We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent wine tour and guide” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afrivista Wine Tours

Afrivista Wine Tours
Ranked #4 of 46 Tours in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a tour company based in Stellenbosch, the heart of the Cape Winelands, one of the most picturesque locations in sunny South Africa. Cape Town pickups can be arranged. Tour price currently is R500pp incl. tastings , cellar tour, cheese tasting and a great lunch. All inclusive! Trips are tailor-made to suit the customers’ interests and needs. Informed wine tasting. 17 Years experience.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent wine tour and guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

A superb trip hosted by our guide Niel who created the most enjoyable and relaxed day making sure that all his group were happy with how the day progressed. Niel is clearly very knowledgeable and also very passionate about South African wines and processes. We learnt a lot about the history of the vineyards and also met the locals working there - which was a nice touch. The whole experience felt very curated, personalised and good fun. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone visiting the gorgeous Stellenbosch region!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kambo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Rate Wine Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel booked the wine tour for us at short notice.
Our guide for the day was Andre. He was both enthusiastic and very knowledgeable. We visited four wine farms which were all very different. Our favourite was Muratie where Andre explained how South African wine is still made by traditional methods.
We tasted at least five wines at each farm and had the chance to buy as well. Lunch and another glass of wine was included.

This was such a pleasant day and lived up to our expectations. It was also incredibly good value. Thank you Andre.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great experience with Neil. He was easy to work with and the van was clean and comfortable. Neil is very knowledgeable and he is laid back and will cater to your groups needs. We didn't just have a few samples and move on to the next stop, we walked through the vineyards, enjoyed the views and took our time while Neil educated us about the wines, the vineyard history and some local area history as well. Our lunch was delicious and we enjoyed some special entertainment from the hosts. Our day tour could not have been better. Thanks Neil!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kayasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Top notch, personalised experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We had thoroughly enjoyed our tour with Niel through the winelands in the Stellenbosch region this week.
Niel is clearly very knowledgable and experienced, he knows an awful lot about wine-making/tasting and has a very personable, relaxed way of sharing this.
We travelled in comfort, we felt very well taken care if and were very appreciative about being taken a little off the beaten track too.
We cannot recommend Niel highly enough if you are after a genuine, personal wine tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank emjay1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You wont be disappointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was recommended the full day wine tour by my daughter who did it about a year ago. Arrangements were made via email with Niel who was highly responsive and helpful throughout. Our guide for the day was Andre who was exceptional. He is friendly and a font of knowledge on the history of the Stellenbosch and Franschhoek area as well as, of course, the wine industry. We were a group of four who joined a total group size of 12. This worked well and we were all friends by the end of the day!

Lunch with wine is included and was very enjoyable. Cheese and biscuits were also provided at one of the wine estates. There was a very good variety of wine estates visited so it never felt 'samey'.

I'd highly recommend this company and the all day wine tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CandIMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Afrivista Wine Tours also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Afrivista Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing