We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old as stellenbosch”
Review of Oude Werf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oude Werf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is probably one of the oldest hotels and has the oldest hotel rooms i have seen , carpets smell of an old world with stains that make your stomach knot, Bathrroms that have mould build up from yester year and make shift fixes for taps.

Room Tip: new rooms at premium rate ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mits187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for one night, the hotel was under going some repairs which was right outside our room, so quite noisy. The room was a classic room which was very dark, had old furniture which had seen better days, location is good, lunch was good. Had a look at the other rooms, which are very modern, so if you want a nice room upgrade. The staff were helpful.

Room Tip: don't have room 222
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had a superior room, and to our tastes it was a but over decorated. 6 lamps in the bedroom area ( all different) plus down lights. Massive mirror frames, etc etc. Anyway, the room itself was clean and tidy and everything was in working order.

The staff at the hotel made the stay for us though. Beronica on the front desk was lovely and more than willing to organise a car and driver for us to explore the wineries on short notice. Ask for Lester if you are looking for someone - he was brilliant!

The restaurant has a brilliant breakfast buffet and we ate their for dinner - the food is excellent and quite reasonably priced.

Hotel is in an excellent location. The Basic Bistro across the road is also a good spot for dinner - but its very busy, so come early or late as they were busy every night we were there.

Room Tip: Book a Superior Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfolkjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

After 37 years, we visited the hotel again and were blown away with all the fantastic modern additions and changes. Stunning rooms and very attentive staff. Food at the Liefde Bistro was excellent and we had a great weekend.

We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizevN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Sadly we spent only one night in this excellent hotel but would be happy to return. The room was large airy and clean, the staff were very helpful, polite and welcoming and the food was far better than expected. Both dinner and breakfast were very good, well pepared, served and cooked. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Oldest hotel in town with some very old & strange rooms (bathtub in the middle of the bedroom) and some very modern rooms. Ask for a modern room which are more comfortable (where the bathtub is somewhat separated though not much). Breakfast in Restaurant 1802 was very good.

Service is somewhat uneven. Some wakeup calls were completely missed. Front desk staff had very little information on activities in town (e.g., had never heard of the available evening walking tour) and insisted the the nearby bird sanctuary was still at its old location (they moved 2 years ago).

Location is excellent - right on the main street of town.

Room Tip: Ask for room in modern wing; rooms in the older wing are odd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClevelandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to Western Cape and visiting the wine growing region of Stellenbosch.

I had a modern, open plan room which had a very comfortable bed and all the amenities you would expect of this standard of hotel. The bed and pillows are very comfortable and the room benefitted from a separate shower and bath.

The staff were all very welcoming and helpful and you could not fault the service in the excellent restaurant. The breakfast selection was good (including Marmite for your toast) and the evening restaurant menu was superb.

The wifi in the rooms was at times slow or not available but given that it was free and in Africa is not really a cause for complaint. I have paid a lot more in Jo'Burg for a similar quality of service.

Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
905 reviews
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
326 reviews
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oude Werf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oude Werf Hotel

Address: 30 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly d'Ouwe Werf Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#9 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £125 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oude Werf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oude Werf (the Old Churchyard) is South Africa's oldest hotel, in the historic heart the Cape Winelands 'capital' of Stellenbosch, and within easy reach of its many rich experiences. Its award-winning design blends two century-old period inspirations with the latest contemporary luxury. 58 superb en suite accommodations are centred on a famous inn-house that flows to a shady vine-covered courtyard with gourmet restaurant and a charming lounge and bar, overlooking its central gardens and pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oude Werf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing