We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice”
Reviewed 14 May 2010

we stayed here in May on the honeymoon package and it was okay. the hotel itself is nice enough, a quiet little retreat in the middle of vineyards and wineries. its a very relaxing place to stay for a few days if you have the time. surrounded by vines, close to plenty vineyards and stunning views of the mountain range on the terrace in front of the hotel where you can have a nice lunch with a lovely bottle of wine. it really is quite a nice place to stay.
i wouldn't recommend the honeymoon package though. not to be moaning but the room was only okay, nice size but not very romantic even with a four poster bed. the champagne reception was comical, a tiny bottle enought for 2 glasses. we had received proper complimentary bottles (750ml) from previous hotels we had stayed in so the fact that they advertise a champagne reception and then give you this tiny bottle is ridiculous.
the couples massages are not actually in the hotel itself, we were driven to a sister hotel about 30 minutes away because the nearby spa that does the massages was booked out. the massages were nice but not really worth the hassle of driving all that way, especially when there is so many spa's in all the other nice hotels in south africa
i do not feel we got even close to value for the money we paid but i would definitely recommend the hotel to stay in just don't fork out for the honeymoon package like we did.

p.s. make sure and do the bubbly and nougat tasting down the road in J.C. Leroux (Sparkling Wine Vineyard). has to be pre-booked. its fantastic!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameson79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    196
    49
    24
    7
See reviews for
89
335
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

we only had one night here because we were palnning to travel further afield the next day and just needed a base for a night. Wow were we impressed, this hotel is stunning, I wish wed had longer. Restaurant fantastic, rooms you wont beat - especially the bath!!! ive not took a picture of a bath before!!! Very romantic xx

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redandblack_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Booked through expedia. Allocated a classic room over looking vineyard (request this as bigger rooms).
WOW huge room, huge bathroom, huge comfy bed felt like heaven.
A beautiful peaceful location about 15 mins from Stellenbosch.
The Food was excellent. Breakfast very good choice. Evening meal superb. Service especially Marie in the evening Excellent.
We enjoyed the first 3 nights so much we extended to another 3. You can definately chill and recharge the batteries here.
Used the hop on hop off bus from Stellenbosch to visit the wine farms and they collected us & returned us to the hotel.
Would recommend and definately revisit.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyboop49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Without a doubt the best hotel we stayed in during our two weeks in S.A. The rooms, setting,views staff and the meals all superb. If we ever return to the area we will stay there again and stay a while longer. A really tranquil place.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les-Dorset2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

This was the 1st hotel we stayed in South Africa. Although it's not in downtown, this was not an issue, as our plan was to visit wineries, and they are widespread over the region anyway.

It's located in a very beautiful and quiet region (almost at the end of a small road). The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. What else could I ask?

Oh, but there was one detail I didn't like: there was a sticker on the public computer telling that if you wrote a review on TripAdvisor, printed it out and showed it at the bar, they would give you a free drink. It's a kind of manipulation, isn't it?

Anyway, I agree with the good reviews this hotel got here at TripAdvisor.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SaiWei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvanVale, Assistant General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2010
Dear Guest (TripAdvisor Profile 'SaiWei'),

Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate every review that is posted on the site by guests who stayed with us. Thank you also for your kind words and honest feedback. We are extremely fortunate with our stunning location in the beautiful Devon Valley and the peace and tranquility of our area as well as superb views are often commented on by our guests as being part of what makes our hotel special and unique.

With regards to your comment about our notice on the communication centre computers, I would really appreciate TripAdvisor to respond and let me know if that is in fact not appropriate to offer an 'incentive' to post a review. We do of course also open ourselves up to potential unfavourable reviews if a guest has had a disappointing experience (which can happen as we're not perfect!) and therefore in our minds the offer of a glass of wine is not seen as 'manipulation' from our side to get guests to post positive reviews. We want to secure as many honest reviews as we can get (whatever the content). But we want the input as we benefit from feedback from guests (to improve service standards) as well as the fact that people who consider staying with us can see the reviews (as well as our responses to the reviews) in order to make an informed decision on whether they will stay with us or not.

The glass of wine is therefore in our view not manipulation at all but rather a kind of 'value add' for when TripAdvisor members who stay with us do consider to post a review. There are many ways in which hotels try to increase their reviews (eg TripAdvisor links on their websites, email requests to their guest database) and we have come up with this idea to make it easier and in fact potentially more pleasant for them to take the time at the guest computers to write the review. In no way does this guarantee us a positive review! We only expect an honest one.

I do really appreciate the fact that you raised the matter though. I know that TripAdvisor scans all owner responses before posting it to the site and I look forward to receiving feedback directly from them regarding this. Needless to say, if they feel we should remove the notice from our guest computers, we will do so immediately.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay over with us and we hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our special corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands some time in the future!

Kind regards,
Marlize Stander
Assistant General Manager
Devon Valley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon valley Stellenboch
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2010

This is a very comfortable boutique hotel. The setting is very beautiful with views of mountains and vineyards from the terrace.

I found the service at all levels excellent and the whole staff put themselves out to make my visit a great success.

My room was clean and very comfortable and had the best bed by far in my tour around South Africa. The restaurant food and service was first class and my two-day visit a great success in every way.

I would happily recommend this lovely retreat and come back myself anytime.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlenell60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

An excellent choice hotel by Riviera travel.. Super location, beautiful rooms and views.
We enjoyed the varied menu in the restaurant, the service was good and the atmospere calm and efficient. Our room had super views over the gardens and towards the mountains. The bathroom was large and well equipped. A really lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leisureseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,818 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
868 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
808 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Property: Devon Valley Hotel
Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing