We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stellenbosch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stellenbosch Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great overnight stay. Excellent breakfast. Clean and fresh rooms. The hotel is also reasonably priced and thus makes it good choice for quick business in and out stays. Décor is typical Cape-Dutch and the staff is friendly without being a total pain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f_labuschagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear f_labuschagne,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    322
    92
    29
    19
See reviews for
161
276
44
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edenvale, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Room was very small, damp smell in coridoors. maybe we got their smallest cheapest room because we got a discounted rate from your site. Otherwise not a bad place to stay for 1 or 2 nights. Certainly would not stay there longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights in mid July 2014. We found the hotel ideally located in the heart of Stellenbosch, enabling us to explore this enchantingly historic and beautiful town on foot. We stayed in a fully equipped apartment with a balcony and street view. The staff were very helpful and attentive, offering lots of tourist advice and information. Full of charm, the hotel restaurant provided a good choice of options for breakfast and we decided to eat in the restaurant for dinner on both nights. They offer a good selection of local wines at affordable prices. Complimentary secure parking was provided on site (underground).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear AnnetteW W,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

Would you be so kind as to post a review on our Jan Cats Restaurant page as well?


We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Quiet, comfortable, clean, responding to any need, and right in the centre of Stellenbosch, at 2-minute walk from every important spot of the town. I enjoyed the breakfast, and their restaurant is quite good.
I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimiG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear TimiG3,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

Would you be so kind as to post a review on our Jan Cats Restaurant page as well?


We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The Stellenbosch Hotel is an old heritage building and does not offer all the modern amenities a world traveller might expect to see. However, what it may lack in finish it makes up for with pleasant staff who are eager to please.

Don't stay here if you want ducted air conditioning and heating, flat screen television and all the bells and whistles. Our two bedroom apartment was basic, but with comfortable beds and pillows and a small self-catering kitchen.

The bathrooms were small and well worn, but a complete lack of electrical outlets was the major problem. Anybody planning on staying here will need double adapters and a short extension cord if they have the usual
compliment of hair dryers, cameras, cell phones and computers.

The in-house restaurant, Jan Cats, provided an excellent buffet type breakfast with egg dishes cooked to order. Lunch and dinner were available too, although no dinner on Sunday or Monday, but the menu varied little during the week my wife and I stayed there.

We would definitely recommend this property for those on a restricted budget, but requiring a safe, secure and central base. The Stellenbosch is in the central part of town and within walking distance of a lot of others restaurants of varying quality, so there are a lot of eating options available.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CeeJay1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear CeeJay1944,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Surprised by the prime location, quiet bedroom, excellent staff and all for a good price.
Nearby coffee and book shops, plenty of places to eat within 5 minutes walk and historic neighbourhood. We have already recommended to family and friends

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Anthony R,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
189 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed only 1 night at this lovely little hotel in the centre of Stellenbosch. My room was nice although the tiled floors very chilly in winter. The bed was very good, linen and towels good too. I had a shower and a bath and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The aircon worked well as it was very cold that evening so my room was lovely and warm. The rates are great in winter. Breakfast is served in Jan Kats restaurant, the cold buffet was good but the hot buffet not so great. I am not a fan of food sitting in bain marie's for hours and the eggs were congeald and tasted burnt. But other than that I would go back again. The hotel is very well situated, within walking distance of many restaurants, lovely shops and attractions.

Room Tip: I had a room in the courtyard so perhaps in winter rooms inside the hotel would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear travelbabe40,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stellenbosch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stellenbosch Hotel

Property: Stellenbosch Hotel
Address: 162 Dorp Street | Corner of Dorp & Andringa Streets, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stellenbosch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stellenbosch Hotel is a classic boutique-style hotel, situated in the heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our range of Cape Dutch rooms cater for both the leisure and corporate markets. We are the ideal destination from which guests can explore the Cape Winelands and many other Western Cape attractions.Stellenbosch Hotel offers luxury rooms with free Wi-Fi and an on-site restaurant serving specialties and South African wines. Free parking is available. Stellenbosch Golf Club is just 3 miles away.In a restored building, each room features touches of colonial décor. Each room has a TV, minibar and safe. Each room has a spacious private bathroom.Breakfast in the morning is served in the Jan Cats Restaurant. The menu for lunch and dinner includes a range of game dishes, seafood cuisines as well as fine local and foreign dishes.Stellenbosch University is less than half a mile from Hotel Stellenbosch. It is a 5-minute drive from the walking tours of the Stellenbosch wine route. Museums, art galleries and gift shops are all within safe walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stellenbosch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing