We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Delheim

Delheim
Book In Advance
More Info
US$41.48*
and up
Vine Hopper: 2-Day Hop on Hop off Wine Tour Pass from Stellenbosch
Ranked #25 of 142 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Delheim's Cellar Stellenbosch, offers internationally acclaimed wines, wine tasting tours, and a restaurant in a beautiful garden.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A great place in picturesque surrounds. The tour was thorough and very informative. The tasting was interesting, we really enjoyed it. Very knowledgable staff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    42
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Satisfying”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The tour was informative and wine-tasting pleasant. You also get to try the notorious Spatzendreck (sparrow pooh)! I haven't been on this kind of tour/tasting before, so I have nothing to compare it to, although there are indeed plenty of options in Stellenbosch. Looked like it had quite a nice restaurant too, but we didn't eat there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gdn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magical day in the garden restaurant”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

overlooking centuary old oaks and dining on local favourites - malay curry and malva pudding - YUM oh and the wine?? Mmmm divine try the chardonay sur lie

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“a must for all!”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

scenic views, and old style houses, beautiful area and farm. wine tasting experience in the cellar is great, and make sure to have a little coversation with the staff there, they are very friendly and happy to answer queries. the wine is amazing and even the red shiraz at R25 each (of course i bought 6 bottles) is a bargain and great tasting wine.
at their little restaurant you can sit under the pergola on the terrace and look out (on a really clear day) over the valley and in the distance you see table mountain. such a picturescue view and a must do photo opportunity.
the owners also have 5 dogs, but i only know that after talking to the very friendly staff. the dogs are cute and very friendly and only want a cuddle when they come up to your table.
the food is so good!!! the snoek and patats are highly recommended (fish cakes) and so is the mushroom tagliatelle. also get yourself a few bottles of their vera cruz wine and something you like the taste of from the tastings in the cellar.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank B18C3VIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely winefarm but very rushed experience”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We went to Delheim for a wine tasting and were lucky to see that we had about 40 minutes left before they close that day. The lady who helped us was a bit rushed and semi rude. One could clearly see that she was not happy that another group of people came in for a tasting as she clearly just wanted to go home. It made the tasting a bit unpleasant and very rushed. She literally forced us to down the glass or throw it out so that she could pour another wine.

Overall, it is a beautifull farm, with a restaurant (we didnt go there) and lovely wines. I would just advise you not to visit this wine farm after 16:00. Thats when the staff wants to go home it seems even though it closes at 5.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nic r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delheim, Public Relations Manager at Delheim, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Nic ~ we apologise for you having had such a rushed experience at Delheim - this is certainly not the Delheim way and please be assured the matter will be addressed with the lady concerned. Please contact Juliet at pr@delheim.com with your details so that we may arrange for you to have a complementary wine tasting and cellar tour in a way that is more in keeping with our ethos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delheim also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Delheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing