and we delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Of course we are a wine farm, and our tasting is normally unique and of fantastic quality. We have experienced some shortages as we finished certain vintages and changed over to new ones. We are about to launch our 2014 SlyvanVale Rose which is amazing. I feel one of our best ever! We also have our 2005 Cabernet due out soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Thank you Andrew, Stephanie, Nadia and co for an fantastic evening. The room was all we want, the view and luxury setting. The evening and breakfast buffets were excellent. Five star treatment! We will definitely be back soon. Regards Jonathan and Samantha Vorster

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jonathanv763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Jonathan and Samantha

Many thanks for you amazing review! We are delighted you have "memorable experiences" of our hotel and that my team make you feel so welcome!

Kind regards
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I have a separate and joint history of involvement with DVH for well over 45 years!! It was quaint, very special and original and family run in the late 60's and into the 80's. Now it is expertly run with very qualified staff who are the ultimate hosts in what must be one of South Africa's finest modest understated hotels . Great food from the finest experienced chefs. A splendid bar with an excellent range of Scotland's finest single malt whiskies. A simply good swimming pool and many delightful accessible walks in the surrounding vineyards. The view from the front of the hotel over Devon Valley and beyond Stellenbosch towards Helderberg and to Gordon's Bay must be one of the finest in the Cape. A view to die for! Not yet, I hope!

JH Scotland

Room Tip: The original hotel has excellent refurbished rooms with great atmosphere. The newer rooms are excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear John H

Thank you for your review. We are delighted we still have special place in your family's minds.

Don't forget our whiskey evening on 25th July. You need to book .. andrew@hsvhospitality.com

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Riveria Travel tour. This was our favourite hotel out of all the hotels. Others in our group had other hotels as their favourite. Our room was huge, comfortable and opened up on to a patio that overlooked vineyards. We had excellent a la carte meals and a vast and varied breakfast. Service was excellent and friendly

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillericayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear BillericayEngland

Many thanks for your amazing review. We are delighted we got the vote as best on Tour.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My patrner and I are getting married in September and were looking at venues. We cam,e across Devon Valley via a website and contacted them for assistance with our wedding plans. Andrew asked us to visit the site and see for ourselves. When we arrived, he made us feel welcome and showed us all the venues on offer. he explained what can be done to accommodate the 20 or so guests from dining to hosting the wedding in one of their gardens to wine lists and even rooms for our people. By the time we reached home, he had already sent an email with all the details we discussed as well as additional options. I have yet to find such dedication to customer service as with Andrew. EXCELLENT is all that I can say!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Timothy H

Thank you for your very kind words. We look forward to hosting your and Jhana's special day. I am delighted you felt our HANDMADE HOSPITALITY.

Kind regards
Andrew Dietrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,827 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
867 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
815 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Property: Devon Valley Hotel
Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing