We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful apartment, horrible breakfast”
Review of Stellenbosch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stellenbosch Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed three nights at Stellenbosch Hotel. Great location, excellent two bedroom apartment, with a big balcony, friendly staff. Very disappointing breakfast with an inadequate toaster, lack of attention from the staff which resulted in empty trays and no coffee refills. One of our children had a cup of hot chocolate for breakfast and we were charged extra for it, which I find ridiculous.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernestix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

First of all let me state the staff were friendly & that was not an issue. It was the room. It was the smallest room in a hotel I have ever stayed in. The bathroom was so tiny that if you sat on toilet your knees were stuck against the wall..
We were really disappointed by this hotel. The breakfast was nice but that's it.
I know the place was built in the 1800's but when you are tall it does not work.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JVR_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We met friends for lunch and decided to stay the weekend. They recommended this hotel. The staff are very friendly. It's centrally located in a shady street where all the funky bars, restaurants, ice-cream shops and mall are. Unfortunately we had to leave early so we did not eat breakfast. Our room had a tiny balcony and the we slept like babies. Although old the hotel is well maintained and I can highly recommend it. Not expensive either.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed over Friday and Saturday nights for a wedding. Lovely little hotel, great staff.
Very nice to relax outside on the street tables for breakfast or a beer.
Parking is a little tricky as it's in demand but reception is open late. Great porters, efficient, friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmpireDaveMuizenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed for a weekend. We were accommodated in a two bedroom apartment. This suited us as it gave us a bit of extra space. It is the best bed I have slept in, in a long time. The staff were super friendly, from the check in to the breakfast. The breakfast was very tasty and the spread accommodating! Dinner was delicious and the steak melted in you mouth! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToyMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

One of a few hotels in Stellenbosch that have reception open into late night hours. That's why we chose this hotel as of late arrival in Cape Town. Reception staff was very helpfull as we arrived with a wrong reservation but could connect and fix the things. Breakfast is simple but sufficient. The house is built in a nice old-style african layout with wooden & clay roof, very stylish. Dedicated indoor car park is also advantage. The only downturn is a price, besides that it's very nice hotel.

Room Tip: get a regular room, It's better than studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Very good hotel in a great part of downtown Stellenbosch. We loved the area so much we ended up staying an additional night; the hotel didn't have two rooms available the final night but they gave us the two-bedroom apartment for the same price we paid for the two regular rooms. Very accommodating staff. The breakfast is good with lots of good options too. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laureneneely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
710 reviews
3 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
954 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beautiful South Guest House
The Beautiful South Guest House
#15 of 17 in Stellenbosch
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stellenbosch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stellenbosch Hotel

Address: 162 Dorp Street | Corner of Dorp & Andringa Streets, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £72 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stellenbosch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stellenbosch Hotel is a classic boutique-style hotel, situated in the heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our range of rooms cater for both the leisure and corporate markets. We are the ideal destination from which guests can explore the Cape Winelands and many other Western Cape attractions. Stellenbosch Hotel offers luxury rooms with free Wi-Fi and an on-site restaurant serving specialties and South African wines. Free parking is available. Stellenbosch Golf Club is just 3 miles away. Each room has a TV, minibar and safe. Each room has a spacious private bathroom. Breakfast in the morning is served in Stellenbosch Kitchen. The menu for lunch and dinner includes a range of game dishes, seafood cuisines as well as fine local and foreign dishes. Stellenbosch University is less than half a mile from Hotel Stellenbosch. It is a 5-minute drive from the walking tours of the Stellenbosch wine route. Museums, art galleries and gift shops are all within safe walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stellenbosch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing