We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aaldering Vineyards & Wines Luxury Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

A relatively new vineyard and lodging facilities- a true hidden gem in the Stellenbosch area; William the butler has served us very well since our arrival. Lodging amenities is in excellent conditions; The view is magnificent looking up the hills and vineyards; definetly worth every penny of it and would recommend this facilities for your stay in stellendbosch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
89
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We love Aaldering wines and were very happy to have the opportunity to taste many of their wines in their tasting room at the vineyard. To sip their wines sitting on their deck and enjoying the view was very pleasant. During the tasting they hand out comprehensive tasting notes. We left after buying a couple of boxes of the pinotage (also a unique and delicious pinotage blanc) and shiraz. Dutch owners, so most of the staff speaks Dutch too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Aaldering is not well known in South Africa due to their export focus and it is a real gem. The three brand new suites, which they call lodges, are an amazing and luxurious experience. A very large room with a lounge, your own wine cooler fridge and terraces front and back to sit at and enjoy the views of a working wine farm. Only the best fittings and furnishings are to be found. Great base to explore the winelands and restaurants of Stellenbosch as Devon valley is just outside the town.

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I first discovered Aaldering wines 3 years ago when we tried their inaugural 2007 Pinotage and were greatly impressed and brought back to the US a case of it, disciplining ourselves to one bottle a year. This year we were determined to visit this wonderful winery for ourselves and were overjoyed to find that they have built brand new luxury accommodations on their wine farm.

Everything about Aaldering, from their wine farm, wine, tasting room, staff, and accommodations are all first class. Overlooking a beautiful small lake/pond, the tasting room and lodge are in an idyllic setting, offering a quiet sanctuary from the hustle of Cape Town. Rarely have we seen our experienced such a wonderfully appointed and decorated suite in our SA travels. The Aaldering family has gone to great lengths to achieve a 5 star rating in our books and they are continually looking for ways to improve and add services. Each of the 3 lodges overlook the Aaldering lake and have a private patio and one side and courtyard and the front side. Inside, the lodge is so tastefully decorated and was incredibly spacious with a lounge, bathroom and large bedroom. The furniture was so lovely and of obvious quality, chosen not only for its practicality but also for its craftsmanship and beauty. The king bed was so comfortable and the fireplace mesmorizing as we sipped on the 3 bottles of wine left for us upon arrival. The free wifi was so helpful as was use of the ipad. WOW - we cannot wait for our next visit to Stellenbosch and Aaldering. Not only do we love their wine, we love staying there. See you next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platja d'Aro, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We must have been one of the first guests in these brand NEW Lodges, and the experience was in one word; GREAT! These XL lodges are a great combination of traditional African design, combined with European high end standard of fittings. Design bathroom with shower and bath. Super bed and pillows. Antic cupboards combined with design seats…….chapeau! Complete tranquil at night and wide views during the day over its own lake. A wine tasting at this Boutique winery is a Must-Do!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I have not stayed but recently visited the lovely cottages on Aaldering Vineyards. The cottages (if that is the right term) are beautifully furnished in exquisite taste. They are luxurious and done with taste and in great quality without being over the top and "false" what sadly we are exposed to all too often. I would possibly add a pool for those lovely winelands summers. I wish the Aaldering team well with this venture, I am sure they will be busy once word is out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Looking for a special place to stay on a working wine farm in Stellenbosch? But also enjoy good quality, luxury and a view? Aaldering Lodges is the place to stay! Beautiful furnished rooms, own fireplace (cosy in winter), living room, spacious bedroom and bathroom and an own outside area with table, chairs and loungers. The wine they make is fantastic, staff friendly and helpful and you are still very close to the center of Stellenbosch! Also close to a lot of award winning restaurants. Don't hesitate, book, it's well worth it.

Room Tip: all rooms are great and more or less the same! Doesn't matter in which room you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
868 reviews
1.3 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
588 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,822 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
#2 of 52 in Stellenbosch
480 reviews
6.5 mi away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Aaldering Vineyards & Wines Luxury Lodges

Property: Aaldering Vineyards & Wines Luxury Lodges
Address: Devon Valley Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aaldering Vineyards & Wines Luxury Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
-Absolute tranquility amidst the vineyard.-Originally Cape Dutch lodges with a thatched roof-State of the art bathroom, fireplace and luxury Kitchenette inside the room, furthermore use of an iPad and free Wifi access-Companies lake of 1000 m2-We care for your maximum safety and security ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aaldering Vineyards & Wines Luxury Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing