We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Estate but the spa was not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I visited the estate for my birthday and it is really pretty. My boyfriend surprised me with a massage session at the spa, my therapist was older lady and quite good but sadly my poor boyfriend ended up with someone that really had no clue what she was doing. I don't know if they didn't want to turn us away so they put someone very junior. At the end of the day spending R700 on someone who just rubs cream on your leg is below standard for such a prestigious place. Apart from that it is worth visiting this beautiful estate, we just didn't have the best experience at their Spa. We did tell the receptionist at the time but she didn't have much to say.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JJakes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our monthly family weekend away was made extra special and memorable with our choice of hotel and location. The presidential suite in the manor was superbly decorated and spacious with quality touches to make one feel very comfortable. The children stayed in the junior suite next door which was equally stunning. The service, food and ambience in the dining room and bar was fantastic. The manicured grounds, stunning views of the mountains and convenient location was an excellent recipe for a wonderful Fathers Day weekend! All staff members were very polite, friendly and went out of their way to meet our needs. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms in the manor house fro a good nights sleep - away from the driveway and common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We spent six nights at Lanzerac in May,2013 and it was pure luxury, the best hotel we have experienced.The staff were so friendly and accommodating,meals delicious with attractive presentation, quality service. Our room was spacious, very clean; beautiful well maintained grounds,a real pleasure to stay there.
D&L Smith. Canada

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Top quality service, spacious and very clean rooms within an historical setting make this hotel one of the best in the Stellenbosch area. I didn't try the spa but tried the restaurant and the food is excellent (as well as the wine!) and good value for money.
There is no gym which I think is the only negative aspect of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flavio78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The setting for this beautiful hotel couldn't be prettier. The Stellenbosch mountains as its back drop are truely majestic, the hotel elegant and the Spa is fantastic. The staff are extremely accommodating and give the full 5 star porter, valet treatment, they are very involved in the hotel and welcome their guests as if it was into their own home. It is seldom you get the dual package of great staff and magnificent setting, I have never seen a more involved and unassuming CEO, in this industry. 5 star hotel, spa , wine and surrounds coupled with such homely treatment, is rare. Their Mrs English Chardoney is exquisite. I cant wait to go back and experience the hotel once the renovations of the rooms and wine cellar are complete.- hope their rates don't get too high. If I had to find fault, I have had better food, it looks good but unlike the overall experience didn't follow through for me.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 221 and the views, quietness and privacy were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The rooms were very spacious, well furnished and comfortable. However the hotel restaurant and wine tasting/tour requires bringing into the 21st century compared to other wineries visited in the area. On entering the restaurant it felt like you were entering a rest home! With a staid atmosphere and snail like service. The dining room chairs on wheels added to the geriatric feel to the place! We appreciate that this is an old, traditional hotel however this should not detract from an expected 5 star service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotters2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had 6 nights at the Lanzerac in May 2013 and the accommodation was superb, the staff so friendly. The grounds of the hotel are extensive and tranquil. The history attached to this hotel is very interesting. They still make their own wine and it is very, very good. Would definitely recommend this property to anyone travelling to South Africa. We would definitely stay again,.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesleysullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
938 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
7 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
692 reviews
1.9 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
338 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £108 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing