We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nkosana Wabana - legendary staff member...”
Review of Stellenbosch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stellenbosch Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nkosana Wabana - legendary staff member...”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We didn't actually stop in the Stellenbosch hotel (though it is in an enviable location in the heart of Stellenbosch).

We went to the Stellenbosch Hotel for dinner on the Thursday evening (the first evening after arriving). On a Thursday they have half price burgers (meaning that they are of even better value). The food was lovely (though the steak was slightly small). Nevertheless, our server (Nkosana) was incredibly attentive and supportive.

We returned on the Saturday to watch some football matches. Many thanks to Nkosana and the manager for arranging for the games to be shown.

Generally quiet - though attributed to the time of the year. When we return to Stellenbosch we'll stop here (as much as anything this is due to the support provided by Nkosana - a genuine asset to this establishment).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandEmmaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    333
    92
    30
    19
See reviews for
172
285
49
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is centrally located and as such is close to all restaurants and activities in the city. The breakfasts were substantial and you could eat in the dining room or at the street side cafe tables. The rooms on the upper floor were small and quite warm, even for March, and there was no elevator to the upper floor so guess what, you had to drag your suitcases up the fire escape like stairs, to your room.. Not something you want to do after a long drive!!! So pick a room closer to the main floor!!!

Room Tip: Do Not choose the rooms on the upper floor unless you like to drag your suitcase up a flight of stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear shopper_10,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch hotel.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The decor in the rooms is a little tired and could do with a revamp however, the hotel itself is charming and very well positioned in the centre of the town. Restaurants and shops are all within walking distance. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the roadside can be noisy at night when the students and tourists come out to play. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindymac1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Cindymac1968,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Visited the hotel for two nights. Food was good, room clean with nice furnishings. Staff were very helpful and made us welcome with a drink on arrival. Free internet during our stay which is always a bonus when you've been away for a period of time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanHewitt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear AlanHewitt23,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It was very clean and spacious apartment where I stay. Friendly people to help you with what ever your needs is. Will use this hotel agian. The hotel is situated in the middle of all the restuarants and walking distances from mall. You can park yor car and walk where ever you want to go. Shops arrounded you.

Room Tip: •"Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Marlene J,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

There was very little accommodation available in Stellenbosch at this time. So I chose the Stellenbosch Hotel. I normally wouldn't choose a 3 star and normally book at a 4 star, so the amenities were expected to be more basic. The biggest disappointment was that I booked a superior room on booking.com and ended up with the smaller inter-leading room between 2 superior rooms. This meant our room had an inter-leading door on both sides and was very small. On complaining at reception that it wasn't the room booked, the staff were not too helpful and told me that the hotel was fully booked and they couldn't move me. In my opinion, it is not acceptable to advertise a certain upgraded room, have a guest pay for the room and then put them into a standard room that is inter-leading....just to fill up a hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimmyroberts100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Frendly and welcomming staff. We had 3 rooms and connection between 2 of them which suited us well.
Room 1 have an terrible moisture smell that must come from the bath room, which have damaged wooden flooring because of water splashing from shower.
Central good location, nice old building and ok breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tor-Amund N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
598 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stellenbosch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stellenbosch Hotel

Property: Stellenbosch Hotel
Address: 162 Dorp Street | Corner of Dorp & Andringa Streets, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stellenbosch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stellenbosch Hotel is a classic boutique-style hotel, situated in the heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our range of Cape Dutch rooms cater for both the leisure and corporate markets. We are the ideal destination from which guests can explore the Cape Winelands and many other Western Cape attractions.Stellenbosch Hotel offers luxury rooms with free Wi-Fi and an on-site restaurant serving specialties and South African wines. Free parking is available. Stellenbosch Golf Club is just 3 miles away.In a restored building, each room features touches of colonial décor. Each room has a TV, minibar and safe. Each room has a spacious private bathroom.Breakfast in the morning is served in the Jan Cats Restaurant. The menu for lunch and dinner includes a range of game dishes, seafood cuisines as well as fine local and foreign dishes.Stellenbosch University is less than half a mile from Hotel Stellenbosch. It is a 5-minute drive from the walking tours of the Stellenbosch wine route. Museums, art galleries and gift shops are all within safe walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stellenbosch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing