We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELI: Nice views... and no stock or service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This review is for the deli situated next to the wine tasting centre only. After hearing about the "new deli at Lanzerac" we finally made time to visit there on a Sunday afternoon. Total waste of time, though. We stood at the counter for nearly 10 minutes, being ignored by the staff, who were staring at the cash register, the floor and the ceiling. We then took some menu's, seated ourselves and after another wait, we flagged down a waitron. The first two items we wanted to order were out of stock (ciabata and a salad), and given the service levels we figured our time and money could be better spend elsewhere (we then went to Tokara - delightful). However, the views are very nice and the estate very well kept. The smiling, proactive ladies at the wine tasting room were also very keen to invite us inside for a wine tasting and seemed eager to please. So, it's not all bad, the Deli section just needs some work!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Jo_Anna5, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Please accept our sincere apology for this disappointing experience. The Lanzerac Deli is a new venture and the owners and management have invested substantial resources for the Deli to become a lovely addition to the wine tasting experience at Lanzerac. We have experienced some initial problems with the new Deli which opened in mid December 2013 however have since established successful daily routines for the Deli and we are confidant that another visit would be well worth considering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
There are newer reviews for Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed for three nights here. It is a beautiful working wine estate that I would recommend as a base to see the town, which is lovely. We ate here when we first arrived and the food is below par, having asked around other guests agreed. There are so many good restaurants around though I recommend taking advantage and getting out ( Delare Graff estate is exceptional). We were asked to leave one bar due to it being used by a big banking conference which was bad, they took over the hotel and it killed it for bread and butter customers. The grounds are spacious and well maintained with a fantastic peaceful pool area. Stay but don't eat, naturally the wine is great.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We spent the weekend at Lanzerac and would absolutely recommend it. The grounds are lovely and if you look carefully you will see romantic nooks and crannies for a picnic or a romantic dinner. We were upgraded to a lovely room replete with all the amenities you'd expect. I liked the multiple foreign electric outlets for charging your devices and the complimentary fresh fruit, water and sweets. The breakfast is plentiful and you can have anything you want. Perhaps one small criticism is that the dining service is a bit uneven (who's seating you, who's providing menus or taking your order ... Seemed a bit disorganized). We asked for a late check out - no problem.

The wine tasting areas were renovated recently and are lovely. There is also a picnic area with distant views of Table Mountain.

The spa facilities need updating but I understand plans are in the works.

The weak Rand at the moment makes Lanzerac a bargain by any benchmark and I would not hesitate to recommend it. If you can't find the dates you want on line then call. The reservationist could not have been more helpful and gracious.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Unclegus621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is located in a wine estate, surrounded by vineyards and mountains. The facilities are all of an excellent taste and quality. The setting and environment are ideal for resting. No loud voices or noises. When staying at Lanzerac, there is no checking the clock. Just breathing in the lovely atmosphere. I have enjoyed walking/jogging along the vines, dinning in the beautiful terrace with the candle light while tasting the menu's exquisite and gourmet selections, lying by the pool on super comfy deck chairs, or spending time in the fully equipped spa. All of my family members were fascinated by the hotel in every of its features. Breakfast is very complete. Staff is very attentive and provides an excellent service (recommendations and information at the front desk were impecable). Congrats to the staff and who run the hotel: Amazing job! 3 days at Lanzerac feel like a 10-day vacation!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank agusbicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Thank you Lanzerac staff for an amazing time in Stellenbosch!

Damon started helping us plan our trip weeks before arrival. He got us some difficult restaurant reservations, found us a hiking guide on short notice and put up with way too many questions. He was always attentive to his emails, responding quickly with good thoughts/suggestions. Once we arrived, he and the rest of the staff were just as devoted to making our trip special.

The hotel itself is excellent as well: beautiful grounds, plush rooms and great breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshLiv715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We drove around in the area, looking for a place to have lunch and stumbled on this amazing place! They were quite full for lunch, but it was no effort for the manager to get us a table ready. The setting was outstanding. And the food: 3 course menu, at a reasonable price, what more can we ask for? Thanks also to the waiter for the excellent service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

To be honest I am very disappointed with the service of the place. The people are nice and educated but the service is terrible. Examples, I stayed for 3 nights , every single night the cigar lounge was closed and nobody knew why, conclusion i could ever go. The bar closes at 11pm so you have to rush to get a drink if you want to stay enjoying the place because the barman is leaving. The problem with that is the fact that it might take you up to 2 hours to have dinner due to the service the provide so finally when you want to get a drink is too late ( if 11pm can be considered too late....). Breakfast also can take time ( not less than 15' to half an hour to get a coffee)
Perhaps I had a very bad luck but i would certainly go again to Stellenbosh but not to the Lanzerac I found many better options in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Jo_Anna5, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Mariano, it is with regret that we hear of your comments and would like to sincerely apologize to you for any negative impact on your stay with us. This surely is not a reflection of the standard operating procedures we are working towards and for this we express our regret. Stellenbosch is such an incredible travel destination and Lanzerac holds pride of place as an iconic property of the area and through this, we have a commitment to ensure we deliver on the ground. Please be ensured that this is not the norm. Warm Winelands regards to you and the family for the start of this new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,871 reviews
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
400 reviews
5.1 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
622 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £82 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing