We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza Lunch”

Mulderbosch Vineyards
Ranked #45 of 253 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$13
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our relaxed, family-friendly tasting room has been recently transformed and extended into an outdoor space, with wooden decking lined with comfy cushioned seating, beanbags for the lawn, and landscaped areas where you can relax and eat while taking advantage of the views of the vineyards and rolling hills. We offer comprehensive tastings through the full range of Mulderbosch wines, as well as the exclusive opportunity to taste Terroir's Fable Mountain Vineyards and Yardstick Wines. There's comfortable seating on chairs and couches, and a big fireplace with roaring fires in winter. To compliment our wines, we serve a selection of thin-based wood-fired pizzas, with a variety of delicious fresh toppings, from our outdoor pizza oven (available from 12h00 to 16h00). We also offer charcuterie and cheese boards with fresh bread and Mulderbosch olive oil.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Lunch”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We drove past Mulderbosch and decided we need some food. Not sure if they do food we took a chance and drove down the Restaurant / Tasting Room. What a surprise. Friendly greeting in and out, best pizza i have ever had. And the best part of this is that we only had 45 min before our meeting in Stellenbosch. The pizza took 5 min so we could relax and enjoy the spectacular view outside. Great venue. Great staff. A must for pizza lovers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 556PizzaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    44
    18
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We drove past Mulderbosch numerous times without knowing what an amazing place it was. Our impulse decision turned out to be a great idea. My 1st visit was almost a year ago, but we still return regularly, sometimes for the pizza, sometimes for the wine, but mostly for the excellent charcuterie, cheese and other condiments platter which they serve with fresh bread. @R130 per platter which serves 4, it is just the thing to enjoy with an ice cold bottle of Sauvignon Blanc or indulge in the Barrel Fermented Chardonnay which is to die for. You can choose to sit indoors by the fireplace in winter or outdoors on a sunny day on the comfy seats, enjoying the views.
The thin crust pizzas served on a bread board are very popular, so it's no wonder the place is always packed weekends and holidays. When I visited the day before yesterday, they proudly displayed their award for being voted best pizza in Stellenbosch.
I can not stress enough that your visit to Mulderbosch should be a leisurely one. It is so much more than just somewhere to taste and buy wine. The views, the tranquility, the food, the wine, everything is worth returning for again and again
If you'd like to see more pictures and read more details about my last visit, you can do so here
http://stellenboschwinetastingandramblings.blogspot.com/2014/05/a-favourite-place-mulderbosch-vineyards.html

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best atmosphere vineyard”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

When we got to the farm it was a rainy day and very cold weather. We walked in and the first thing we saw was the fire place. The nice leather couches and hospitality. The waiter immediately brought us some olives and wine for tasting. Their Faithfull hound red wine is so lovely. The only disappointing thing is that a I understand is their only red wine. But great experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nico V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worthwhile detour”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

A lovely ambience to while away a perfect afternoon, delicious pizza and fantastic wines (2008 barrel fermented chardonnay and 1000mile Sauvignon blanc) at cellar door prices. A great combination to a good experience.

Helpful?
Thank Clinton l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuils River, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent pizzas,scenic venue...wonderful and friendly staff!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

1000 miles Sauvignon Blanc leaves me without words...you can taste and smell tropical fruit,but not so much grassy flavours!
THE PIZZAS....only 5 on the menu,but absolutely AWESOME!!!!!!!
Well done guys....we will be back again and again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maré O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mulderbosch Vineyards also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Mulderbosch Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing