We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just don't arrive here at night!”
Review of Eendracht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eendracht Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“just don't arrive here at night!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The Eendracht is a charming hotel, located in the centre of Stellenbosch; we had an excellent room which was scrupulously clean and tastefully decorated. The staff were attentive and the breakfasts were of an excellent quality.
The only problem was that we arrived after 11.00 pm with our taxi driver sent by the hotel and with only the guard to meet us; his command of English was limited, nice chap though he was, so as a result, we hadn't the slighest idea of where anything was (including the emergency exits) and had there been a night-time emergency, we'd have been in somewhat of a pickle.
However, the Eendract was the start of a super holiday and we'd certainly use it again.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room overlooking the stree, otherwise you get a car park with mountains in the dista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryJohn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear BarryJohn4
Thank you very much for all the compliments.
We are looking into the incident that you have reported here and will definitely improve the situation! Thank you for bringing it under our attention.
We love feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    139
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
142
26
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I recently took a trip to South Africa for my sisters wedding. We spent four nights at the Eendracht hotel Guesthouses. At first it seemed a little strange that the guesthouses were not located on the hotel grounds. However, the service we received was exceptional. The guesthouse itself was very quaint, the decor was modern and the beds were extremely comfortable. Even the water pressure in the showers was top notch.

The guesthouse is located centrally to all restaurants and shops and also provided private parking for our rental car.

I was sad to leave and would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilongwe
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it was just what we needed; very well situated for walking to all the places we wanted to go, yet quiet, clean, comfortable and attentive service. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We had Room 1, at the top of the first flight of stairs which was spacious and easy to get to. It l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK4765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. The service and staff were excellent. The room clean and thank goodness for the aircon. We walked to most facilities and restaurants in town, so had very little use for the car. The pool was clean and refreshing. The staff were very helpful. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: room no 3, right next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martincheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The hotel was in a great location close to the restaurants, banks and shops and was very cosy with breakfast served in the lobby and a lounge area to relax in. The best part of the hotel was the staff though - Conray and the team couldn't do enough to help us make the best of our stay!

Room Tip: I think the rooms overlooking the car park are the quieter ones, but there isn't much noise to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee_ALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you!
We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My husband and I overnighted at the Eendracht as we were in Stellenbosch for a wedding. I have to say that the price was mid range, definitely not budget and we had a mid-range experience. The check in was friendly and helpful as we were in a rush. Our room was 12 in the loft space right at the top. We were hoping for a lovely lie-in in the morning but the room was not properly curtained and only had blinds which did not keep the light out at all so I was disappointed as the sun was on the bed quite early. Also the roof creaked and groaned and sounded as if something was walking on it, but my hubby said that he thought it was just the sound of it warming up. Did not help my sleep though.
The breakfast was average, in the lobby of the hotel so not a pleasant atmosphere. The cooked breakfast was plentiful although the poached eggs were done in poaching rings which is a pet peeve of mine.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownQueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Guest
Although I am glad you stayed with us, I am shocked that you found the experience average! That’s definitely not what we strive for.
Eendracht is a small 3 star hotel in die historic centre of Stellenbosch. Well located for those who want to experience the old part of Stellenbosch.
The room you were in is one of the more luxurious (and more expensive) rooms we have. That’s the room with the beautiful views of the Stellenbosch mountains, as it’s on the 3rd floor of the building. It also has luxuries like a bidet, 2 hand basins and a spa bath in the bathroom. In the room, except for the lovely 100% cotton 350 thread count linen and down duvets, there were small luxuries like your own electronic weather station - i.e. indicating the room temperature, the outside temperature and providing a forecast.
We are very sorry that you did not notice the block-out blinds behind the decorative wooden blind for that early morning sun!
Yes, the corrugated Iron roofs that are normally on all the historic buildings in Stellenbosch have the tendency to creek when the temperature changes. Sorry about that.
It would give me great pleasure if you could contact me at the hotel to elaborate on your points and specifically on your breakfast experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDC
Level Contributor
810 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My parents and I stayed at the Eendracht Hotel for two nights as the last stop in a two-week driving tour around South Africa. Overall, we liked the central location in downtown Stellenbosch and we got it for a reasonable price. 

We stayed in a one-room suite where the couch folded out and that's where I slept. The room was rather cramped (even for two people), but this seems to be a very old building with a lot of charm and character. The hotel itself is not very big, but they do have a small enclosed pool if you're interested in that. The location is the main selling point for this hotel: it's located on a quiet, leafy main street of Stellenbosch within quick walking distance to any of the restaurants downtown. There's free parking in the back, and the breakfast is in the small lobby and comes with cooked options. 

Overall, I would recommend the Eendracht Hotel if you're staying in Stellenbosch. The hotel had reasonable rates and the front desk was friendly. 

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
3.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eendracht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eendracht Hotel

Property: Eendracht Hotel
Address: 161 Dorp Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eendracht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning (perfectly located) Village hotel - ambiance of a Stellenbosch house - consist of 13 rooms and 3 fully serviced semi self-catering units in a nearby 1928 listed house in the historic centre-Stellenbosch. Walk to 60+ restaurants, antique shops, museums, art galleries and the University. At the Minserie Str House we have 3 semi self-catering units. In keeping with the established standards which you would expect from Eendracht, we have added another building 5 minutes’ walk from Eendracht. The same - but totally different. The building is a 1928 listed house that was restored in its original Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eendracht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eendracht Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing