We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Oude Werf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oude Werf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This hotel has a great location - right in the town centre. The service is not that great. We stayed there twice, and both times we asked for an extra bed for our child. Both times the staff forgot to do it. Same story during breakfast - slow and sloppy service. Parking near the hotel is limited, a lot of guests are forced to use the valet service. Can be noisy too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    183
    74
    29
    26
See reviews for
69
344
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We arrived here for 2 nights on the 2nd part of our honeymoon. The room was ground floor and clearly newly refurbished and with modern interior design. It has a good restaurant with a quaint courtyard. The pool is pretty but appears to be in the shade for most of the day. Staff were lovely especially the night reception guys who gave us a good western cape geography lesson.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt Tunguy-Desmarais
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

This boutique hotel is situated ideally in the heart of Stellenbosch which is perfect for some late night boozing, cruising, and fine cuisine. You'll also find several hookah bars as the students keep this cities culture live and high. Lol
Anyway, the hotel is unassuming at first and the reception is in complete contrast to the rest if the hotel experience. However, the rooms are really divine with a great use of space, a gay flair in design and fantastic linen with super comfortable beds.
The mirror divider between the bathroom and bedroom has many a creative use.

So if you feel like a fun getaway with your friends and manage to escape to Stellenbosch, or feel like a romantic weekend away with your lover, this boutique hotel gets a thumbs up.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The description of the apartment I booked for 6 nights read as follows: "Luxurious apartments, perfect for long stays, each with their own kitchenette, dining room table and lounge. Please note: These rooms face onto Beads Restaurant which is undergoing renovations - this may result in some noise being experienced during your stay.". I have stayed at the Oude Werf before, apparently in a bygone era when the description above was a possibility. Instead of "luxury" what I was met with was a run down apartment, starting with a front door that would not open properly, broken grout between tiles, dirty walls, broken floor tiles, mould as you have never seen before, windows that were probably last cleaned in the previous century, a roof which has obviously leaked, cracks in the walls and what appears to be rising damp. Oh yes and to add to the charm a view onto the dumpster of a very active restaurant (not undergoing renovations), but noisy as hell during the evening. No security what soever as these "apartments" are separate from the main hotel and are accessed through an open alley next to another restaurant. In fact one needs to buzz the hotel reception to be let into the premises of the hotel through a security gate that separates the hotel from the apartments. I suppose my disappointment with this dump would not have been this great was it not for the fact that the hotel management has the audacity to describe it as "luxurious". It is pity that this hotel, like so much of Stellenbosch, seems to now purely trade on the reputation it had years ago, rather than on merit. As I was attending classes and writing exams for the period I was checked into the hotel I literally had no time to try and make alternative arrangements. But given the fact that I had to write exams the day before I had to check out and that the noise on Friday afternoon from the restaurant opposite the apartment was so loud, I demanded to be moved to a room in the hotel for the remaining two nights. To my surprise I was initially informed that I could be moved to a standard room but only if I paid an upgrade fee. At that point I lost my temper and made it clear that nowhere on the hotel's website was it pointed out that the so-called luxury apartment faced on to a noisy and active restaurant. It was only when moving to the dump that is called a standard room at the hotel that it became clear to me why the apartments are referred to as luxury. These rooms are a disgrace. The bathroom was so filthy and the bath so yellowed with age that it was impossible to imagine it was ever white. And the entire bathroom had hair clinging to tiles, to the bath and gathering in dust bunnies on the floor. To make matters worse I was woken up continuously during the course of the night by loud shouting and laughing from guests in the lobby (or maybe the owners of this diabolical establishment who loudly rejoice in the misery of their guests at midnight . . .). The problem with the Oude Werf is simple if you look at the reports on trip advisor, or have the misfortune to stay there. Half the hotel is renovated and rented out at 5 star hotel prices (in that case dear traveller book yourself into a 5 star hotel – you are guaranteed a better experience), the other half is a 1 star dump, which is rented out at 4 star hotel prices. Do avoid at all cost.

Room Tip: Book a room in a different hotel not this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ilze v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Great hotel and like it's sister hotel in Cape Town, Friendly and helpful staff. My room (102) was one of the oldest with a big 4 poster bed. Beams in the room were original from 1802 with modern bath and shower etc. Great meal in the 1802 restaurant of traditional SA meals (baboutee, chicken pie and ostrich neck). Great location.

Room Tip: My room was near the front #102, but not too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peregrino00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Accomodation that was not well appointed in fact disgraceful. Two rooms with frayed stained carpets, half hung filthy curtains falling from rods, showers covered in mildew, inadequate and badly appointed lighting, leaking lavatory bowl resulting in large puddle on bathroom floor, smelly pillows and a bed that appeared to be already slept in, faulty lock on door and one extremely dead orchid. Does not warrant any form of rating let alone 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed in a superior room and I have to say it's one of the best hotel rooms we have ever stayed in - with a fabulously huge and comfortable bed and really stylish decor.
The pool and courtyard area is quaint and peaceful, lovely for chilling out after a morning of wine tasting.
The location of this hotel is perfect - right in the center of the beautiful town of Stellenboch, with shops and fabulous restaurants on the doorstep.
Would have loved to have stayed longer - two nights just wasn't enough!

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a superior room as I don't think the classic rooms have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gembleChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oude Werf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oude Werf Hotel

Property: Oude Werf Hotel
Address: 30 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly d'Ouwe Werf Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#9 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oude Werf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oude Werf (the Old Churchyard) is South Africa's oldest hotel, in the historic heart the Cape Winelands 'capital' of Stellenbosch, and within easy reach of its many rich experiences. Its award-winning design blends two century-old period inspirations with the latest contemporary luxury. 58 superb en suite accommodations are centred on a famous inn-house that flows to a shady vine-covered courtyard with gourmet restaurant and a charming lounge and bar, overlooking its central gardens and pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Oude Werf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing