We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay!”
Review of Eendracht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eendracht Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Very pleasant stay!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

A very pleasant stay in a great location. Happy and helpful staff and the rooms (although small) were lovely and clean. Good secure parking. Would have liked a balcony or pool facing room and to have been able to stay a little longer to appreciate all the facilities. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    142
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
145
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on our honeymoon. The hotel is in a good central location in Stellenbosch. We were a be dissappointed to be given single beds pushed together with individual bedding as we specified we we're on our honeymoon. We also had a balcony but it overlooked the car park. The room was ok although the carpet looked dirty. Breakfast was ok. I would only stay if you're looking for a place to crash for the night nothing more.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a view of the pool or the road not the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryFromTheMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear BarryFromTheMountain
Thank you for your review. I think there must be some huge misunderstanding somewhere? We had only 1 honeymoon couple in December 2013. (They were from the UK and stayed 2 nights.) And they specifically asked for the room which they stayed in. We even went further by suggesting to them another room with a queen size bed at the pool when they told us that they were on their honeymoon, but they decided to stick to their first choice. The room they chose has 2 three quarter beds pushed together which combined, is the size of the super king size bed. (We do not have any single beds in the Hotel at all.) Will you please contact us to clear up the misunderstanding and to help us better our service levels? Thank you for having stayed at Eendracht.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Good, clean place to just crash for the night en route the Garden route. Clean rooms, good breakfast and great tips from the host on things to do made it a great place to spend a night on the Garden route. Secure parking is an additional bonus!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Mandalam
As far as I can tell you are our first reviewer form India! I am glad you stayed with us. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

In the right spot for wandering the area and designed to be a quiet and luxurious respite. There is a really nice dinging room with a good breakfast. The room I stayed in opened onto a gorgeous courtyard.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here for three days towards the end of our holiday in South Africa.

The standard of service was comparable to much more expensive hotels. We were most impressed with the attentive staff from the first minute and it continued throughout our stay.

The location on Dorp Street was ideal for foot tours into town and very close to a number of very good restaurants. If you are driving it is a relatively easily accessible hotel with good parking.

All in all a very pleasant stay. And a special mention for the lady who served breakfast.....always smiling and helpful. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear DavidGCooke
I have to praise our staff and will definitely show them this review. Even when we are full, they a;ways manage to get everything done and still smile! Thank you for the big compliment! That is why we are in the hospitality business - to make people happy. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
189 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night during a brief tour of the Cape. check-in was efficient and I opted for one of the rooms in the older wing of the hotel, with a small balcony facing on to the car park. I first stayed here seventeen years ago when it was a guest house; since then the facilities have been expanded and the hotel is very comfortable with all facilities (fast Internet, large TV in room, a/c, minibar, bathroom with separate bath & shower, etc.). My room was spotless and had a very comfortable bed. (Limited) free parking is available at the rear of the hotel. Breakfast was included in the room rate, and was adequate. There are lots of restaurants within a hundred yards of the hotel.
Recommended!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Whirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Whirob
WELCOME BACK! Yes we are still the same owners and most of the same staff as well. We try our best to keep up with the times, but still serves it up in the same Stellenbosch home-like style package. For instance we were one of the first privately owned hotels in RSA that offered Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and installed Solar Geysers. Hopefully the next visit would not be in another 17 years! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stellenbosch in addition to being a tourist attraction is a college town. The good part of this is there is a wide variety of restaurants and bars covering several blocks. The downside is that there could be a bit of noise. Not a problem with the Eendracht Hotel as it is located on Dorp Street, a block away from where much of the activity occurs.
Parking is available behind the hotel and the staff was helpful on arrival. Initially the feel was a bit formal but things warmed up later on.
The rooms are well appointed and the two we had were upstairs on the street side, one with a small terrace outside.
Breakfast was good with cooked to order eggs and sides.
A good choice in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratch37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerEendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear ratch37
Thank you for staying with us. Yes we pride ourselves as being in the centre of the historic town without having all the challenges of being in the centre of a town. And luckily we have our own on-site parking which normally is a scarcity in old town centres like ours. Sorry about the "Initially the feel was a bit formal" - we have ironed out those “kinks”. Hope to see you soon again! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
3.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eendracht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eendracht Hotel

Property: Eendracht Hotel
Address: 161 Dorp Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eendracht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning (perfectly located) Village hotel - ambiance of a Stellenbosch house - consist of 13 rooms and 3 fully serviced semi self-catering units in a nearby 1928 listed house in the historic centre-Stellenbosch. Walk to 60+ restaurants, antique shops, museums, art galleries and the University. At the Minserie Str House we have 3 semi self-catering units. In keeping with the established standards which you would expect from Eendracht, we have added another building 5 minutes’ walk from Eendracht. The same - but totally different. The building is a 1928 listed house that was restored in its original Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eendracht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eendracht Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing