We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views but stay somewhere else...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views but stay somewhere else...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

Highly disappointed by our 2 night stay at the Lanzerac. There are so many better places to stay in the wine region. Yes, the rooms and setting look the part and it isn't really all that bad, but the service, personal attention and general feeling about the place is severely lacking and off putting. Maybe the hotel transforms itself in the summer and isn't the honeymoon destination, but wasn't the place for me I'm afraid.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriceyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    129
    50
    32
    14
See reviews for
84
303
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

Best vine bar I' ve ever been to. Loved the Spa of the hotel also. Can only recommend it to everyone.

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StefanieW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

My husband and I spend our first honeymoon night at your hotel on 13 desember 1994, so we will be married 25 years this year. We would love to spend the night at still the most romatic hotel in the Cape, South Africa, the universe etc. etc, We tried to make a booking but it seems your are as famous as always. If it is at all possible to give us a room, please let us know.
Kins regards
Arrie and Stephanie Stopfoth

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sstopforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

My wife and I wanted to make my first trip to Africa memorable so we booked two nights at this hotel. We got a luxury suite in the month of August. The suite was huge and beautiful with a personal plunge pool (which we did not use due to the cold weather). The heating worked well (we kept the suite nice and cozy), however, it is true that the bathroom remained a bit cool (it seemed like the heating did not reach there too well. The cleanliness of the bathtub was questionable. Also, it seems that the bathtub pipes gurgle a little when using the sink - but this did not bother us. The bed was comfortable.
We thought the service was great. When checking in, we were offered wine or brandy at the reception. Also, umbrellas were readily available. The staff was very friendly.
The next day, the staff at the reception was very helpful in helping me resolve some travel issues I had.
The breakfasts were awesome. Large seleciton of a lot of fruits and breads, etc.
Dinner was also very nice. Overall, this was a fabulous experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IncredibleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

What a shame - the setting and surrounding are so special, but not, it seems, are the guests. We booked a suite, most of which we could not use as it was unheated (and it was a chilly winter weekend). The bathroom was a veritable fridge with no heating whatsoever and offered the smallest 'bath' ever seen wedged into a recess in the wall. Check the proportions on the attached photo.
But worst of all was the non-existent service - and the quality of the food. Complaints offered another room but by then the damage was done. We left with not so much as an apology - despite being assured our complaints would be taken up with the GM.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mactraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn N Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

My wife and I (mid 50s) and our son (13) had 2 stays in the Lanzerac one for 4 days and the other 1 day. The first stay we were in rooms 225/227 which were both double rooms in an annexe about 20yds from the main building. Each room was well equipped and spacious but not quite big enough to have a third bed. Both rooms had a patio which opened out into the vinyard about 20yds away (the hotel is part of a vinyard complex and complimentary wine tasting is offered - it is a bit mean to only offer 3 glasses each (tasted 6 when we shared glasses) when there are only about 10 wines available. They do a classy kitchen/BBQ apron for R100 which is a good souvenir/present. The bathrooms were of a generous size with a standalone iron bath and there were 2 wash-hand basins. Bath robes supplied. There were 2 pools convenient to our rooms but being outdoor and winter we were not brave enough to try them.
The other rooms we used were 001 and 003 which felt slightly smaller and overlooked a pool with about 20 other rooms. The bath was built in.
Accommodation was of a very high standard, the rooms clean and well maintained - only criticism is that the windows tend to be small and the lighting is not the strongest so the rooms can feel a bit dark - maybe winter and a bit over critical.
We had the use of the swimming pool in the spa complex - the pool is warm and the jacuzzi is if anything too hot 40c. My wife had a spa treatment R490 which she really enjoyed and considered really excellent value
The restaurant is in the main building and is what you would expect in an old Dutch cape manor house - oil portraits, wooden panelling and comfortable chairs to have your coffee after the meal.
The breakfasts are not wanting in any way and are the best I have ever had. Choice of juices, fruits, nuts etc, cereal, cold meats/cheese, breads/croissants - the fry was freshly cooked most days but on the other day it was self service (you could have your eggs freshly cooked) - all was of the highest standard
We dined Table d'Hote all evenings R160 pp - the food tended towards nouvelle cuisine which is not my style but of a very high standard. Meal consisted of an appetiser, starter, sorbet, main course and sweet. One left the table leaving a clean plate, full but not gorged. As we found generally in SA steaks were really excellent and generous. The wine list was mainly local SA and extensive except for a page of very expensive imported mainly French wines. Wines which we found very drinkable started about R100 - soft drinks were about R10.
There is free internet access available in the landing above the reception
Reception was excellent and efficient and being a relatively small hotel our name and room nos were known by all the reception staff - impressive
The hotel was extremely well staffed and were pleasant and helpful at all times. Despite being winter the hotel was quite busy - the restaurant was nearly full most nights.
A very well run hotel and I find it difficult to comprehend how anyone could be critical of a stay. We found our stay at the hotel most relaxing and there is a reasonable amount for tourists to do in the vicinity. The hotel is located on the edge of Stellenbosch (centre 5 mins by car) in the countryside.
Definitely one of the best hotels we have stayed in, if not the best - definitely 5* - our visit lived up to the expectation we had from their website if not exceeded it

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilbertCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
197 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights. The rooms are very well equipped, super bathroom with bath and shower plus 2 sinks and all the usual toiletries you expect in a 5 star hotel. Excellent air conditioning, really comfortable beds with choice of pillows. Satellite TV, parking close to the room. Security excellent. There are 3 pools plus an indoor at the Spa. The grounds are lovely and the weather was great. The only disappointment was the restaurant at dinner. Breakfast was good but in the evening the service was not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel and we only eat there twice out of the 5 nights.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
5.1 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanzerac Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Property: Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing