We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience at Lanzerac Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We planned a wine weekend and needed overnight accommodation in the wine lands somewhere. We were apprehensive of staying at Lanzerac, as we have stayed there before and had an absolutely horrendous experience. The new reviews on Tripadvisor weren’t all good either. But in the end, price won. The price we paid for the accommodation including breakfast & dinner was very cheap for a 5 star hotel. And we couldn’t get the same standard of accommodation for the same price anywhere else in the wine lands. As we were apprehensive of what might go wrong, we expected nothing from the hotel. We conditioned our minds to actually expect the worst. How wrong we were.

Upon arrival at Lanzerac, the porter collected all our bags and we were shown to reception to check in. We were offered our welcoming drink – anything from port, juice, wine etc – and checked in. Service was impeccable. Our porter showed us to our room, which was located around one of the swimming pools in the estate. Our room was massive with a massive bathroom, and as the whole estate has been through an interior revamp since our last stay, it was nice to see that furnishings were a bit more modern. Everything was catered for in the rooms. Wonderful Mohini soaps, gels etc in the bathroom which boasted a big shower, bath, double vanity and this all for a classical room. We went to the terrace for a bottle of bubbly, and were given snacks as wellm, while sitting and looking at the wonderful manor house. Lanzerac Estate truly is one of the most beautiful wine estates in the whole of the Cape Peninsula. Our waiter replenished all snacks while sitting. Service again impeccable and with a smile. We spent the rest of the day relaxing on the estate.

We booked for the first sitting of dinner. Dinner itself exceeded our expectations. Sitting in the gorgeous Governor’s Hall while a musician with a harp provides the background music. The service was excellent and the food was also very good. Every time you would stand up or move around, the napkins were folded up and placed neatly again. Small things like this that made the evening very special. A turn-down was done in the room while having dinner, as expected. Breakfast the following morning was up to standard with the 5 star rated hotel.

Lanzerac surprised us this time, as there was nothing that we could fault. Everything was as expected of a 5 star hotel. And because it is such a beautiful estate and perfect location, I think we’ll return again and again. And hopefully all of them will be like this time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mitxcoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2008

Having read the rather mixed reviews,, I was a little apprehensive about our stay at Lanzerac, at the beginning of our holiday to SA.

I needn't have worried!

We were greeted by delightful staff in a beautiful reception, offered drinks, and given a wonderful welcome.

We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel on two occasions, and both were very good. Our rooms were beautiful, and although in part the grounds looked as if they needed a little attention, we were thrilled with the accommodation.

A driver had been arranged to take us into Capetown, and he really acted as a tour guide, told us his personal history - which was fascinating - and took us to the various parts of Capetown, which was not part of his brief.

As usual, the Spa was trying to sell as much product as possible, but the actual treatments were very good.

Whilst Lanzerac is not a flash 5 star hotel, it is a delightful place, and was a wonderful start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fairyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Lovely hotel, beautiful grounds. The size and standard of the rooms was fantastic and all staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SaraLiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Where do I start?! After a frosty check-in, we received a call in the room about 1/2 hour later asking us to reutrn to the reception area.

We then learned that the valet never parked our car and it was subsequently hit by a truck trying to pass by! The driver was working for the hotel as a contractor on something and was in a rush. Getting the point, the hotel did nothing for us with this - no apology, no admission of partial responsibility - nothing. they even left us with a repair bill of over 200 GBP to sort out ourselves.

While the grounds are beautiful, the customer service at Lanzerac is extremely poor, especially given the prices they charge.

My wife and I expected a whole lot more on our honeymoon then to be left dealing with car accidents and fighting over repair bills.
Don't stay here! Try the Quartier Francais in Franschoek/ instead!
Much better value and customer service!!

London, UK

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank elgastador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

The highlight of this hotel for me was the spa! We arrived on a rainy weekend and so spent a lot of the time there. The heated pool & jacuzzi area was nicely done with private rattan dividers. The spa rooms were comfortable and had a nice delicious smelling ambiance. There were extra touches like having your feet soaked in warm geranium bathsalts before a massage.

The winetasting here is average. There are wine tasting experiences far nicer in typical Cape Dutch venues along the route. The tasting room is small and modern without much atmosphere but the bonus was that a complimentary tasting of 5 different wines came with our accommodation.

Rooms were adequate, bathroom was especially lovely with granite finishes and are newly renovated. Rooms open onto a courtyard patio and some also include patios that look onto the vineyards.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank overoceans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2008

The grounds are beautiful here.... and being a spa and wine fan, I appreciated being able to find one location to accomodate both of my vices.

The best part of the restaurant was the wine (I agree, the Pinotage was great). I ordered a dish which was suppose to come with somd kind of a chutny sauce. It arrived dry, and when I asked the server about it, she looked at me like I was crazy. She went to ask the chef, and she came back to tell me "the chef made the sauce, and it was bad, so he decided not to serve it." What a strange comment! She offered another sauce (only after my prompting... she first offered to bring "more rice" as a side.)

The spa was average. We did the spafari... a dual massge in the vinyard under the willow tree. Nice until the neighbors decided to weed wack and their dog went crazy. (neither the fault really of hotel.)

The hotel front desk was very helpful at making alternative suggestions for dinner.... but it was strange as each night (we stayed 3 nights) they called us to see if we would be joining them for dinner. I've never had that happen... seemed unusual and a bit intrusive. Especially since we didn't care for food, AND the front desk had already made us dinner reservations elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank Service_Sommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

Beautiful old buildings and nice bedrooms, but a few niggles slightly spoilt our stay.
We arrived on at 1.00 pm on a damp Sunday to find that the spa and indoor pool were about to close for the afternoon.The weather on the following day was better so we could use one of the numerous outdoor pools.For dinner we wanted a light meal rather than the full restaurant menu.That was fine except that they would not serve it on the lovely terrace, as they did not want to encourage others to eat there.Eating in the bar would have been fine except that all the tables were reserved, so we ended up eating on the terrace outside our room.However the food was good and the Lanzerac PInotage is the best that we found.
We had to leave at 5.00 am the next morning to catch a flight.Early morning room service breakfast was not good.Even worse was the person on reception who tried to charge us for a trip which we hadn't been on, and refused to accept that they had made a mistake!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M.R.Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
7 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
421 reviews
5.1 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
657 reviews
6.4 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £83 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing