We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An hotel with old world charm”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Recently returning from South Africa we stayed at this hotel as part of a package tour with Riviera Travel. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings within its own vineyards and the views are stunning. The hotel exterior is a little bit of a mish-mash of styles and it looks as if it has been added on to in stages. The final stage is not joined on to the main hotel, which is not a problem unless the weather is wet which it was when we were there.

The interior of the hotel is beautifully decorated and immaculately kept. The rooms are laid out in 3 wings, including the new wing, and the rooms differ in sizes. We had a good look into each one as we were a large group. The smallest of the rooms, which we had, are very small, fitting just twin or double beds with leather stools at the end of the bed and a small built in vanity unit and wardrobe. The next size rooms are just as wide, but are longer and give room for 2 armchairs at the end of the beds. The bathrooms were the same size in each room, with lovely roll top baths and large walk in showers. The rooms with even numbers look up on to the vineyard (not a very good view) while rooms with odd numbers looked out over the valley (lovely). The decor is in browns and golds and very plush. If you are lucky enough, or can ask for, Room 28 this is a fabulour room on the corner of the wing , its enormous with 2 double beds and stacks of room. The rooms in the new wing are larger than the standard rooms in the original wings and they have gas fires - nice in the winter. Their decor is more modern based on black and pinky/red, again some have vineyard views (limited) and others look out over the valley. All the rooms have hairdryers and ironing boards and irons can be provided on request.

It was disappointing that when we arrived, cold and damp, we had no hot water in our room, or the next room and one of our fellow travellers could not get the heating to work so had to change rooms. They did sort the water problem out, but still when you have such high expectations of a hotel it spoils the experience a bit.

There is a lovely bar area, very cosy with a wood burning fire and large armchairs. The prices for beers and wines was very reasonable (R18 for a large glass of wine).

The restaurant is also well decorated and laid out with a lovely big fireplace for cold evenings. Breakfast buffet both hot and cold was very extensive. The best on the tour. They even had fresh scones with cream (not that I tried it). The evening menu is not very extensive, but the food is good and well presented. The service is good, but on the night we ate a la carte the service was very slow. We had a lengthy wait between our first course and main course. It didn't bother us too much as we were chatting and drinking a very good, reasonably priced bottle of wine, but one couple from our group did suggest that as the service was so slow they should be offered another bottle of wine...... and they were.

As the weather was damp and chilly we didn't get out to see the grounds or the swimming pool. We couldn't use the outside terrace either, which would be lovely in good weather and they have barbecues out their when the weather allows

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jongleurgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for Devon Valley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2009

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour with Rivera Travel, and could not believe our luck when given our room, we where in the new accomodation that was fantastic with excellent facilities, with patio with outstanding views, We were one of 3 couple put in this block and I think we were in upgrades, and one of the couple had no lights in the bathroom, which could not be fixed at the time, and they would not move unless it was in the same block. Fantastic, and if we come back to SA we will come back to this hotel, staff could not have been more helpful, winetasting on the first evening was great, and the A la Carte dinner that evening was great. Breakfast excellent, they bake there own rolls and scones, yes you get a cream tea at breakfast, the scones are the best you will ever taste.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebbisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at Devon Valley with 4 children for 6 nights during a trip to visit my sister in Stellenbosch. What an amazing experience. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful (one of our kids was sick and they were wonderful about helping with medicines, warming milk, etc.) and professional. The views from this property are absolutely spectacular looking over vineyards and farms with Cape Dutch homes. Breakfast is provided with the room and is excellent -- full continental buffet as well as a table of hot foods including bacon, sausages, eggs, etc. There was also a gentleman that came to the patio in the evenings to make brick oven pizzas which was a treat for us and the children.

My sister tells me that the locals love to come here for breakfast and brunch because of the wonderful food, views and service.

Our rooms were brand new, large, clean, and beautifully decorated. Just wonderful. We had 2 adjoining rooms with king bed in parents room and 1 single and 1 queen in the childrens room. Our littlest wanted to be in our room so they were kind enough to bring in a small roll-away bed for her.

We travel extensively, and with children. Can't say enough wonderful things about this property. If you love Sonoma or the Italian wine regions this is your hotel! Much more luxurious and serene than staying in downtown Stellenbosch or Capetown.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansengroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

I would not go out of my way to eat in this restaurant unless you were staying in the hotel to begin with and didn't wish to leave the property to eat. The food is OK at best, but I was really surprised how the cook could prepare tagliatelle in such a way that it was overcooked to just about mush. The waitress was apologetic though and took the item off our bill so I give them credit for honesty and sincerity. I had a chicken salad which was OK.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

My husband booked us into the Devon Valley Hotel for our anniversary. I was pleasantly suprised to find that the Devon Valley Hotel is not only situated in the most pristine area in Stellenbosch and surroundings, but also that the Hotel prides itself in providing the best service at a good price.

We stayed in the Hotel before it was renovated, I'm excited to visit the newly renovated rooms as the old rooms were more than satisfactory.

The Dinner we had was very romantic, although the food was not out of the ordinary. We did enjoy the breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miekie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

Major redevelopment work taking place so had to come into hotel via fire exit and along corridor.
Very pleasant room ,modern with excellent bathroom facilities.
Very good view over their vineyard and adjacent fields.
Good a la carte dinner menu.
Amusing wine tasting experience given in bar ( far better than one we had from one of the major vineyards in the area whose wines were of extremely poor quality)
Service very pleasant and efficient.
One or two of our party were slightly disapponted as their rooms were outside the main hotel area and had a long walk.
Good site for exploring the surrounding area.
Once building work is complete I would move rating upto 4 stars

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2008

We stayed here for several nights as part of our independantly arranged tour of the Winelands, Cape town and Hermanus. The location is idyllic with sensational views over the vineyard with the mountains as the backdrop.
On checking in - 4 adults in 2 double rooms, we found one room in the main block and one in the cellar block. The room we occupied in the main block - whilst nicely furnished, clean, large bathroom with free-standing bath and huge shower cubicle, had only the A/C unit for any breath of air. It appeared to be the only room in the main block that did not have outdoor access in the form of patio doors and whilst having a window, albiet the view into the side of a hill,we were unable to open it. Seeing that our friends in the cellar block had their own patio furniture and magnificent view, we asked to move room. No rooms were available in the cellar block, but very many were clearly vacant in the main block with outdoor space. The young receptionist thought that this would not be a problem but it did appear to be when greeted by the Duty Manager. She explained that the rooms were awaiting arrivals and would be occupied for one night only, with further one night bookings for the remaining nights. It became apparent that these rooms were not occupied until late evening and vacated by very early morning by organised coach tours bringing in large parties of guests. Thoses guests would not even have seen the view at the times of their stay and clearly the Hotel felt more obligated to pamper these large parties, rather than smaller bookings such as our own.
Our friends in the cellar block room did say that they had no A/C and the room was needing refurbishing soon.
The bar was lovely and relaxing, but the service very dependant on the demeanour of the bar tender. Diet coke handed over in an unopened can, we had to ask for a glass and all this after waiting 15mins for service in a empty bar! The next evening we had the most jovial of bar tenders who was happy in his work and intended to cheer his guests too.
Our only evening meal in the Flavours restaurant was extremely disappointing - despite the reviews on the food here, it has to be the worst meal we ate during the whole of our stay in SA. My food was bland in colour and taste and I swear the boiled potatoes were straight from a can! One of our party had a spicy Moroccan chicken dish which was the better choice but on the whole, extremely poor. The service was equally as poor - no smiles, no pleasantries, removing plates as soon (or before) you had finished and made us wish we had made a reservation for dinner elsewhere.
Breakfast from a choice point of view was fine - again served by staff who need a damn good lesson in customer service!!! Eggs offered on the first morning to be cooked to our choice but subsequent mornings we had to ask, and it was met with the feeling that we were inconveniencing these staff!
The receptionists were super, knowledgable,friendly and interested.
The facilities generally in the Hotel are great and once more, the location perfect.
Ask for a room in the main block WITH patio doors and book a table for dinner in Stellenbosch!

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank LovedSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,871 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
886 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
856 reviews
1.5 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £81 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing