We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful place”
Review of Polkadraai Farm

Polkadraai Farm
Ranked #54 of 142 things to do in Stellenbosch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Polkadraai Farm is located in the Stellenbosch Winelands where the public can pick their own strawberries in season. There is an authentic farm stall on the farm that offers a wide range of jams, preserves, dried fruit, fruit and vegetables and so much more. Strawberry picking is a fun day out for family and friends and the farm has become famous for its scarecrows and sweet tasting strawberries as well as homemade strawberry jam.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Lagos
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A delightful place”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A lovely place for some strawberry picking . The entrance is just 3 rands per head . And you pay for the strawberries you pick @27 rands per kg . The fruit was delicious and our daughter had a lovely time picking strawberries. They have a lovely farm shop where the stuff is reasonably priced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2_travel7559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    10
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“must stop ........”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I had already decided to stop her on our way to Spier but I did not count how popular it would be with kids that we had to stop 2 days in row & eat lots & lots of strawberries..........glad I did as the kids have this one happy memory of Stellenbosh along with Eagle Encounter.we are teetotalers & had gone to Stellenbosh just to experience the beautiful vineyards but it was spring & the vines were still dormiant......it was still beautiful but this was the experience which added personality to our trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pragati9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Sweet Sunday Strawberry Picking”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I would say that driving to Stellenbosch and picking strawberries, is the perfect Sunday activity. It is fun for young and old. The farm is so well maintained that it is a pleasure to walk along the lanes of strawberries while picking the gorgeous red, sweet fruits. The shop stocked all kinds of South African produce that I haven't come across in ages. It was a really lovely day out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank knoesenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Polkadraai farm an absolute pleasure!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I recently visited Polkadraai Farm and was blown away by the absolute beauty.

We had a great time strawberry picking, the children had a ball and we were able to purchase some delicious wines and goodies in the quaint farm-stall.

We will be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you haven't gone strawberry picking at Polkadraai Farm - you haven't experienced Stellenbosch.”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great fun, outstanding value, great way to experience Stellenbosch. The finest strawberries in the world are there for the picking!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CRS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polkadraai Farm also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Polkadraai Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing