We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Wine Zoo”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Spier Wine Farm

Spier Wine Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23.69*
and up
Vine Hopper: Hop-On Hop-Off Wine Tour - Southern Route
Ranked #5 of 140 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spier is one of the oldest wine farms in South Africa, with a recorded history dating back to 1692. Spier's winery has won multiple awards in recent years, including Producer of the Year (Mundus Vini, Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show 2011). We also performed exceptionally at the 2011 International Wine and Spirits Competition (five Best in Class Gold medals and two trophies), and were the top performing SA winery at Concours Mondial de Bruxelles for three consecutive years. The Spier cellar has ISO 22000 certification, is Fair Trade accredited, organically certified and follows the Integrated Production of Wine (IPW) criteria.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Wine Zoo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Pretty touristy venture, but a good stop in terms of infrastructure as it caters to (literally) masses...And it has has in some respects the atmosphere of a wine amusement park (shows, handcrafts, huge parking spaces).

The main tasting room was just recently rebuilt, offers plenty of space and, to our taste, was nicely decorated. While wines have definitely improved from what they used to be, Spier is not (yet) known as a top of the pops winery - there are far better choices.

The tasting we did felt a little bit rushed by the wine expert pouring the wines, though it was reasonably priced.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JGMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    221
    75
    23
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My fiance stopped at Spier on our way to another winery and absolutely loved it! We first had brunch at their restaurant Eight, which had the best omelette I have ever had. We then went on to wine tastings which was fun, relaxing and very affordable. The staff at both the restaurant and the wine tasting were very friendly and helpful. The building is very clean and the views are beautiful.
After our wine tasting, we visited the cheetah outreach program. It cost a little extra to pet the cheetah, but the staff is very friendly and take many pictures of you while you pet the cheetah (must provide your own camera).
Overall, it was a great visit and I would definitely recommend!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
“Major dissapointment from a local Capetonian!!!!1”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I have been taking overseas people to Spier for 10 years. I was so dissapointed to see the changes that had taken place We used to sit down to breakfasts and lunches...and now there is a wine tasting area at the lake,
The food in the restaurant is from a limited menu, and R72 for a breakfast.
I will not be back....not even with my friends who come regularly and donate freely and generously to the Cheetah program!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandrabryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Family Destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

They really do go out of their way to make all their guest feel loved and that they are worth a million bucks

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReneMesias_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not a place for families unless you into alcohol”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The old Spier was much more family friendly. The menu is very limited for picnics; you can't even buy a ice-cream or ice lolly on a hot day.
At midday they had run out of breads!
Avoid unless you into alcohol or prepared for a very limited menu.
Previously the cafe was self service; now the service is just terrible.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank miles28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spier Wine Farm also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Spier Wine Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing