We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”

The Thirsty Scarecrow
Ranked #3 of 6 Nightlife in Stellenbosch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Thirsty Scarecrow offers a wide range of local South African craft beer on tap. Come enjoy a beer tasting, cocktail or a glass of wine. Experience great pizza and tapas with the best view in the heart of the Winelands. Open 7 days a week, 11am -late.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Well the title says it all. We arrived VERY hot (Cape Town experienced a heat wave the last weekend) and thirsty after an amazing day of school boy rugby viewing and were greeted by a very friendly waitron who showed us to some of the seating up the side, overlooking the colorful windmill and its "friends". A table cleared and we were shown to it.
They had the cooling misters on so it was lovely and refreshing and just the right setting.
They have a fab selection of home grown brews and the Whale Tale is amazing; also a good selection of imported beers and wonderful cocktails.
My hubby and I had a pizza each and my son had the ribs, which he found to be slightly dry towards the end and maybe they could have been stickier but that did not detract from his enjoyment.
Our Pizzas were LOVELY, wonder thin bases and loved the way they were served. Not the traditional round but rather on an oblong wooden base.
The waitron did inform us that there could be a wait as the kitchen is not massive and the place was humming and popular (being a student "town" it filled up with students while we were there).
Service attentive altho some people in a hurry might have found it to be a bit slow; but then we were there to wind down and relax. If you want quick then go to a drive through take away!!
Price not too shabby.
Setting perfect especially the mountains.
Menu varied and good selection.
I did enjoy it but towards the end found the group of students behind us a bit rowdy and off-putting.
A warning for those older folk who don't enjoy a lively vibe; this place may not be for you, I suppose it depends on where you sit, be it at the back (more for the students) or side or front which is quieter and it has a play park for the young ones to enjoy while the folk relax.

1  Thank 1964DragonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zettiberry, Owner at The Thirsty Scarecrow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hi there. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our establishment. We really do appreciate the positive feedback and we do hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Kelly Zetler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"strawberry beer"
in 13 reviews
"strawberry fields"
in 11 reviews
"tapas"
in 13 reviews
"pizza"
in 24 reviews
"brisket"
in 3 reviews
"amazing hosts"
in 2 reviews
"cold cocktail"
in 2 reviews
"somerset west"
in 6 reviews
"awesome venue"
in 2 reviews
"awesome vibe"
in 2 reviews
"strawberries"
in 7 reviews
"excellent food"
in 2 reviews
"bottle of wine"
in 2 reviews
"cape town"
in 5 reviews
"salad"
in 2 reviews
"menu"
in 14 reviews
"sundowners"
in 7 reviews
Filter

129 - 133 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

A group of 10 of us made a reservation for dinner on a Saturday evening. We were walked through the great looking bar area to the back where an area of tables are located. Unfortunately we were given one right outside the toilets. Staff are friendly and fun but service was pitifully slow and in fact unreasonably slow. If drinks took ages, food was glacial in its arrival (we asked for starters and mains together in the end). The evening was capped with wafts of the toilets as it was discovered the entire ladies toilet was blocked and the lights had gone in the gents. So a great place for sundowners, cocktails and beer, sit at the front where all the atmosphere is and live music. Avoid the food offering which is pretty average and don't order a meal unless you've got lots of time to spare. Shame, let's hope, it gets better (and they get the plumbing sorted).

Thank OneZeroBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zettiberry, Owner at The Thirsty Scarecrow, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. I'm sorry to hear that your experience at our establishment was not very enjoyable. We will try our best to improve on our service. As for the seating area, we were already fully booked for that evening a week in advance with tables requesting the live music and only had space left in our back seating area. The plumbing problem was unforeseen that evening and it all happened about 2 hours before our dinner service started and I can assure you was on the top of our priority list but not one of our plumbers was willing to come out and fix it on a Saturday evening. I assure you all is sorted now, even the lights. I do apologize once again for the inconvenience. Kind regards.

Kelly Zetler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Always enjoyed a visit here. But the last visit and particularly today's confirmed that something has gone wrong and needs to be fixed - and fast. The place is looking dirty and shabby and the service is pretty dire. The barmen took about 15 minutes to serve up 2 draught beers despite the place being quiet. The cocktail and gin and tonic arrived a little more speedily. The TV was showing CCTV (Asian TV) and a program on whale hunting and dolphin slaughter came on. This is whilst customers were eating and drinking and trying to escape the pressures of life. The people on a nearby table expressed their horror at the wholesale slaughter we were watching. We asked our waiter to change the channel but the so-called manager behind the bar simply ignored him. A young lady at the other table fled to the bathroom in tears. The documentary being shown was pretty horrific. My partner got up and spoke to the 'manager' who thought the request to change channels was a joke. He preferred to get into an argument about it than heed a customer's request. He also preferred to 'boogey' to the music and look ridiculous in his R50 Trilby and pretend he was 17 again than attend to the business of running a new business that needs some serious attention. Pity his female business partner wasn't around as she has more business acumen it seems. Novelty is a great thing... until it wears off. Then all you have is what your business stands for. So best advice we can give is that the owners/managers start paying more attention to the detail of their business and to customers in particular. Get your staff trained, ensure your barmen work with them, clean the place and speed up service. Oh yes.. Best make sure you have plenty public liability because when that Pollsmoor-like electric fence right alongside the public walkway does its thing there is going to be hell to pay.

1  Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zettiberry, Owner at The Thirsty Scarecrow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Hi Terri. Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. We are very sorry about the incident but unfortunately we were not aware that the television facing the couch side had not been corrected as we were viewing the television facing the bar side and the decoders do not sync up. Please note that we would never purposefully show such graphic images and do take this matter very seriously and it was purely by accident that this was showing. We will most definitely improve on our service and the electric fence is a safety feature which is only switched on after all customers have departed our venue. We do hope that you will give us another try. I do apologize once again for the inconvenience. Kind regards.

Kelly Zetler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We went to the Thirsty Scarecrow yesterday afternoon (Sunday 30 March 2014). I have been there before and have found it to be a nice afternoon out. However yesterday was an extremely unpleasant experience. The service was disgraceful. We waited for ages for our drinks as well as food and had to keep on reminding our waiter that we had ordered. Not only that but a number of items on the menu was out of stock.

There was also an extremely loud and rowdy table behind us. I don't mind loud but swearing at the top of their lungs with children around is simply not acceptable. Management did not seem to mind and just left them. I definitely won't be going back.

Thank JuanieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zettiberry, Owner at The Thirsty Scarecrow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Hi Juanie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. I do apologize for your disappointing experience at our venue. We will most definitely try our best to improve on our service as well as the speed of our kitchen. Unfortunately with being a pub, people often lose their inhibitions when they have had a few too many drinks and sometimes their behavior is beyond our control and makes it very difficult for management to rectify. We do hope you will give our venue another try.

Kind regards

Kelly Zetler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great atmosphere in the pub with beautiful views. Live music adds to the vibe.
We enjoyed the tapas, but the mains were disappointing. The nachos were drenched in smoked tomato salsa with chorizo and very little cheese. Just too many flavours on one plate.
The cream in the Irish coffee was sour, but the waiter had no problem bringing a fresh one though. We had a selection of sweet snacks, unfortunately the fudge and caramel popcorn tasted stale and the honeycomb was served in big chunks and very chewy. I would definitely visit this pub again with friends for cocktails and tapas, but not for dinner.

1  Thank Maretha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thirsty Scarecrow also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to The Thirsty Scarecrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing