We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home!”

Stellenbosch Traveller's Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stellenbosch Traveller's Lodge
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I've stayed here for almost one year and I can safely say that this place is one of the most delightful places to stay in Stellenbosch. The staff have been very friendly and accomodating,and despite the reviews of the common areas being "dirty" and "disgusting" I'd like to point out that this is in fact untrue as the staff promptly clean the rooms and the common areas every single day making it comfortable for the visitors to use the facilities.Their Hostel world rating has just increased from 63% to 70% !!!!
Ive enjoyed my time here and I call this place my home.
So if you're ever in Stellenbosch area I would recommend you stay at the Stellenbosch Traveller's lodge this summer! Its worth the penny!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilapanterona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

This was, without question, the most Cleanist, Relaxing accommodation I have experienced in years. First, the rooms themselves are basic Yet Comfortable!!!. They did not cram too many Visitors into one room it was evenly Spread. I stayed in a dorm room that had enough bunks for everyone and still had enough space for all my lagage. The common areas, are CLEAN. The kitchen is very homely and everything is working in perfect condition!!! There are smoking and NON smoking areas That the Staff regulates PERFECTYLY. Your Dishes get cleaned by the staff without you asking or hinting even tough there are signs that says "do your own dishes" The cleaners clean your room every morning so when you get out of the shower you can walk into a SHININHLY CLEANED room. Each night the owners make sure that All the quests are FOMFORTABLE and encourage them to make use of all fasilities available( FREE INTERNET and WIFI,TV with DSTV, Pool table and UNLIMITED FREE BEVERAGES!!!) Every morning you get Breakfast with HOMEMADE JAM (just like your grandma's) and they supply you with Lunch or Supper on reguest!They never INSISTS that you pay for your stay in full, up front( I was allowed to stay and than pay TWICE). Overall, this is The one place where you can get CHEAP accommodation With FRIENDLY HELPFULL STAFF and a GOODNIGHTS REST!!! So make sure you VISIT Stellenbosch Travelers Lodge the next time you're in the Winelands!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dugin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night - there was nowhere left in town. Our host was very kind and full of stories - but the rooms were horrid - we didn't have a lock on the room (we had a car and there was secure parking so we agreed to it as the other choice was an even worse room). The location is pretty central in Stellenbosch, but it is in need of a lot of updating to make it even reasonably respectable to stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This was, without question, the most disgusting accommodation I have seen in years. First, the rooms themselves are basic - nothing wrong with that. But they cram too many beds into very small rooms. We stayed in a family room that had a small (very small) double bed and bunks for the kids. The common areas, however, are just filthy. The kitchen is coated in grime and one of the two ovens does not work. The other looked like it had never been cleaned. There are signs all over saying "no smoking" but the staff themselves regularly smoke throughout the common areas. Likewise, there are signs everywhere saying "do your own dishes" but the staff themselves just dump their dinner dishes in the sink for the cleaners to look after in the morning. So visitors can't do their own dishes because the sink is full of the owner's dirty dishes. Each night the owners occupied the common room, smoking and drinking and watching TV. This common room was just below our own room so the cigarette smoke wafted upstairs in the evening. The 'breakfast' was two slices of white bread and a slice of processed cheese. This place also insists that you pay for your stay in full, up front. Even though we'd paid, we considered leaving after one night. But we stayed and used the place only to sleep. Overall, this is one place where 'cheap accommodation' means disgusting accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

When first seeing the lodge from the road I felt a little apprehensive about what our experience would be with a group of 44 teenage girls on an orchestra tour. But our hosts Helen and Stefan made the experience a very positive one. They bent over backwards to help us resolve issues that cropped up and Stefan blew me away when he took us in his own car to the Mediclinic hospital in the rain when one of the girls in our group wasn't feeling well. He came to check up on our progress and fetched us again once the girl had been discharged. That was above and beyond the level of assistance that I could have expected.

The rooms were clean and even though some waiting had to happen for shower facilities given the size of our group, it wasn't a significant problem and all o fthe girls had a good time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Marije N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerkHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.7 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,946 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lumley's Place
Lumley's Place
#1 of 1 in Pniel
87 reviews
2.4 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Beautiful South Guest House
The Beautiful South Guest House
#15 of 17 in Stellenbosch
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stellenbosch Traveller's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stellenbosch Traveller's Lodge

Address: No 8 Staedler Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £10 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stellenbosch Traveller's Lodge is a clean and service orientated Hostel. Twelve bedrooms, all linen included, meals can be ordered free wifi, free coffee and tea. Six shared bathrooms, billiard/TV room with DSTV, Dining area for 24 seated at a time, court yard garden, laundry facility, Friday nights are braai nights, safe off street parking, close to everything in town. 24 hour reception and very friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Stellenbosch Traveller's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing