We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Stellenbosch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stellenbosch Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2011

5 out of 5 for location since its right in the centre of town - problem is that the building is a little old and thus very musty. Im asthmatic and sleeping in a room that is a little damp is not ideal. Service is ok, no issues there.. just a little damp (and we werent there in the rainy season!) Would recommend though due to the location...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheChinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

Thank you for your review of our hotel,we are always interested in what our guests have to say.We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and have taken your comments up with the appropriate person in order to solve the problem you mentioned.Thank you once again,and we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
There are newer reviews for Stellenbosch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel with a group of colleagues. The rooms were very clean, tidy and good value for money. This is not a luxury property, but a very good option if you are on a buget. Comfortable beds and a sparkling clean bathroom makes this a great pick.
The best thing about this property is the location, it is centrally located and close to many wonderful restaurants if you are in the mood for fine dining.
The hotel's restaurant is good and offers the same value for money as the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Thank you so kindly for the fantastic review of our hotel.It is always wonderful when our guests take time out to give us feedback.We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

This was recommended to us by some guys who had been before whom we had met in Cape Town. We took up the recommendation and were not at all disappointed. Stellenbosch itself is a lovely town, and the hotel is right in the centre. there is an underground car park (free), breakfast included (very good as well), a great bar with a pint costing just 18 rand (£1.80), and an internet cafe just across the courtyard, where you can sip wine while you surf. The staff were very nice, especially the guy who opened up the car park for us and took the bags to our room. The room was (expectedly) old fashioned, but very clean with all amenities. The in room safe was a bit antiquated however. I needed an adaptor to charge my phone and they went out of their way to find me one. I loved it there, everything was right, and close at hand, a selection of restaurants and shops on the doorstep. We found it easy, more by good luck than good management, you could drive around the town awhile looking for it as there are no street signs. Highly recommended at a good price (Approx £75 inc breakfast for two). I tried to book on our way back from Touwsriver but sadly they were full. Book ahead, just to be sure.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank You for your kind review of our hotel.Our aim is to give every guest a memorable experience,we are happy to hear that you indeed had just that.We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Spent a night here awaiting a return flight to Heathrow. Didn't really know what to expect, on paper it seemed good value. I was very pleasantly surprised. Its a hotel with real character.
The hotel is right in the centre of Stellenbosch, and surrounded by restaurants and good quality shops. It has its own restaurant which serves good quality meals and wine at very reasonable cost. There is also a bar which is not unlike an English pub, again great prices.
The rooms are fabulous, large with high ceilings and 'substantial' furniture, we had brass bedsteads with bed knobs! It was airconditioned and very comfortable.
There is a small inner court yard with fountain and a few table and chairs, great place to relax and we enjoyed several meals and tea breaks there.
The staff were great, they arranged our shuttle to Cape Town airport (and changed or cancelled it several times due to the Heathrow snow saga)

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LutonSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We made an error with a booking at another B&B and quickly had to find other accommodation. Remembering that Stellenbosch Hotel was advertising rooms for a very good price we phoned them and they still had place available. The price also included breakfast which made the price extremly affordable.

The lady at reception as well as the porter, Andre was extremly helpful and friendly and we were checked in and in our room in minutes. The rooms are very clean and neat with comfotable beds. Everything looks old but this is part of the charm.

Breakfast was delicious, only the waiters might need some more training. They kept ignoring us till we actually requested some service.

All in all we were very glad we had the opportunity to sleep here and will definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heloisef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Stellenbosch. The location is excellent, the staff are very friendly, and the rooms are nice. The only problem I had with my stay was that it was incredibly windy and so a bit noisy. While I was there the restaurant at the hotel was offering 25% of the tasting dishes (olives, calamari, potato wedges etc) on Fridays and Sundays. Sharing a selection of these plates with a friend after a wine tour is a great way to end the day.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Really enjoyed my stay. The staff were very friendly. The room was great. Would highly recommend this to everyone. The hotel is in a great location, very central to everything.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
400 reviews
5.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
623 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stellenbosch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stellenbosch Hotel

Address: 162 Dorp Street | Corner of Dorp & Andringa Streets, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £56 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stellenbosch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stellenbosch Hotel is a classic boutique-style hotel, situated in the heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our range of Cape Dutch rooms cater for both the leisure and corporate markets. We are the ideal destination from which guests can explore the Cape Winelands and many other Western Cape attractions.Stellenbosch Hotel offers luxury rooms with free Wi-Fi and an on-site restaurant serving specialties and South African wines. Free parking is available. Stellenbosch Golf Club is just 3 miles away.In a restored building, each room features touches of colonial décor. Each room has a TV, minibar and safe. Each room has a spacious private bathroom.Breakfast in the morning is served in the Jan Cats Restaurant. The menu for lunch and dinner includes a range of game dishes, seafood cuisines as well as fine local and foreign dishes.Stellenbosch University is less than half a mile from Hotel Stellenbosch. It is a 5-minute drive from the walking tours of the Stellenbosch wine route. Museums, art galleries and gift shops are all within safe walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stellenbosch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing