We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Somewhat disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Beautiful location, however the rooms are very tired. Staff not particularly accommodating. Wifi in room not working. Parking is a mile off. They offer a valet service but the guy is slow and hard to find. Technically 5 star, but for the price you can definitely do a lot better.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    129
    50
    32
    14
See reviews for
84
303
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at the Lanzerac for the start of our Honeymoon. I emailed in advance to request petals on arrival and selected a bottle of a cap classique after being given a list of options.

The room we were given was fabulous, huge and even had under floor heating. And it was ready at around half nine in the morning (!) when we arrived which was very impressive. What a great start to our HM!

The Hotel is lovely. All the staff were lovely. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay.

James, one of the chauffeurs was very helpful also. We got to know him well during our stay. He took us on one day around five different vineyards (which we highly recommend if you prefer not to be bused around the different estates) and numerous visits into Stellenbosch.

Any minor questions or queries were quickly and efficiently dealt with by front of house.

The breakfast staff were great. We liked the springboks shirts they wore on the days they were playing at the same time as breakfast!!

We would both highly recommend the Hotel and area which is also beautiful for anyone considering staying.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonTLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

The location of the hotel is spectacular in the winelands. The hot weather helped and allowed me to recharge my batteries in the Spa and do the Celler Tour and wine tasting.
Two excellent wines are Cabernet Sauvignon and the Sauvignon Blanc. Little tip is to buy your wine here and take it to the restaurant for dinner. Two people stand out Elvis in the bar for his service and the waitron Basil Pesto in the main restaurant.The main restaurant and quality of food is superb. I would highly recommend this hotel and Spa and will be going back in the near future.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for the Deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVIN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We have just spent 4 superb nights at this beautiful old Cape Dutch Hotel.
The service was amazing - the rooms were just terrific - the breakfast buffets have to be seen to be believed and the dining room service was the best that I have ever experienced - nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We loved them!!
We also enjoyed the very sumptious Sunday Lunch buffet - the array of food was quite stunning and delicious.
The grounds were immaculate and the views of the vineyards and the surrounding mountains were quite breathtaking.
We visit Cape Town every year and I can't wait to go back to Lanzerac again.
My compliments to the management and staff - they all deserve our compliments

Room Tip: Rooms 114 and 115 were just fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
204 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I stayed at Lanzerac for a weekend in Aug. 11 based on a recommendation from a South African friend who said a stay here was a must. Overall, I had a very nice time. At one time, this hotel must have been the height of grandeur. The grounds are lovely, tucked in amongst mountains. But given that the hotel is a 5-star, I was disappointed by the cleanliness of my bathroom and the indoor pool at the spa. Also, by the discoloration of the water. (I was even served discolored tap water in The Governor's Hall, which is a fancy restaurant. When I asked for a small bottle of water, they wouldn't accommodate -- they only had large bottles, which is too much for one person.) Also: I had quite a bit of trouble getting my reservations taken care of at Lanzerac. They didn't respond to my initial emails asking to reserve a room, so I made my reservation by calling. And for the spa, even though I had confirmed a reservation for a massage by email, they didn't have me on the schedule when I arrived for my treatment. It turned out they did have someone available who could do it, but it was a little unrattling.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 81FrequentT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Located just out of Stellenbosch, the whole estate is a gem itself. We had a lovely modern and spacious room with a little terrace overlooking the vineyards. Upon arrival my partner and I received a glass of Rosé wine and later complimentary snacks were served in our room. Two bars invite with greadt design and a great variety of drinks and whiskys.
I can definitely recommend the Spa, especially the massages.
The food quality at dinner was okay, but wether special nor innovative. The waiters deifinitely could use some training as they were not helpful with questions regarding the menu and winelist. Breakfast awaits with a nice and large buffet and a selection of hot dishes.
A deifinitive must is the wine tasting and the cellar tour. Perfect passion and expertise (ask for Jason) and excellent wines will ensure a unique experience. Try the chocolate and wine pairing!
Last but not least, front desk was very helpful but messy. They read out the full price to me and my partner even though I had told them that I was inviting my partner for our anniversary. The next day at breakfast we were asked twice to immediately pay the Spa services as the Spas would close soon even though we had already done so and they had mistaken us for another couple.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luk4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Having lived in this area for 2 years, it is always good to go back. I have recently spent there a week, though it was a business trip.
Very calm and peaceful location with a nice view of the mountain.
Rooms are very spacious and staff were extremelly helpful and friendly.
Noticed that my room did not have a safe deposit box, called the reception to let them know, and immediately the following day it was fixed.
The food is good but could have definitely be better

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
5.1 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Property: Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing