We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eendracht is a wonderful little hotel in Stellenbosch”
Review of Eendracht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eendracht Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eendracht is a wonderful little hotel in Stellenbosch”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were looking for decent gay friendly accommodation in Stellenbosch for a combined work/leisure trip out of Cape Town. What we found was a charming little hotel right in the town centre which provided us with excellent service in a lovely atmosphere. The staff were most welcoming, but were not too intrusive and made one feel at ease. The room was well equipped with everything one might need. The breakfast was also fresh and delicious and catered for all tastes - even cooked a soft boiled egg correctly! We were very happy to stay there for an extra night too. Highly recommended for anyone seeking a quiet and charming place that isn't over-rated or pretentious. Good value for money and a lovely place to stay. Gerard and Eric

Room Tip: Standard room not too large, but has a balcony. Suite for our third night gave us more space and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerardart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    142
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
145
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent 3 nights in room 12 at Eendracht Hotel and felt thoroughly welcome throughout.

An elegant room, spotless, top quality linen, an inviting, spacious bathroom..private parking, scrumptious breakfasts, friendly and efficient service - what's not to love?

The hotel is wonderfully located on Dorp Street.

Room Tip: Room 12 was quiet and dark when both sets of blinds were pulled down. It is up two short staircases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelefromearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a small hotel very conveniently located in the center of Stellenbosch. It only has a few rooms and very little in the way of public rooms (bar, lounge etc) and a TINY pool area. The outside space is disappointing but we were only there overnight so it didn't really affect us: if you are intending to spend some of teh day in the hotel I think you would struggle to find an enjoyable space. The room was very well presented with a big bathroom: both very clean. Good breakfast in a nice room.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room overlooking Dorp Street - the ones at the back overlook the carpark with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaktisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed in room no. 5 which had two single beds pushed together (traveling solo). Didn’t use the TV but the wifi was quick and accessible at all times. Three pieces of fresh fruit in the room each day. Comfortable bed and nice sized bath.

Michelle is a fantastic host and was helpful during my two night stay. She provided me with a travel adaptor which I needed to charge my laptop and camera (Irish 3 pin plug is different to the SA round 3 pin). Michelle also recommended and booked a wine tasting day trip as well as my taxi to Franschhoek.

Breakfast was delicious with cereal, yogurt, cheese, ham, toast and a cooked breakfast of sausages, tomato etc. The few staff that I met in the hotel are friendly.

Great location, less than 5 minutes’ walk to a selection of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. Post office and tourist information centre are less than 10 minutes’ walk, but Michelle at reception has the same maps and advice! There is a church on the next street (Church St.) and the bells were ringing at 11pm and 8am, but maybe that was for a celebration.

I’d definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryGirl_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
196 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed at the Eendracht Hotel while visiting Stellenbosch to go wine tasting. Room was very nice and quite comfortable and breakfast varied and good. Desk staff were very helpful in getting us a taxi and recommending a restaurant. The lights went out in part of the room before we went to bed and we had some trouble reaching the night staff but it was not a major concern as it was so close to bed time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kardex2dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelan
Level Contributor
331 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Eendracht is located right at the edge of the central part of downtown Stellenbosch and has easy access from the highway from Cape Town on Dorp Street. You can walk everywhere downtown to all of the many restaurants and craft stores. The staff at the hotel is very helpful and Robin helped us with dinner reservations and suggestions on B&B locations on our continuation up the Garden Route. The hotel is small but very comfortable, hospitable, and has a super breakfast as a part of the price. I highly recommend them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudgeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed here for four days for a conference at University of Stellenbosch. It is walking distance to the University, passing by the old church and the botanic garden. It is a completely charming hotel. I stayed in Room 2, which is on the ground floor just to the right of the stairs. The room is very large, with a double bed, a writing desk and an enclosed patio. There was a minibar that included two bottles of Amarula, one of my favorite drinks. Plenty of closet space. The bathroom included a bath and shower. I'm very tall and the shower was a bit tight, but not as tight as some I've encountered. Breakfast was delightful each day. The waitresses were attentive and cheerful. The desk staff were always gracious and very helpful. There are chairs outside to sit and watch the street activity and there is an enclosed small patio just off the lobby but only one table to sit. This is a lovely hotel.

Returning to the hotel at night required entrance at the back with a key. There is a guard at the entrance off the street and he escorted me one evening to the door. It is quite dark at the back and I resorted to the light of my cell phone to find the lock to fit the key.

Turning left from the hotel, you pass the Stellenbosch Hotel on the right which has a restaurant and tables outside. On the left is the Oppi Dorp restaurant which was quite expensive. Further down that street, turn right and there is a grocery. Most of the activity of Stellenbosch is one street over from Eendracht and there are many restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerfromMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
629 reviews
3.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eendracht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eendracht Hotel

Property: Eendracht Hotel
Address: 161 Dorp Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eendracht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning (perfectly located) Village hotel - ambiance of a Stellenbosch house - consist of 13 rooms and 3 fully serviced semi self-catering units in a nearby 1928 listed house in the historic centre-Stellenbosch. Walk to 60+ restaurants, antique shops, museums, art galleries and the University. At the Minserie Str House we have 3 semi self-catering units. In keeping with the established standards which you would expect from Eendracht, we have added another building 5 minutes’ walk from Eendracht. The same - but totally different. The building is a 1928 listed house that was restored in its original Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eendracht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eendracht Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing