We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is about Dorpshuis Protea as apparently more than one Protea in Stellenbosch. Booked through the Stellenbosch tourist office (which can highly recommend excellent service) but the hotel gave us a bad first impression as they seemed bewildered by the booking process. The deposit is taken by the tourist office and we have done this before and other establishments don't get confused over it. However protea wanted to charge us again and not take the paid deposit into account. The next thing was they sent us an invoice for the full amount as they insisted on full payment "up front". We did as they requested but it's not what you want to be dealing with when it's a holiday.
The breakfast is good. Probably the best thing about the place.
I would describe it as your typical corporate chain hotel where they assume the company is paying so they don't need to be too concerned about your satisfaction.
Have made a mental note to give Protea chain a wide berth in future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

I visited the hotel as part of an International Sales meeting - I flew in from Dubai. The hotel resembles a small gated community, with separate houses, each one subdivided into the hotel rooms. Mine was very comfortable and easily transformed into my office with my laptop and complimentary wifi. The restaurant, bar and meeting rooms were fine and I found the staff helpful and courteous. I'd be more than happy to visit again.

Room Tip: I had a suite, overlooking open fields...try to choose a room close to the main block to avoid long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a group of international guests who arrived before international conference and some stayed after the conference at the Protea Hotel Stellenbosch Techno Park. It is a great location with lovely rooms - we stayed in the luxury rooms which were a little better than the standard rooms.

Breakfast was great with magnificent views.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury rooms facing the mountain (even though the pool area is great). They have unbelie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel for almost a week in late januari/early februari. The hotel grounds contains multiple buildings. The main building upfront houses the reception, restaurant, bar, etc. Further down the grounds are the buildings that contain the rooms, up to 8 per building. Access is on the outside, rooms on the upper floor have stairs only. The furthest buildings (J, K, L, M) are a few minutes walking distance from the entrance. There is parking space in front of the room buildings.

This was a enjoyable stay. There were some minor issues with the bed preferences, but these were quickly fixed the next day. The staff is friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Laundry service was good - quick and good quality - nasty red wine stains came out without a trace! Thanks!

The rooms are OK. Everything is covered: good beddding, airco, in-room safe, bathroom amenities, wireless ethernet, etc. The Wifi is a bit of a hassle with accounts, vouchers and a limit of 500MB/day, but it works. There is no minibar in the room. The larger rooms have (empty) fridges, mine didn't. One real issue with the room inventory: there was no luggage stand! I enquired about it with the housekeeping staff, but they told me the hotel had none. Strange! Ended up opening my suitcase on the floor each and every time.

The bathroom is a bit outdated though - or they just made some wrong choices in tiling materials. Anyway, it could use an update. And the keycards aren't 100% reliable. Mine had to be reprogrammed once but some keys for fellow travelers were even less reliable. The reception is stafffed 24/7 however so they can immediately fix it for you. It can be quite a walk however..

The hotel pool is perfect! Salt water, very large and deep. Good for actual swimming!. There is a second, smaller pool as well that's more suited for ju.st hanging around in the pool. Pools are open 24/7 and we had some great night swims.

There is a nice deck outside of the main building with a few seating area's. Great to lean back in a couch and enjoy a glass of wine. And remember, it's SA, so you're welcome to bring you own bottle if you pay a small corkage fee. Or just order something from the bar (which closes down at midnight).

Breakfast is great! All the basics are covered. They have a very good fruit selection. I enjoyed the made-to-order eggs by Bianca a lot! Thanks!

Will definitely return when I'm in Stellenbosch.

Room Tip: There are two sizes of rooms in most units. The exterior rooms (numbers 5 and 7 on the upstairs floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This Protea is a few km's out of town but very easy to get to. It has lovely views and well-furnished rooms for its rating. Service was a bit chaotic at times but the staff were generally very friendly. My only real complaint was how noisy the rooms were. Although set up in small blocks, the amount of external noise was surprising. There are two restaurants on site so it isn't necessary to drive out for a meal unless you choose to.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 528AndrewS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Found this hotel easily just of the main road, but would think you would need a car to stay here as its a fair way from town. Check in was a bit haphazed but everyone was friendly and pleasent.
The room and hotel facilites are better than expected and than they look on the website, our room was massive with a little cupboard that had a kitchen with fridge, microwave, running water & associated plates cutlery etc. and a small balcony at either end.
The pool was nice but they did not have any towels, but they dad have a bar b que which they provided wood for.
There was a bar and resturant on site, but as these seems a little quite while we was there we ate in town.
Check out was swift and the bill correct.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHeath42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quintin B, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear MHeath42,

Thank you for the feedback with regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Stellenbosch.

We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon!

Yours Sincerely

Quintin Byloo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

When registering for a botanical conference in Stellenbosch, we found the university residence unsuitable for a couple so the conference organizers found alternative accommodation at the Protea Stellenbosch, about 10 km from town. We found this was a wonderful retreat after the busy activity of the conference, with excellent food at two restaurants, a clean and very comfortable room, and two welcome swimming pools nearby to our room. The view of the mountains from the main dining room is incredible and the long twilight we experienced while dining is something to remember. The ducks, guinea fowl and plovers in the vicinity of the hotel added to the experience of an enjoyable stay. The staff were always helpful and polite and I was particularly impressed with the return of my camera to our room by a waitress after I had left it in the dining room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bksimon43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quintin B, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear bksimon43,

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered.

Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Stellenbosch and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Yours Sincerely

Quintin Byloo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
3.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,985 reviews
2.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
6 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
403 reviews
4.5 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch

Address: Techno Avenue | Techno Park, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#10 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £71 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Winelands, in one of the most beautiful and heritage conscious towns, Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch offers all guests the best of the Winelands. Stellenbosch is the second-oldest town in South Africa and affectionately referred to as the "Eikestad." Our hotel in Stellenbosch is nestled between two international golf courses. Accommodation is available in Executive, Deluxe and Standard Twin rooms, where Deluxe and Standard rooms configure to a two-bedroom apartment ideal for families and groups. Executive rooms have the best view in the house and are designed with the executive traveller in mind. Whether it’s the magnificent backdrop of mountain ranges you seek, perhaps just a scenic drive or wine tasting at the many surrounding wine farms, you will never run out of things to see and do. The hotel boasts two restaurants, two swimming pools, braai facilities, wireless internet access and the largest conference venue in Stellenbosch. If that’s not enough, why not gaze at the 270° view of the Helderberg mountain range, Blaauwklippen vineyards and the De Zalze Golf Estate. Whether it’s a family holiday or a team building activity you are looking for, Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch is just the venue for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing