We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful cosy stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aan de Vliet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aan de Vliet
Ranked #57 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Wonderful cosy stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at one of the bird nests which is a intimate and modern self-catering facility. The room, kitchen and bathrooms are fully equipped with everything that you can think of while the fridge had fresh dairy products every day. The location was good as it is only a short drive to anywhere around the Cape that one would want to go. The wine lands surrounding the area created a cosy atmosphere which you cannot get enough of. I really look forward to another stay and enjoy the rest of what Aan de Vliet has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nadia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
37
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My girlfriend and I planned to visit the Cape area over the Festive Season (Dec 2013) and as such, chose Aan de Vliet as our base. Our holiday spanned over a week and so finding comfortable accommodation was key for us! I am very pleased to say that Aan de Vliet not only provided us with the comfort we were looking for, but so so so much more!
Having spent many personal and business trips in various ranges of hotels worldwide, I can confidently say that Aan de Vliet has successfully attained itself the rank of being in my top 3 stays of all time.
The room was impeccable - it provided FULL Dstv (not the hotel limited package), complimentary WiFi, air-conditioning, shampoo and body soap - daily servicing of the rooms...in essence all thrills and frills of a hotel at a very reasonable price. The guesthouse is set on a vineyard, providing unlimited access to the beautiful surrounding gardens where one is easily tempted to get lost in a great book, or fantastic bottle of wine. Aan de Vliet is also conveniently located with a short drives access to both the nearby wine farms for wine tasting as well as Gordon's Bay beach for a cooling afternoon dip. Cape Town CBD is only a 30 mins drive away.
Then of course there is Freda, the manager of the guesthouse who personally takes every possible step in ensuring you are having a wonderful stay - Freda is an amazing asset who's personality and great hospitality ensured we will be returning soon!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DZL-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

What a beautiful guest house in a perfect location! We were greeted with big smiles then led into the most beautifully designed rooms, with crisp linen and towels. They have full DSTV for those that like to lounge in the morning. You have your own personal kitchen with a fridge stocked with fresh fruit, cold meat, fruit juice, yogurt and milk for breakfast! There is also quality coffee! You are down the road from the CBD, and all the popular wine farms where you can spend the day at. Thank you for a wonderful stay and we hope to see you soon! Cath

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank catherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I would again like to thank Freda for her hospitality and friendliness! The accommodation has all the modern delights you would ever need combined with the relaxing rustic ambiance you only dream of finding these days. From the apricot tree in front of our window down to the pebbled stream, nature could not have created a more idyllic place to recuperate from all your months of stressful living.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kobus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The guesthouse is situated in a serene area in Stellenbosch. It is located close to some of the area's most stunning wine farms and are out of the busy city centre, making it a truly relaxing place to rest one's head.

We enjoyed our stay in the Treehouse, which was beautifully furnished and clean. I also loved all the special touches like fluffy robes in the bathroom.

Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Two new rooms have been built and are exceptionally furnished with big kitchenette areas, ideal for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clariseviljoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.4 mi away
Besigheim
Besigheim
#68 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edelweiss Bed & Breakfast
Edelweiss Bed & Breakfast
#58 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
3.2 mi away
Soverby Guest House
Soverby Guest House
#16 of 50 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Penelope's Guesthouse
Penelope's Guesthouse
#10 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dieu Donne Stellenbosch
Dieu Donne Stellenbosch
#86 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rosenview Guest House
Rosenview Guest House
#66 of 112 in Stellenbosch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan de Vliet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan de Vliet

Property: Aan de Vliet
Address: Blaauwklippen Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 6 guest units located on a wine farm just on the outskirts of Stellenbosch. All our units have DSTV, WIFI, air con, private entrances and safe parking. We are a selfcatering guesthouse with complimentary coffee and tea facilities and are ideal for travelers that need to stay a bit longer. We welcome longer stays, corporate travellers and will also be able to give better rates and include laundry services. We are blessed to stay and work on this farm and share this with you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aan de Vliet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing