We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellenbosch Hotel”
Review of Stellenbosch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stellenbosch Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Kzn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stellenbosch Hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We spent 7 nights at the hotel and we had an amazing time. The staff is amazing and the breakfast buffet was great. Yona even went the extra mile to arrange for our son's breakfast on a room service basis - due to the fact that he loved the underfloor heating so much - he didn't want to leave his cosy room:) We had complimentary tea, coffee and bottled water replenished every day. We will definitely be back at your hotel and wish to compliment all the staff for their dedication. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Self catering units are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YolandeKzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    341
    93
    30
    19
See reviews for
178
288
49
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We had a good stay at the Stellenbosch Hotel. We had a large room with a king size bed, with aircon (heater) and very neat bathroom with shower and bath. 2 Bottles of water were also given free for guests to enjoy. We did not have nice views really, and the only problem was that our room was on the top floor, so we had to carry very heavy suitcases up 2 flights of stairs.. and our room had a door joining 2 rooms to each other, so we woke up early in the morning by the conversation the people staying next door had (luckily i always pack in ear plugs) but apart from that, we had an very enjoyable stay. The porter was very friendly. Seeing that our stay was out of season, we did not have any problems with parking in the underground parking bay. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel the next morning so i cant rate that. We were told that no room service would be available on the day we arrived, seeing that it is out of season and they close the kitchen early. And we had no bathing water from i think 10am that morning, something about water works taking place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was better than we expected. Our room leaked a bit but otherwise had everything we needed. A hotel is by nature noisy so you must expect some but it was minimal. Breakfast is included and very nice. Staff is helpful and free parking is a bonus.
Easy access to wine area

Room Tip: Might need to ask for a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NarelleinTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Spend 1 night at the hotel. Room was very small but adequate for 1 person. Got help to bring my bag up, which was lucky, since the staircase was old and narrow. Persons helping with the bags ( coming and leaving) were very friendly and helpful. More so then the receptionist, at least the one when I checked out. Breakfast in the morning was the best, most varied breakfast I had in ZA. After I finished I walked around to see what the rest of the restaurant looked like. A staff member took time to come over and went to show me the old piece of wall they kept from the original building. After check out I could leave my car in the garage, to explore the area around the Hotel for a while.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eivor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights during a wet and cold weekend at this hotel, to celebrate my husbands birthday. We booked about 3 months in advance, but when we arrived to check-in, we were told that they thought we had only booked for 1 night - and blamed me for their mistake! An apology was only offered when we checked out 2 days later. So be careful to take your proof of payment, or you may find yourself in for a shock!

We booked into our double petite room, which really is tiny, but adequate. There were no towels in our room whatsoever, and we had to ask the front desk to send us some. Wifi vouchers are provided, but the coverage is not great. If you are expecting modern facilities, you will be disappointed, as this is a historic hotel. The breakfasts are served at Jan Cats, the adjoining restaurant. There is a buffet of typical breakfast items and while not spectacular, it fills the gap. The hotel is literally in the middle of town and within walking distance to decent restaurants and coffee shops. Parking is provided in the basement, although I heard they don't have enough bays, we didnt experience a problem. I was a little surprised by the front of house staff, as they were not particularly friendly, but the lady who cleaned our room was very accommodating and polite. I have mixed feelings about this hotel - it's quaint and charming, but lacks a sense of client service. With a bit of staff training, I think they could really have a lovely hotel. What a pity.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thirtygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was my 3rd visit to the hotel, so I knew what to expect. The rooms are small and 2 people in one room is almist impossible. However, staff is friendly, the room is clean and the position in the middle of Stellenbosch is phantastic. To stay here, means to feel Stellenbosch pulse. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnailNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunday
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Second visit to this hotel. While the first was good, this past weekend I booked it for my 60th birthday celebration and it was most disapointing, if not shocking. Firstly, be very careful when booking a room at this hotel because what you see isn't what you get. In the room advertised as a luxury double, two people can't even move around at the same time. Avoid the 'courtyard' at all costs as it is freezing and the rooms have tiled floors.
To mention a few other things that you old want to know, at 6pm after bathing you find that there are no towels in the room and we told that the staff can't put towels in the room any earlier than then as they are busy. The parking is an absolute disaster with 12 bays for 34 rooms and guests are constantly in reception arguing about the fact that they don't want to park a few hundred meters down the road. The lock on the room door didn't work and most times it took 5 to 10 mins to get in or out.

Finally and probably most importantly, the management is non-existent and the hotel is grossly understaffed. There was on gentleman at reception trying to deal with the room issues, everyone's parking issues, rushing back and forth to open the paking while trying to check guests in and out.

On the positive there was very little on this particular stay except the central location.

If I was ever to go back which is unlikely it would be to an apartment.

This was a major disappointment, staff seemed disinterested except to say that they get complaints about the luxury rooms all the time as well as the parking and accepted that this isn't 'as advertised' on their website.

Room Tip: Choose and apartment. Be aware that you may not get packing. What you see on the Internet may not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnlin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbester002, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback.

I wish to apologize profusely for not meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Please be assured that each of your issues raised has been addressed and discussed with the relevant departments in order to rectify any shortcomings and prevent these from reoccuring.

We have just recently launched our new website and I acknowledge that the description of the parking facilities might have been unclear and we have undertaken to rectify this immediately.

Parking is extremly challenging in the center of Stellenbosch and we unfortunately have only limited parking bays available in our garage. Should these be fully booked we always assist our guests with alternative secure parking close by.

Please note that we have also sent you further communication regarding your stay by email.

Once again, please accept my sincerest appologies.

Kind Regards
Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
5.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
603 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stellenbosch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stellenbosch Hotel

Property: Stellenbosch Hotel
Address: 162 Dorp Street | Corner of Dorp & Andringa Streets, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stellenbosch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stellenbosch Hotel is a classic boutique-style hotel, situated in the heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our range of Cape Dutch rooms cater for both the leisure and corporate markets. We are the ideal destination from which guests can explore the Cape Winelands and many other Western Cape attractions.Stellenbosch Hotel offers luxury rooms with free Wi-Fi and an on-site restaurant serving specialties and South African wines. Free parking is available. Stellenbosch Golf Club is just 3 miles away.In a restored building, each room features touches of colonial décor. Each room has a TV, minibar and safe. Each room has a spacious private bathroom.Breakfast in the morning is served in the Jan Cats Restaurant. The menu for lunch and dinner includes a range of game dishes, seafood cuisines as well as fine local and foreign dishes.Stellenbosch University is less than half a mile from Hotel Stellenbosch. It is a 5-minute drive from the walking tours of the Stellenbosch wine route. Museums, art galleries and gift shops are all within safe walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stellenbosch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing