We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“University quick visit.”

Orchard Lane Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orchard Lane Guest House
Ranked #68 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My girlfriend, her parents and I stayed at Orchard Lane on the 10th 11th and 12th of April of this year and it was a relatively good stay. The beds were comfortable and nothing to complain about. The wifi was a great benefit and came in very handy. Liked the fact that my room both opened onto the outside garden as well as the main house. Was very nice.
Did not particularly like the shower in my room, was a piddly little shower head and had absolutely no pressure. Also, the fan in my room appeared to be broken. The one night i was up all night killing mosquitoes due to this. The lady at the guesthouse told me the next day that the fans come on but they take a long time. I was angry that i had the terrible night sleep before, and that i was not informed of this.

On the whole a nice stay, helpful staff and yeah nothing serious to complain about. Just a few finer touches.

Room Tip: Make sure the fans work and that you get a room with a nice shower head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamerontavareszim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed here one night for business. The staff was friendly and the room was ready upon my arrival. The room was neat but the sheets, towels and shower did not appear too clean. The towels need to be renewed as it has passed its sell by date, thin and with holes in them. They claim to have underfloor heating but it did not work and it was a cold night. The bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: choose room in the main house and the wifi does not work in the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boodth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We spent the night at Orchard Lane to have a mini break. Everything was very clean, the room was spacious, and the owner was very friendly and professional.
We stayed in the luxury suite which has an ensuite bathroom with separate bath and shower. Enjoyed a lovely bubble bath. The luxury suites have doors opening onto the pretty garden with deck chairs overlooking the pool. Didn't stay for breakfast though. Easy access to other places in Stellenbosch, although away from the main spots. Nice quiet area which meant a good nights' sleep!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis_AJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here in February after attending a wedding in Stellenboch . The accommodation was great. My room was very clean the bed was comfortable and the on suite was excellent. would most certainly stay here again. Just a pity the pool wasn't clean enough to use.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartiepants27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here for one night in September 2013 to celebrate a special event (very overdue review). From the moment I made the booking, the manageress was very helpful, as I had many special requests, for instance cake plates and knives and forks, ice buckets, ice, champagne, flowers... the list really did go on. The dining area/ sitting room might be a bit cramped and the standard rooms (that I booked) also on the small side, but the more expensive rooms was bigger so if you can stretch your budget, it's worth it... Nice touches in the rooms included "welcome sweets" and bottled water. The breakfast is nothing special, but the plunger coffee was great. Housekeeping staff very willing to help and friendly. The en suite bathroom was big, spotlessly clean with heating lamps and many little luxury amenities for instance shower caps and very nice toiletries. The turn down service (not always done in 3 star guest houses) was also great and highly appreciated. Little niggles was basically just the broken latch on the bathroom door, and dampness in the cupboard that shared a wall with the bathroom. There is a built in safe in the cupboard - also not always standard for smaller guest houses, but very convenient to have. Very nice garden and clean well-sized pool. Will I stay again? Yes.

Room Tip: The bigger luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

This b&b was okay, not really good. The lady who is there in The morning (The manager?) doesn't seem to like her work at all. She is not friendly and tries to avoid you in stead of making you feel at home. Rooms are okay, not really clean and we stayed in The house so when people were in the living room, we couldnt sleep. For these reasons i think The price was too high

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard_12_12, Owner at Orchard Lane Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Good evening.
Thank you for the review. Sorry that you were not 100 % satisfy with your stay at the guest house. We try to beter our standard and service at the guest house. With out review/feedback we cannot do that. Can you please let me know to follow up on your review.
1. Under which name were you book in ?
2. The period of your stay ?
3. In which room were your booked in.?
4. Is there anything else that you can tell us to beter the standard or service at the guest house.
Hope to hear from you soon and next time we can beter on this visit.
Kind regards
Andre du Preez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. The guest house is well located for visits in and around Stellenbosch. It is situated in a quiet neighborhood of Stellenbosch.There is sufficient parking on the yard. The staff is very friendly, the accommodation was very clean and well kept. The breakfast is fabulous! The ladies prepare anything your heart desires!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JosvanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,946 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lumley's Place
Lumley's Place
#1 of 1 in Pniel
87 reviews
2.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
414 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Beautiful South Guest House
The Beautiful South Guest House
#15 of 17 in Stellenbosch
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Lane Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Lane Guest House

Address: 36 Saffraan Street | Die Boord, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Lane Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Orchard Lane Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing