We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Girls Weekend”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had a awesome girls weekend at Lanzerac,
Enjoyed the Spa treatments and lovely food. Friendly staff , will def do this trip again.
Recommend the Spa for any pamper event. Enjoyed the quiet and peacefulness.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    132
    50
    32
    14
See reviews for
88
311
20
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
727 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We had a nice lunch at Lanzerac Hotel restaurant. It was nice and tasty meals. Attentive staff. Coffee house serves very good coffee with delicious lemon meringue cakes. Wine tasting was also a nice experience. We are coming back in our future visits in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My husband and I got married at the Lanzarac Hotel, so 20 years later we decided to spend the night in celebration of our anniversary. Everyone we dealt with from our booking with Katt was very friendly and professional. From the arrival, a beautiful suite, finishing touches e.g. fruit and pastry platters, wine and flowers in the room. A complimentary wine tasting, roses and chocolates in the room on our return from dinner. The dinner at the restaurant in the Hotel with waiter Len was amazing as well as the breakfast in the morning. Thank you to all the staff at the Lanzarac Hotel for making our 20th Anniversary so special!! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite. The room was very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The service in restaurant is good but it appears that there is a big problem in the kitchen.
The general service is good, they are quick to bring the wine and ask you what you want to eat but the food takes ages. The dishes are mundane and to insult you even more the main course portions are smaller than starters. For instance the venison loin (R190) consisted of two tiny pieces of meat weighing abou 15g each. And not much more vegetables. I am someone who can afford to order 10 of these meals to satisfy a normal appetite but felt insulted and decided not to stay for desert and we left.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We would like to say thank you very much to all the staff at Lanzerac. We had a really wonderful stay on the 23rd November and would recommend the hotel to friends who are looking for a quick break away from Cape Town.
Wishing you all the best for 2014.
Gia and Carlos Gomes

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Hotel is luxurious and has great charm and character. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Staff very courteous. However, the dinner we had was awful.
We were a group on a business trip, and our hosts were very embarrassed. We had a choice of two starters, two main courses and two desserts. Not difficult to get wrong, but they did. We waited for ages and the time between courses was > 45minutes. The food was considered mediocre at best by everyone. Portions were inconsistently sized, one person found an olive pip in their steak dish, one kingklip main course was the size of tablespoon. The desserts were unpleasant. The creme brûlées were different, some were like creme caramel, without sugar and others were like mini quiches. A comedy of errors!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Jo_Anna5, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
On behalf of the Lanzerac team, we would like to sincerely apologize for the service errors during your dinner at the hotel last week. We pride ourselves in the highest service levels and exceptional quality of food, so your comments are a serious concern for the team. We have investigated the matters raised and have subsequently addressed these issues with our Executive Chef who will endeavour to rectify the cause of these problems.
We hope to be given the opportunity to showcase our menu to you again in a better light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Where do I start...It all started on Friday where we arrived at our luxurious suite at the Lanzerac Hotel & Spa. The suite was amazing wow. We received such a warm and friendly welcome. The spa facilities was out of this world. One truly felt isolated from the world. The Saturday morning we indulged in a healthy, yet exquisite breakfast buffet breakfast thereafter we where fetched in the beautiful Lexus and chauffeured to the Lanzerac Ready to Run Stakes event at Kenilworth Racecourse. Wow, we were fortunate enough to sit at the same table as the Mayor of Stellenbosch and the general manager of the Lanzerac. It was such an honour. The event was exotic, the food was top quality, prepared by the cape's finest chefs. The people were beautiful and overall the event was perfect. After the event we made our way back to the hotel where we were treated to a truly grand dinning experience. I totally recommend the Lamb Shank. The morning of the Sunday we were chauffeured back home in style. I cannot thank the team at Lanzerac Ready To Run Stakes anymore for providing me with such an amazing experience. My weekend was perfect. We were truly treated to VIP treatment. Thank you Tarryn for organizing all the arrangements and ensuring that we were satisfied and happy at all times. I truly appreciate it. Thank you to Hertz for your reliable and luxurious transport. Thank you to the staff at the Lanzerac Hotel and Spa for such amazing hospitality. We are definitely grateful for everything. The Lanzerac must be one of the most beautiful Hotels in the Cape with it being able to maintain that great heritage and historic feel to it. I would definitely recommend the Lanzerac Hotel & Spa and the Lanzerac Ready to Run Stakes horse racing event. Thank you

Kind regards,
Rudi

Room Tip: I rated the spa as excellent, however we made use of the heated pool and heated jacuzzi located at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,826 reviews
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
5.1 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
589 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Property: Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing