We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

the Hotel is one of the best for me it is quiet with good view to the mountains, old oak trees and a nice garden.

a very good restaurant with great wine and a nice place in the garden.

the wine tasting is just great and if you can try the old wines like the pinotage from 1995.

Room Tip: take the junior suit with the outside sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joergfitzek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Jo_Anna5, Public Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comments. Lanzerac is a serene country estate and the essence of what the property represents is a peaceful and quiet guest retreat. We are very happy to hear you had a restful holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    124
    50
    32
    14
See reviews for
78
290
18
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

On a 2 week business trip in CapeTown i was looking for a typicall Boers style hotel in the vineyard. I found your hotel as a the perfect location to relax and enjoy the amazing view of the wineyard. Slightlly old fashionned style bed room but very comfortable and quit until 7:45 am when the gardener decided to remove the tree leaves in front of my bed room with his rake and wake me up .... We had diner on saturday night and service was perfect. We had the opportunity to watch the UEFA Champions league final in the very nice bar with perfect leather chair, fireplace, nice whiskys and cigars, i really enjoyed it. On sunday morning while awake early ;-) i tested the swimming pool and spa in the middle of the vineyard, it is perfect to relax in such a nice place with amazing landscapes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoLimitsNoFruits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Jo_Anna5, Public Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review of the hotel and for including your personal photographs from your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Estate soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

4 girlfriends off to The Franschhoek literary Book Fair, decided to go a day earlier and spend it at the Lanzerac Hotel and Spa. What can one say to 5 star treatment all the way. From the moment we drove up the gorgeous driveway with magnificent trees lining our entrance, to a view to fall in love with, to the valet who parked our car, to the reception who gave us stunning welcoming wine, to our rooms of pure indulgence. It was a night to remember, I loved the comfort of the rooms and the bathroom with its underfloor heating and towel warmers to the pure comfort of the beds. We wished we could have stayed for longer. Dinner at the Govenors Room was excellent and service amazing, we could want for nothing.. Breakfast the next morning was a true feast of the senses.
Next year we have decided to stay an extra day to experience the spa and the wine and chocolate tasting. Well done all at Lanzerac Hotel and Spa, you are beyond 5 stars in my eyes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Jo_Anna5, Public Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
The Lanzerac team thank you for your wonderfully heartfelt comments. Please be sure to get in contact with Lanzerac Reservations next year on your return to the Winelands, so that we can recreate an amazing Lanzerac stay for you and your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Since our honeymoon 5 years ago Lanzerac has been our first choice for a breakaway. Always special to visit this fantastic estate and they never disappoint. Warm friendly staff, lovely rooms and great meals.
The small things make lasting impressions. This hotel truely value their supporters and we will always return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miensa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Jo_Anna5, Public Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
It was our pleasure to host you at Lanzerac for your honeymoon and to welcome you back to celebrate your special anniversaries. We look forward to creating wonderful memories for you and your partner into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I visit Lanzerac on average twice annually (and have done so for the past eight years) and it never disappoints. The staff are friendly and efficient and the manager, Hans Steyn, is superb (also it is worth engaging with the barman, Hermanus, who has been with the hotel for over forty years for an interesting insight into the establishment's history).

The rooms are spacious and well presented while all meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) are outstanding. On top of this, the new owners are investing to upgrade the hotel and the improvements are noteworthy and commendable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Jo_Anna5, Public Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your positive review. Your comments are most welcomed as a valued return guest. Look forward to welcoming you back many more times in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My teenage daughter and I booked a Winter package at the Lanzerac Hotel & Spa as a luxurious treat for ourselves. We live in Cape Town and wanted to stay in a hotel situated within an hour from home but with character and with a spa. We booked a Classic room and were delighted with it! The room was large, very comfortable with a huge bathroom. On the day we arrived it was cold but the heating worked so well, we were really cosy. The restaurant is very expensive so we ate lunch in the Deli which was really exceptional. The food was sublime and accompanied by a glass of chilled Chardonnay I couldn't want for more! The Deli is situated in the wine tasting area and offers delicious breads, pastries and foodie treats. It's quirky and pretty too. I enjoyed a wine tasting accompanied by an intriguing rose and geranium chocolate tasting to enhance the wine, it was wonderful and I left laden with wine as gifts to take home. Our package included a 3 course meal in the restaurant and a 60 minute treatment at the spa, as well as breakfast. We both enjoyed a massage and my daughter insisted on trying th Dr Fish experience at the spa. The spa was okay but I felt could definitely be improved. The views of the mountains are spectacular and the setting gorgeous but the spa felt a little dated and small-town.

The Lanzerac itself is steeped in history, the manor house is over 300 years old and it's impossible not to soak up this atmosphere and heritage while you're there. In the main house you'll find original flooring and the big hearth which used to be the kitchen all thise years ago. I really love experiencing this sort of place and imagining bygone era. Staff were attentive, even bringing our dessert to our room for us after dinner. When a rogue cricket strayed into our room two staff spent time catching and releasing him for us! We were very amused to learn that the King of Lesotho was also staying in the hotel along with his entourage and in fact we'd enjoyed breakfast together! I'd highly recommend this hotel, the trip through Stellenbosch alone is worth the journey. I was also interested to learn that hotel won World Luxury Hotel award recently, that's quite something.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneVanRensburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Jo_Anna5, Public Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Your comments are very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you and your daughter back to the Lanzerac again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We booked to stay in this hotel months prior to our arrival. A few weeks before our departure we were informed by the hotel that, although our booking was confirmed, they had a conference booked and would not be able to accommodate us during our chosen dates. We were requested to reschedule dates which unfortunately was inconvenient. We will not return or recommend the Lanzerac. Please be aware that although bookings may be confirmed, they may not be honoured.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Royle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Jo_Anna5, General Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused due to us having to cancel this reservation and would not have done so without careful consideration. All guests are important to the Lanzerac and our business relies on establishing new long term relationships which unfortunately we were not able to achieve in this case. This is not a common occurrence and would always be reluctant to cancel any reservation. If there was a possibility of a future visit to the area we would gladly make an invitation to visit the property on a complimentary basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
5.2 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Property: Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Travelbag so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing