We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Le Pommier wine estate & leisure
Ranked #185 of 250 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Price range: US$2 - US$14
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Country Style Cape Vineyard Lodge and Restaurant. Child friendly with petting zoo. Ideal venue for intimate weddings and small conferences.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

After being double booked in our original place we where booked into le Pommier. Upon arriving we where greeted with such a warm and well coming welcome. When we opened the door to our room we couldn't believe our luck, the mini suite was



awesome, huge four poster bed and free standing bath. Breakfast and dinner surpassed all expectations and the staff could not have been Abu friendlier and gracious. Thank you Le Pommier for a brilliant stay

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    36
    30
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This restaurant is located amongst beautiful mountains in the winelands area. It is designed to make the most of the views. We were staying over-night in a fabulous poolside room overlooking the mountains, and therefore we had both dinner and breakfast. The service is friendly but slow and forgetful. The food is very well priced and the menu offers a variety of meals. The portions are of a good size and fresh bread is served as a courtesy gesture. The meals we had were satisfying for the reasonable price. A nice winelist (also very reasonably priced) is offered. All in all a great place to have a hearty meal in a great location.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kobus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely views, good food and a dead duckling”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I had breakfast at Le Pommier with some family and friends during the last of the holidays in January. The food was delicious, the view was beautiful and the atmosphere so relaxing.

Its a great place, especially if you have young children. There is a petting zoo as well as a nice big grass area with junglegym and slide, which my little nephew enjoyed.

The petting zoo could do with some more attention, especially with the severe South African summer heat. In the very tiny enclosure was an equally tiny pool of water with a dead duckling floating while the rest of its siblings were trying their best to keep cool. That wasn't nice to see, but other than that, I had a lovely time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoleDraai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Shoddy service, good food”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were really disappointed by the service and even more than that, the manager's attitude on our recent visit to Le Pommier. We walked into the restaurant, saw 5 staff members who looked at us and ignored us. We should have realised then that we were in trouble! We were seated and given menus and then left - we had to call the waiter to take our orders. Two of our meals arrived at the same time and the other two 7 minutes later, without so much as an apology or explanation. The food was good and all four of us were very happy with our dishes. We had to call our waiter again to ask for the bill and then he didn't come back for payment. Two of our party went inside to pay and saw the manager there. They told her that the food had been good but the service had been really poor and slow. Her response? "Glad you liked the food, sorry about the service" and turned back to her laptop on the bar. We will never go back to Le Pommier.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsay_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo,
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Varying quality”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Very nice ambiance. Sitting inside we had a good view and the temperature was ideal even though it was a warm day. But the over-the-entrance water mist cooled the inside down nicely.
The food: Large portions! The chicken burger belonged more at a street vendor than in a restaurant. The lamb shanks were really big and very good.
The service acceptable and friendly.
A lot of people streamed in at lunch time - so be in good time.

Cave: when entering the parking premises be aware that the ground is very rough and a laden auto might bump its undercarriage or exhaust piping.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abut0ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Pommier wine estate & leisure also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Pommier wine estate & leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing