We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent retreat! Pure relax in a luxury atmosphere. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is located in a wine estate, surrounded by vineyards and mountains. The facilities are all of an excellent taste and quality. The setting and environment are ideal for resting. No loud voices or noises. When staying at Lanzerac, there is no checking the clock. Just breathing in the lovely atmosphere. I have enjoyed walking/jogging along the vines, dinning in the beautiful terrace with the candle light while tasting the menu's exquisite and gourmet selections, lying by the pool on super comfy deck chairs, or spending time in the fully equipped spa. All of my family members were fascinated by the hotel in every of its features. Breakfast is very complete. Staff is very attentive and provides an excellent service (recommendations and information at the front desk were impecable). Congrats to the staff and who run the hotel: Amazing job! 3 days at Lanzerac feel like a 10-day vacation!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank agusbicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Thank you Lanzerac staff for an amazing time in Stellenbosch!

Damon started helping us plan our trip weeks before arrival. He got us some difficult restaurant reservations, found us a hiking guide on short notice and put up with way too many questions. He was always attentive to his emails, responding quickly with good thoughts/suggestions. Once we arrived, he and the rest of the staff were just as devoted to making our trip special.

The hotel itself is excellent as well: beautiful grounds, plush rooms and great breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshLiv715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We drove around in the area, looking for a place to have lunch and stumbled on this amazing place! They were quite full for lunch, but it was no effort for the manager to get us a table ready. The setting was outstanding. And the food: 3 course menu, at a reasonable price, what more can we ask for? Thanks also to the waiter for the excellent service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

To be honest I am very disappointed with the service of the place. The people are nice and educated but the service is terrible. Examples, I stayed for 3 nights , every single night the cigar lounge was closed and nobody knew why, conclusion i could ever go. The bar closes at 11pm so you have to rush to get a drink if you want to stay enjoying the place because the barman is leaving. The problem with that is the fact that it might take you up to 2 hours to have dinner due to the service the provide so finally when you want to get a drink is too late ( if 11pm can be considered too late....). Breakfast also can take time ( not less than 15' to half an hour to get a coffee)
Perhaps I had a very bad luck but i would certainly go again to Stellenbosh but not to the Lanzerac I found many better options in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Jo_Anna5, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Mariano, it is with regret that we hear of your comments and would like to sincerely apologize to you for any negative impact on your stay with us. This surely is not a reflection of the standard operating procedures we are working towards and for this we express our regret. Stellenbosch is such an incredible travel destination and Lanzerac holds pride of place as an iconic property of the area and through this, we have a commitment to ensure we deliver on the ground. Please be ensured that this is not the norm. Warm Winelands regards to you and the family for the start of this new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

What makes an establishment perform at a 5 star level is indeed the service levels. On the 13 th of December I decided to propose to my princess and Jo Anna (marketing manager at Lanzerac pulled out all the stops to make sure this proposal was everything I imagined it to be. From the spa the treatments, the picnic set up and the room turn downs - she managed each and every detail personally to ensure other was indeed out of a romantic novel. I highly recomend this establishment for a special occasion or for merely a relaxing break.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Prince_shm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had a awesome girls weekend at Lanzerac,
Enjoyed the Spa treatments and lovely food. Friendly staff , will def do this trip again.
Recommend the Spa for any pamper event. Enjoyed the quiet and peacefulness.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chanel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We had a nice lunch at Lanzerac Hotel restaurant. It was nice and tasty meals. Attentive staff. Coffee house serves very good coffee with delicious lemon meringue cakes. Wine tasting was also a nice experience. We are coming back in our future visits in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank winylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
7 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,989 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
423 reviews
5.1 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
659 reviews
6.4 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £84 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing