We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable, classy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oude Werf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oude Werf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, classy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to Western Cape and visiting the wine growing region of Stellenbosch.

I had a modern, open plan room which had a very comfortable bed and all the amenities you would expect of this standard of hotel. The bed and pillows are very comfortable and the room benefitted from a separate shower and bath.

The staff were all very welcoming and helpful and you could not fault the service in the excellent restaurant. The breakfast selection was good (including Marmite for your toast) and the evening restaurant menu was superb.

The wifi in the rooms was at times slow or not available but given that it was free and in Africa is not really a cause for complaint. I have paid a lot more in Jo'Burg for a similar quality of service.

Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    182
    74
    29
    26
See reviews for
66
342
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel is fantastic. I celebrated my 50th birthday there with 75 guests. The service was excellent from the moment that we inquire about the function in March up till we have it on August 3rd. The manager was very professional and the staff exceptional. The Restaurant 1802 is gorgeous , the food selection and service out of this world! The hotel rooms are fantastic. We loved our rooms and will definitely be back next year. This time we would book Room 121 and 122(?). The two rooms at the swimming pool. We enjoyed our stay. We stayed for two nights , but will stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FFourie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

stayed for 5 nights B & B while on business in Stellenbosch. Great rooms, comfy beds, everything you needed. Great staff, who couldn't do enough, all over the hotel. Perfect location....right in the middle of Stellenbosch with at least 20 restaurants/cafes/bistros within a one minute walk! Only had breakfast at the hotel but the choice and quality was excellent. All this for under €70 per night.

Room Tip: I stayed in an apartment which would be great for a family or two couples to share.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docotrdantheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stellenbosch is ice-cream-cake pretty and the white veneer of the Oude Werf’s front entrance, with its cast iron table and chairs out front, is entirely in keeping with the town’s fairy-tale feel and a perfect greeting to your stay. The gorgeous doll-house, almost “Dutch” feel, of the foyer and reception morphs out to that modern chic design which seems to be the favourite of boutique hotels the world over at the moment, when you get to one of the newly refurb’d rooms. A light colour-scheme with lashings of reflective metallics made the very spacious room feel like a designer bed-sit. The bed was “I don’t want to get out of it” comfortable, the Manchester top notch, and the pillows luxuriously fluffy. The shower is glassed and mirrored but can be viewed from the room, and vice versa, so if your stay includes a partner where modesty is preferred, you might need to consider this. The room opened to a pretty tree-shaded balcony which overlooked the restaurant downstairs. Breakfast was included and a big plus was being able to order from the a la carte menu, not just the buffet. The dining area is absolutely gorgeous, with inside and outside options – the latter, a tree-covered alfresco courtyard which seems to be a haunt of locals as well as guests, so can get quite busy. Wi-fi was sketchy and better in the courtyard. Walking distance to bars, restaurants and shops. Recommend the wine tour and don’t miss the Brandy Distillery. This rates with the service and fittings of a luxury hotel but with the character and ambience I prefer of a boutique establishment. Perfectly pretty!

Room Tip: Request a new refurb'd room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoozSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at Oude Werf a few times. But still can't help but get a little excited when I know I will be staying there. The rooms in this hotel are amazing. Be sure to stay on the third floor, where you also have the added benefit of overlooking some Stellies restaurants. Modern, beautiful, and so upto date you can't help but fall in love. Their piece de resistance is definitely their bathrooms offering some of the best finished I have ever seen. On the down side, they don't seem to take food very seriously, with the restaurant serving okay food and not having a room service option, but they make up for it with location; with some amazing restaurants at your doorstep, this should not dampen your stay at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by the friendly staff , checkin was very quick and efficient . We were staying in a recently renovated room , it was chic and comfortable . The hotel is very well located , it seems to be in the centre of stellenbosch , there are lots of GOOD cafes and restaurants to walk to from here . The staff at the hotel are all very friendly and helpful . We truly had a lovely time at this hotel and would definately reccomend it to anyone !

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolcevita_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

overnight stay here in standard room.the room has everything you need,tea,balcony,roomy,etc,etc.These rooms are rather old fashioned and in need of an update.If I had been staying for longer,I would have upgraded to one of the new rooms.It's like comparing a good 3 star to a 5 star.It's up to the individual to decide.All in all a top hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jockhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oude Werf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oude Werf Hotel

Property: Oude Werf Hotel
Address: 30 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly d'Ouwe Werf Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#9 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oude Werf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oude Werf (the Old Churchyard) is South Africa's oldest hotel, in the historic heart the Cape Winelands 'capital' of Stellenbosch, and within easy reach of its many rich experiences. Its award-winning design blends two century-old period inspirations with the latest contemporary luxury. 58 superb en suite accommodations are centred on a famous inn-house that flows to a shady vine-covered courtyard with gourmet restaurant and a charming lounge and bar, overlooking its central gardens and pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oude Werf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing