We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day conference venue”
Review of Stellenbosch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stellenbosch Lodge
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Attended a conference here with 120+ delegates - we didn't stay at the lodge although others did. The conference room was well set up, great air conditioning on a very hot day and really nice setting to spend the day.

Staff generally pretty helpful and the food (which I believe was from an outside caterer) was really good.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Schmapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Stellenbosch Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed in a large group for a conference last weekend. I arrived with a broken foot and had to drab my bag up 2 and a bit flights of stairs without a single offer of help. We had a vegetarian delegate, who indicated her dietary requirements a month before we arrived. The usual meals were served and she was told to eat the side vegetables and salads that came with the meals. The meals were cold almost every night. The rooms are old, the bathrooms are minuscule, the shower is in a bath, the orientation of the hangers is bizarre, there is a small tube TV. 4 stars? Awarded by whom? Do not be fooled. This place does not deserve even 1 star!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5halin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed at the Stellenbosch Lodge during August 2013.

I have to agree with the majority of the reviews about this hotel - the staff is friendly, but the hotel feels a bit dated. The room and bathroom was clean, but it wasn't very spacious. My room had a shower in the bath, and I would definitely prefer a separate shower.

The breakfast was OK, but nothing special.

So this hotel will do just fine if you want to sleep over for one night, but if you are after something special, then this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildeWillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

+ nice building, friendly staff who tried to set everything, good food, located close to a petrol station if sth is needed,
- wireless lan doesnt work, even standing in front of the counter, small rooms with no heat, pool looks much bigger on the pictures

only stayed one night, which was ok, but for a longer stay I wouldnt recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snirak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Its not the best but it does the job!
The staff is very friendly and accommodating, they are attentive to your needs and do as best to assist you.

The room i stayed in was outdated if I may say, old TV set, Couch, the boards.. Just feels a bit weird! Could do with an upgrade but ok overall.

The view to the mountain is worth it, Priceless! The lounge is ok but rather small, and I don't see it accommodating 50% of the guests on request.

The towels, linen and blankets are clean and not dingy at all. The toilet and shower are clean and work properly.

The breakfast is ok. There's a vast selection to choose from, eggs, bacon, toast to cereals (different and various yogurts) to fruits, juice and tea.

Its like a home away from home, if you know what a mean. Nothing special.

Walter Nkgudi

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahlatsi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here over Feb with some Golfers. My dad is a big golfer and the stellies golf club was literally round the cnr!
It is a comfortable hotle, nothing fancy. Was clean and the staff really went out of their way to help us.
We had a room with a sleeper couch, which they kindly made up for our son. They also had a some kiddies meals to choose from.
The bathroom was clean and shower was great.
the TVs and rooms could use an upgrade.
The breakfasts were really sad.... cold eggs, bacon.... not ideal but there was fruit and bread and cheese.
Restaurants across the road were great!
Good for a short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nalisha910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My room had the most amazing view of the mountains but that is where the compliments end. There was an overhang of tobacco in my room and the rooms look tired. More should be done to compliment the view. Not value for money!

Room Tip: Get the room facing the mountains
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siphov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,871 reviews
4.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
622 reviews
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
400 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stellenbosch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stellenbosch Lodge

Address: 25 Canterbury Street | Blaauwklippen Village, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £109 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stellenbosch Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stellenbosch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing