We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stellenbosch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bertha's Guest Flats
Damme, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We found Bertha's guest house through a tour guide who works out of Stellenbosch and were very pleased with her recommendation! We very happy to stay at Bertha's for 8 nights and enjoyed every minute of it! The car could be parked in a secure area, the sc accommodation was fully equipped, clean and offered plenty of space. The location is perfect and less than 5 minutes walk from the action in Stellenbosch. On top of all that you'll find Elsbeth to be an extremely friendly and helpful host!
A great place to stay and highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hahoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsbeth13, Owner at Bertha's Guest Flats, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words about Bertha's I really appreciated it. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bornem
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at Bertha's Guest Flats with 4 other couples and used this place as our home base for exploring the Stellenbosch area. What a wonderful place!!! Bertha's place is located in a quiet residential area just of one of the main roads through Stellenbosch. We parked our car in the backyard, installed ourselves in one of cosy rooms and had our first glass(es) of South-African wine at the one of the many terraces in the neighbourhood. Within 100 meters you can find plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. Elsbet and Paul, your hosts, will make any effort to make you feel at home at Bertha's and are your perfect guides for planning your trip through the Stellenbosch area and its surroundings. After a long day you can relax in the garden and prepare, if you want, your own dinner in the fully equipped kitchen. We had breakfast in the garden and one evening even a 'braai'!! We stayed in the Red Room, a nicely decorated bedroom with an ensuite bathroom. At the same floor there is a large kitchen and a nicely decorated sitting room where you can watch TV, read a book or just have a chat about the experiences of the day with the other guests. Perfect!! We hope we will be back soon!!!.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny4410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsbeth13, Owner at Bertha's Guest Flats, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards Elsbeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoersel, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This quite place is located really 100 meters from the centre of Stellenbosch. The hosts are warm and joyful people that want you to take back as much as possible about the nature and culture of South Africa, with Stellenbosch in particular. They have a variety of appartments and rooms , with an artisanal touch, some of them with nicely decorated living rooms as if it were your own, with books on the shelves , artwork on the walls etc. They do have a nice garden in the back as well, and a parking space where your care sits safe at night, although it appears to me that the guest house is really located in a safe area. We would go again any time !

Room Tip: There are rooms with a great terrace, directly linked to either living room or bedroom. Nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsbeth13, Owner at Bertha's Guest Flats, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Serenahof Guest Apartments
Serenahof Guest Apartments
#43 of 50 in Stellenbosch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eendracht
Eendracht
#11 of 50 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
de Oude Meul Guest House
de Oude Meul Guest House
#99 of 112 in Stellenbosch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Just Joey Guesthouse
Just Joey Guesthouse
#72 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#52 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bertha's Guest Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bertha's Guest Flats

Property: Bertha's Guest Flats
Address: 16 Helderberg Street | Kana 3, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bertha's Guest Flats consist of four 3 star graded, fully furnished self-catering apartments, situated in the historical centre of Stellenbosch between upper Dorp Street and the Eerste River and west of the University's Theological School. The location is ideal for holidays, business, research academics or for a base to visit surrounding areas like Franschhoek, Paarl, Wellington, Cape Town, Strand, Somerset West and all the wine farms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing