We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Orchard Lane Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orchard Lane Guest House
Ranked #61 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Beverley England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here in February after attending a wedding in Stellenboch . The accommodation was great. My room was very clean the bed was comfortable and the on suite was excellent. would most certainly stay here again. Just a pity the pool wasn't clean enough to use.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartiepants27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    18
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
13
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here for one night in September 2013 to celebrate a special event (very overdue review). From the moment I made the booking, the manageress was very helpful, as I had many special requests, for instance cake plates and knives and forks, ice buckets, ice, champagne, flowers... the list really did go on. The dining area/ sitting room might be a bit cramped and the standard rooms (that I booked) also on the small side, but the more expensive rooms was bigger so if you can stretch your budget, it's worth it... Nice touches in the rooms included "welcome sweets" and bottled water. The breakfast is nothing special, but the plunger coffee was great. Housekeeping staff very willing to help and friendly. The en suite bathroom was big, spotlessly clean with heating lamps and many little luxury amenities for instance shower caps and very nice toiletries. The turn down service (not always done in 3 star guest houses) was also great and highly appreciated. Little niggles was basically just the broken latch on the bathroom door, and dampness in the cupboard that shared a wall with the bathroom. There is a built in safe in the cupboard - also not always standard for smaller guest houses, but very convenient to have. Very nice garden and clean well-sized pool. Will I stay again? Yes.

Room Tip: The bigger luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

This b&b was okay, not really good. The lady who is there in The morning (The manager?) doesn't seem to like her work at all. She is not friendly and tries to avoid you in stead of making you feel at home. Rooms are okay, not really clean and we stayed in The house so when people were in the living room, we couldnt sleep. For these reasons i think The price was too high

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard_12_12, Owner at Orchard Lane Guest House, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Good evening.
Thank you for the review. Sorry that you were not 100 % satisfy with your stay at the guest house. We try to beter our standard and service at the guest house. With out review/feedback we cannot do that. Can you please let me know to follow up on your review.
1. Under which name were you book in ?
2. The period of your stay ?
3. In which room were your booked in.?
4. Is there anything else that you can tell us to beter the standard or service at the guest house.
Hope to hear from you soon and next time we can beter on this visit.
Kind regards
Andre du Preez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. The guest house is well located for visits in and around Stellenbosch. It is situated in a quiet neighborhood of Stellenbosch.There is sufficient parking on the yard. The staff is very friendly, the accommodation was very clean and well kept. The breakfast is fabulous! The ladies prepare anything your heart desires!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JosvanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Besigheim
Besigheim
#68 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hazelwood House
Hazelwood House
#48 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Stables Lodge
The Stables Lodge
#56 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Penelope's Guesthouse
Penelope's Guesthouse
#10 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Absolute Bosch Guesthouse
Absolute Bosch Guesthouse
#62 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Place
Magnolia Place
#32 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Lane Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Lane Guest House

Property: Orchard Lane Guest House
Address: 36 Saffraan Street | Die Boord, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Lane Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orchard Lane Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing