We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable overnight stay”
Review of Eendracht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eendracht Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a small hotel very conveniently located in the center of Stellenbosch. It only has a few rooms and very little in the way of public rooms (bar, lounge etc) and a TINY pool area. The outside space is disappointing but we were only there overnight so it didn't really affect us: if you are intending to spend some of teh day in the hotel I think you would struggle to find an enjoyable space. The room was very well presented with a big bathroom: both very clean. Good breakfast in a nice room.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room overlooking Dorp Street - the ones at the back overlook the carpark with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaktisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed in room no. 5 which had two single beds pushed together (traveling solo). Didn’t use the TV but the wifi was quick and accessible at all times. Three pieces of fresh fruit in the room each day. Comfortable bed and nice sized bath.

Michelle is a fantastic host and was helpful during my two night stay. She provided me with a travel adaptor which I needed to charge my laptop and camera (Irish 3 pin plug is different to the SA round 3 pin). Michelle also recommended and booked a wine tasting day trip as well as my taxi to Franschhoek.

Breakfast was delicious with cereal, yogurt, cheese, ham, toast and a cooked breakfast of sausages, tomato etc. The few staff that I met in the hotel are friendly.

Great location, less than 5 minutes’ walk to a selection of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. Post office and tourist information centre are less than 10 minutes’ walk, but Michelle at reception has the same maps and advice! There is a church on the next street (Church St.) and the bells were ringing at 11pm and 8am, but maybe that was for a celebration.

I’d definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryGirl_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed at the Eendracht Hotel while visiting Stellenbosch to go wine tasting. Room was very nice and quite comfortable and breakfast varied and good. Desk staff were very helpful in getting us a taxi and recommending a restaurant. The lights went out in part of the room before we went to bed and we had some trouble reaching the night staff but it was not a major concern as it was so close to bed time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kardex2dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Eendracht is located right at the edge of the central part of downtown Stellenbosch and has easy access from the highway from Cape Town on Dorp Street. You can walk everywhere downtown to all of the many restaurants and craft stores. The staff at the hotel is very helpful and Robin helped us with dinner reservations and suggestions on B&B locations on our continuation up the Garden Route. The hotel is small but very comfortable, hospitable, and has a super breakfast as a part of the price. I highly recommend them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudgeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed here for four days for a conference at University of Stellenbosch. It is walking distance to the University, passing by the old church and the botanic garden. It is a completely charming hotel. I stayed in Room 2, which is on the ground floor just to the right of the stairs. The room is very large, with a double bed, a writing desk and an enclosed patio. There was a minibar that included two bottles of Amarula, one of my favorite drinks. Plenty of closet space. The bathroom included a bath and shower. I'm very tall and the shower was a bit tight, but not as tight as some I've encountered. Breakfast was delightful each day. The waitresses were attentive and cheerful. The desk staff were always gracious and very helpful. There are chairs outside to sit and watch the street activity and there is an enclosed small patio just off the lobby but only one table to sit. This is a lovely hotel.

Returning to the hotel at night required entrance at the back with a key. There is a guard at the entrance off the street and he escorted me one evening to the door. It is quite dark at the back and I resorted to the light of my cell phone to find the lock to fit the key.

Turning left from the hotel, you pass the Stellenbosch Hotel on the right which has a restaurant and tables outside. On the left is the Oppi Dorp restaurant which was quite expensive. Further down that street, turn right and there is a grocery. Most of the activity of Stellenbosch is one street over from Eendracht and there are many restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerfromMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The "Woord Fees" was on in Stellenbosch and therefor my usual stay-over was fully booked. I managed to get accommodation at the Eendracht Hotel. What a pleasant surprise! The reception was excellent, the rooms very nice and spacious, the breakfast good and the whole experience was just very pleasant. A bit more expensive that other 3* hotels in Stellenbosch but with every cent.

The road can be a bit noisy but this was mainly due to the Festival at the time. Great choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I travelled to Stellenbosch for a one-day wine tour. We stayed at Eendracht and absolutely loved the location and accommodations. The hotel is perfectly situated and the staff and remarkably friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_Helman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beautiful South Guest House
The Beautiful South Guest House
#15 of 17 in Stellenbosch
140 reviews
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
3.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eendracht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eendracht Hotel

Address: 161 Dorp Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £48 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eendracht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning (perfectly located) Village hotel - ambiance of a Stellenbosch house - consist of 13 rooms and 3 fully serviced semi self-catering units in a nearby 1928 listed house in the historic centre-Stellenbosch. Walk to 60+ restaurants, antique shops, museums, art galleries and the University. At the Minserie Str House we have 3 semi self-catering units. In keeping with the established standards which you would expect from Eendracht, we have added another building 5 minutes’ walk from Eendracht. The same - but totally different. The building is a 1928 listed house that was restored in its original Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Eendracht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eendracht Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing