We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Colonial Hotel in a Lovely Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Colonial Hotel in a Lovely Setting”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the rooms are very large. There are a lot of pools to lay by and relax. The whole place is very quite and located down along a grogerous tree lined drive. We had a picnic on the grass that was very sweet and romantic. It is one of the things the hotel provides for you. We ate at the restaurant and although it was good it was nothing to write home about. The winery is nice and we enjoyed the wine tasting and the chocolate tasting. A very relaxing stay after Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    132
    50
    32
    14
See reviews for
88
311
20
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel on Saturday evening with my parents and had a lovely time. The setting is magnificent and the Cape-Dutch architecture is amazing. But, the place is dated and in need of an upgrade. In its current state it definitely is a four star and not a five star establishment. The room that we stayed in had a beautiful bathroom but the furniture etc in the room looked a bit used. I was unfortunately cold in the night as the duvet on the bed was very thin and there were no spare blankets in the cupboard. The service in general was really good, the staff friendly and efficient and very helpful. We had very nice treatments at the spa and felt very relaxed afterwards. The breakfast buffet was yummy and our cooked food very tasty. I would like to return to Lanzerac when it has been upgraded to a proper five star establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VonniCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

i attended a conference at the lanzerac hotel in early June 2012. From the outset, the service was excellent, the people looked after the 60+ people exceptionally well.
The food was very varied over the three days and at no time was there anything like the standard hotel fayre,
All in all, an excellent choice and will definitely go back on a socail

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A superb hotel on the outskirts of Stellenbosh, an example of the rich heritage of the Cape Dutch architecture and elegance from the moment you enter the grounds of the hotel. A short drive- 8 minutes to the centre out town, but the location of the hotel in the Jonkerhoek mountains makes it one of the finest hotels. There is a easily accessible walking route from the gardens of the hotel.
All the hotel staff is very friendly and provides excellent service. This is not a place to be in a rush- take time to sip a glass of wine on arrivial, make sure you do not rush through any meal- the ambience of the restaurant and bar is something to be experienced- and to appreciate the furnishings and decorations with a fireplace providing heat and comfort.
The standard rooms are excellent value for money during the winter seasons, have a huge victorian style bathroom, heated towel rails and underfloor heating and thick white gowns.
There is a business centre if you need to do some work, workspace in the standard rooms are a bit limited, but in summer work can easily be done in the courtyard linked to the room.
Esure that you plan your trip in such a way that you can visit the wine cellar, taste and buy some of the excellent estate wines.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small courtyard overlooking the mountains and the vineyards and are closest to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pretoriamariev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I Was recently booked for a day at the SPA Lanzerac with friends.The Friendliest Professional people, excellent service, Best organic products used, great way to treat a friend or yourself!We will defnitely go back for pure relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My wife and I spent few week-ends at Lanzerac as we felt in love with since the first visit we paid about an year ago. The place is stunning, either during winter and summer time. The accomodation is absolutely high level.
Since you arrive, you realize staff is friendly and always ready to help you.
Restaurant and bar offer you a good variety of food and its quality is amazing. We suggest to reserve a table close to the fireplace at the bar to enjoy your dinner.
Breakfast is rich
The SPA is not huge but really nice: close to the vineyards you find an inside jacuzzi, inside swimmingpool and a good choice of massages. Just book in advance!
In the manor there are some external swimming pools too.

Perfect location for a romantic week-end

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camelTrieste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Director of Sales at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
The Management and Staff of Lanzerac look forward to welcoming you both back to our beautiful hotel in the not too distant future.
Kindest Regards, Michael Hunter-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCMC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Proper planning is the key to a stress-free holiday; but luck plays a big part also. We got 'lucky' at the Lanzerac. We were lucky the staff were so attentive, yet not in any way overbearing. Lucky that the room we had was so steeped in history and perfectly appointed. Lucky that the grounds and surrounding estate and views are so magnificent. To check in on a sunny morning was delightful. To wake up the following morning to eat breakfast in a preserved manor house with lots of olde-worlde artifacts blended with modern appointments,without piped muzak (I noticed this attention to detail- and wished more 5 stars would avoid trying to fill the silence), and with nothing but the quiet murmur of fellow guests reveling in the sophisticated atmosphere was lovely. In the evening the F+B manager (apologies for forgetting names here- I should have written them down at the time) was a wealth of information and the long-serving bartender made the pair a polished duo you would have expected from a James Bond film. The front of house staff were excellent as well, helping us take care of those things that foreign guests always have trouble with. The cellar door team and especially the keen young man who took us for a tour, were great. Following the best cheese plate we had with any of the tastings on our trip, he offered advice on where we could try the best olive oil in the area.
I highly recommend The Lanzerac in Stellenbosch; it is now my 'first-equal' favorite hotel in the world (tied with a small luxury resort on a Thai island).

Room Tip: It is a matter of personal opinion of course, but I always like a floor on the upper level. We had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time at the Lanzerac Estate. I will thank our dedicated staff for suppling outstanding service. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lanzerac in the not too distant future.
Yours Sincerely,
Michael Hunter-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,851 reviews
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
393 reviews
5.1 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
603 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Property: Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing