We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea disappoints, mainly because of bad service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea disappoints, mainly because of bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

For a venue like Lanzerac, one would expect a little better.
We went as a largish group (+- 20) for a farewell afternoon tea. 3 of us got stuck in a meeting & were about 15 - 20 minutes late. By then everyone had gotten their tea/coffee. Well, trying to get us some too was near-impossible - although they clearly saw us no one bothered to come & ask if we needed any. With such a large group I understand it can be difficult especially at lunchtime but then why not just provide large urns where you can get your own tea & coffee. And don't advertise that you welcome group teas when you can't cope - we did book ahead, after all.
No water on table - it had to be asked for & took ages to come, & then was just plonked down.
The food was very little, very bland, & I know afternoon tea should just be small but this was really a bit ridiculous. Bread on sandwiches was dry as was the chocolate cake. Apparently the carrot cake was good - we wouldn't know since there wasn't enough to go around.

It would all have been acceptable if not for the pathetic service (& it's not the 1st time I've been at the Lanzerac & had bad service; it's the 3rd & it's always the same). Unhelpful, unfriendly, very slow. Come on Lanzerac: I know it's lunchtime but then you need to get more staff! The restaurant was packed & it was the middle of the week so you clearly need to hire more people.
I hope this beautiful wine farm isn't going the way of so many others - overconfident because it's so attractive that they don't feel they need to make an effort.

Pull up your socks guys!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenD_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Jo_Anna5, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the above mentioned matters. It is really not common practice here at the Lanzerac and definitely not the type of experience that we strive for and work so hard on creating. We take such feedback very seriously and have addressed this letter of complaint with our Heads of Department so to ensure that possible comments on poor levels of service will not be repeated and where necessary, will endeavour to make the any corrections to our service staff training.

The offering of the day was determined by the budget that was dictated by the group organiser. As a policy from here on, we will not be discounting off our standard food menus, as the offering therefore puts the hotel in a bad light and is not a true representation of what the hotel is capable of catering for.

We really hope that this feedback will not jade your perception of the hotel. We are confident in our product and would like to have the opportunity to prove this to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    125
    50
    32
    14
See reviews for
79
290
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I visited the estate for my birthday and it is really pretty. My boyfriend surprised me with a massage session at the spa, my therapist was older lady and quite good but sadly my poor boyfriend ended up with someone that really had no clue what she was doing. I don't know if they didn't want to turn us away so they put someone very junior. At the end of the day spending R700 on someone who just rubs cream on your leg is below standard for such a prestigious place. Apart from that it is worth visiting this beautiful estate, we just didn't have the best experience at their Spa. We did tell the receptionist at the time but she didn't have much to say.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJakes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our monthly family weekend away was made extra special and memorable with our choice of hotel and location. The presidential suite in the manor was superbly decorated and spacious with quality touches to make one feel very comfortable. The children stayed in the junior suite next door which was equally stunning. The service, food and ambience in the dining room and bar was fantastic. The manicured grounds, stunning views of the mountains and convenient location was an excellent recipe for a wonderful Fathers Day weekend! All staff members were very polite, friendly and went out of their way to meet our needs. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms in the manor house fro a good nights sleep - away from the driveway and common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We spent six nights at Lanzerac in May,2013 and it was pure luxury, the best hotel we have experienced.The staff were so friendly and accommodating,meals delicious with attractive presentation, quality service. Our room was spacious, very clean; beautiful well maintained grounds,a real pleasure to stay there.
D&L Smith. Canada

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Top quality service, spacious and very clean rooms within an historical setting make this hotel one of the best in the Stellenbosch area. I didn't try the spa but tried the restaurant and the food is excellent (as well as the wine!) and good value for money.
There is no gym which I think is the only negative aspect of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavio78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The setting for this beautiful hotel couldn't be prettier. The Stellenbosch mountains as its back drop are truely majestic, the hotel elegant and the Spa is fantastic. The staff are extremely accommodating and give the full 5 star porter, valet treatment, they are very involved in the hotel and welcome their guests as if it was into their own home. It is seldom you get the dual package of great staff and magnificent setting, I have never seen a more involved and unassuming CEO, in this industry. 5 star hotel, spa , wine and surrounds coupled with such homely treatment, is rare. Their Mrs English Chardoney is exquisite. I cant wait to go back and experience the hotel once the renovations of the rooms and wine cellar are complete.- hope their rates don't get too high. If I had to find fault, I have had better food, it looks good but unlike the overall experience didn't follow through for me.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 221 and the views, quietness and privacy were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The rooms were very spacious, well furnished and comfortable. However the hotel restaurant and wine tasting/tour requires bringing into the 21st century compared to other wineries visited in the area. On entering the restaurant it felt like you were entering a rest home! With a staid atmosphere and snail like service. The dining room chairs on wheels added to the geriatric feel to the place! We appreciate that this is an old, traditional hotel however this should not detract from an expected 5 star service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotters2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
6.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
5.2 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Property: Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Travelbag so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing