We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$172
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$261
US$192
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$173
US$124
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$165
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$173
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beautiful South Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
408
134
50
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
134
50
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingcigar loungecellar tourstar hotelwine estatelovely experiencecape townold world charmtasting roombeautiful hotelour honeymoonbeautiful surroundingsattention to detailsouth africasettinggovernorsdeli
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I visit Lanzerac on average twice annually (and have done so for the past eight years) and it never disappoints. The staff are friendly and efficient and the manager, Hans Steyn, is superb (also it is worth engaging with the barman, Hermanus, who has been with the hotel for over forty years for an interesting insight into the establishment's history).

The rooms are spacious and well presented while all meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) are outstanding. On top of this, the new owners are investing to upgrade the hotel and the improvements are noteworthy and commendable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Jo_Anna5, Public Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your positive review. Your comments are most welcomed as a valued return guest. Look forward to welcoming you back many more times in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My teenage daughter and I booked a Winter package at the Lanzerac Hotel & Spa as a luxurious treat for ourselves. We live in Cape Town and wanted to stay in a hotel situated within an hour from home but with character and with a spa. We booked a Classic room and were delighted with it! The room was large, very comfortable with a huge bathroom. On the day we arrived it was cold but the heating worked so well, we were really cosy. The restaurant is very expensive so we ate lunch in the Deli which was really exceptional. The food was sublime and accompanied by a glass of chilled Chardonnay I couldn't want for more! The Deli is situated in the wine tasting area and offers delicious breads, pastries and foodie treats. It's quirky and pretty too. I enjoyed a wine tasting accompanied by an intriguing rose and geranium chocolate tasting to enhance the wine, it was wonderful and I left laden with wine as gifts to take home. Our package included a 3 course meal in the restaurant and a 60 minute treatment at the spa, as well as breakfast. We both enjoyed a massage and my daughter insisted on trying th Dr Fish experience at the spa. The spa was okay but I felt could definitely be improved. The views of the mountains are spectacular and the setting gorgeous but the spa felt a little dated and small-town.

The Lanzerac itself is steeped in history, the manor house is over 300 years old and it's impossible not to soak up this atmosphere and heritage while you're there. In the main house you'll find original flooring and the big hearth which used to be the kitchen all thise years ago. I really love experiencing this sort of place and imagining bygone era. Staff were attentive, even bringing our dessert to our room for us after dinner. When a rogue cricket strayed into our room two staff spent time catching and releasing him for us! We were very amused to learn that the King of Lesotho was also staying in the hotel along with his entourage and in fact we'd enjoyed breakfast together! I'd highly recommend this hotel, the trip through Stellenbosch alone is worth the journey. I was also interested to learn that hotel won World Luxury Hotel award recently, that's quite something.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneVanRensburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Jo_Anna5, Public Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Your comments are very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you and your daughter back to the Lanzerac again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We booked to stay in this hotel months prior to our arrival. A few weeks before our departure we were informed by the hotel that, although our booking was confirmed, they had a conference booked and would not be able to accommodate us during our chosen dates. We were requested to reschedule dates which unfortunately was inconvenient. We will not return or recommend the Lanzerac. Please be aware that although bookings may be confirmed, they may not be honoured.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Royle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Jo_Anna5, General Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused due to us having to cancel this reservation and would not have done so without careful consideration. All guests are important to the Lanzerac and our business relies on establishing new long term relationships which unfortunately we were not able to achieve in this case. This is not a common occurrence and would always be reluctant to cancel any reservation. If there was a possibility of a future visit to the area we would gladly make an invitation to visit the property on a complimentary basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went for lunch and booked for romantic dinner as well. Had been told that it had gone downhill over the years, but the new owners have brought it up to scratch. Great setting with the old house and the mountains behind. Lovely outdoor seating under the trees. Attentive service. Good food, well presented. Just what I happily remembered.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Happyday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed 2 days with my wife at the end of our Garden Route trip. The hotel setting is great but the rooms are very old fashioned (part of the charm) and do not offer the latest of comfort.
Breakfast is great. The food at the restaurant is OK but could be widely improved.
Booking at the spa was a bit difficult. The massage itself was OK but expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gallia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews