We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Say at this Hotel”
Review of Eendracht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eendracht Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2007

We spent 2 of the most un-comfortable nights at this hotel in January.
We were in 1 of the 2 rooms separate from the main hotel over looking the tiny pond/pool.
It was extremly hot outside but like a melting pot inside. There was no air-conditioning, only a noisy fan you had to run 24/7 to produce any form of air movement. When we complained to the front desk, their solution was to put another smaller noisier fan in the room. NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR over €100 a night !!
I won't even go into detail about the main hotel, as it is all irrelevant.
There were lots of other hotels/guest houses in Stellenbosch which you must stay in.......skip this one !!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank posh-bird35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eendracht, Owner at Eendracht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2007

We are deeply concerned that these guests who stayed at our establishment, returned home with such bad memories.

I would like to add my perspective on the situation.

Firstly I would like to apologise. I could not be at the hotel and personally attend to these guests, as I was moving house at that stage, but I was in full telephonic contact the whole time.

During an abnormal hot spell in January of this year (40+ °C), we had trouble with this room’s air-conditioning. Previous to the guests’ stay, a technician was called in to fix this particular AC and he reported to front desk that it was fixed. When our guests pointed out the faulty AC, we realized that the job was NOT done properly. We immediately took steps to rectify the situation, but as the town’s technicians were overloaded with work, as all AC’s were taking stress and many where packing up, they could not immediately attend to our emergency AC needs. The technician arrived after the guests had already left the hotel. We could not move them to another room, as we where full and we also tried to relocate the guests to another suitable hotel, but as there were a few big events on in town we were unable to find other accommodation. We did the best we could under the circumstances and supplied them with fans. At their departure, we further gave these guests a complimentary stay voucher and a bottle of Stellenbosch wine from our cellar.

Unfortunately, once someone has a negative perspective, anything and everything will seem negative to that person, therefore I can only comment on the other “complaints" mentioned by our guests, by keeping silent.

Ps. You might note similarities between this comment and another one in TripAdvisor. That is actually the same complaint, referring to the same unpleasant incident.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Eendracht Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2006

Great little boutique hotel in the centre of Stellenbosch. It's the 2nd time we stay there, and will certainly return once we're back in Stellenbosch. Very intimate atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NetherlandsMette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DapsyIldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank omgmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mibe1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leonardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
858 reviews
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
624 reviews
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eendracht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eendracht Hotel

Address: 161 Dorp Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £50 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eendracht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning (perfectly located) Village hotel - ambiance of a Stellenbosch house - consist of 13 rooms and 3 fully serviced semi self-catering units in a nearby 1928 listed house in the historic centre-Stellenbosch. Walk to 60+ restaurants, antique shops, museums, art galleries and the University. At the Minserie Str House we have 3 semi self-catering units. In keeping with the established standards which you would expect from Eendracht, we have added another building 5 minutes’ walk from Eendracht. The same - but totally different. The building is a 1928 listed house that was restored in its original Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eendracht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eendracht Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing